THE BOON GROUP Employee Reviews

Found 43 reviews matching the search See all 44 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress, High turnover
non-management (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 31, 2018
The divide between how management was treated and worked v. how the employee was treated and worked was significant. All the salary was at the top. Employees would get fired within hours of a birthday celebration or team-building exercise. Nothing could be voiced to HR unless you wanted a target on your head. HE would walk someone out in front of everyone then return to clean out the desk in front of everyone. My manager would drop a project on my desk at 4pm and say she needed it by 7am. There was no teleworking so that meant staying till it was done. I missed a year of my kids' lives for this job. It was the most stressful company I've ever worked for.
Pros
Stocked kitchen
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Health Insurance Claims Processor (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 9, 2018
compiling data on insurance policy changes, changing policy records to conform to insured party’s specifications, compiling data on lapsed insurance policies to determine automatic reinstatement according to company policies, canceling insurance policies as requested by agents, and verifying the accuracy of insurance company records.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Billing Specialist (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 26, 2018
This company has been through several changes, previously poor management company going through financial problems. CEO tried to be fair to employees during lay off
Pros
overtime
Cons
short lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Implementation Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 12, 2018
All I can say is turn away.
The place takes your positivity and grinds it up. Lots of blame game and finger pointing.
Implementation needs new management and the hidden agendas never end. You are always talked about when not around and your ideas get shunned since you are not an executive. They try to write you up to avoid giving a raise.
Please beware!
Pros
They drink alcohol occasionally.
Cons
List would be shorter if you just read the pros.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work with low pay
Implementation Intern (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 16, 2018
The company has a small company feel which allows you to be close to upper management but still has some structure. I wouldn't recommend working there for a long period of time but I think it is a great part-time job that allows you to learn what a corporate job is like.
Pros
Relaxed work environment usually
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Manager of COBRA Administration (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 15, 2018
It's been a long time since I worked for the Boon Group, however looking at their website not much has changed. Still the same management structure. Management can be challenging to deal with but not all the time. Work/life balance is difficult if you are in a supervisor or management position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Claims Admin Support (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMarch 19, 2018
Very casual work environment. The dress code was casual, the benefits were good and very good PTO offered. We had early Fridays and flex time.

The job experience for me was a very good one in that I really liked what I was doing. I had been with the Company for 13 years and if it were not for the lay-off I would still be there.
Pros
Early Fridays
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
beware
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXFebruary 27, 2018
There is too much favoritism and no room to advance without the right people behind you
very bad communications overall with management
retaliation is real if you do not go with managements word
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job while in search for better job
Accountant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXFebruary 8, 2018
Currently work in accounting department and there’s little room for advancement. Some supervisors are immature and inexperienced. The company recently changed PTO policy (and took away days) and took a holiday. Managers in my department are poor planners and make a lot of last minute decisions. Health benefits are costly and 401k is decent. Company is undergoing major changes which includes lay offs. Favortisim and office politics are definitely present...not too bad in my department. Very poor training and unstructured work environment.
Pros
Nice co workers
Cons
Limited room for grow and no bonus
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work
Team Lead-Benefits Services (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 29, 2018
I had a great time working there and would recommend the place to anyone.

I was able to be promoted and managed a team of 15 agents. Learn a lot while working at this time and my skill improved. The work is fast paste and consistance.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Currently it's locking work/life balances.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life is better somewhere, anywhere else
Team Leader/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 8, 2017
Typical workday consists of mass frustration, and constant pondering as to why it is you're fighting for these people.

Learning here is by struggle, and from the other self taught folks alongside you.

Quality management, much like training is Non existent.

As for culture, there are good people here... all of whom are below management level and stress themselves to death for meager salaries while the company continuously promises to "make Boon great again".

Hardest part of the job is wondering whether or not you will have that j-o-b tomorrow based on the failing business model you've found yourself in.

Most enjoyable part of the job will be your coworkers in the trenches with you. You will make friends here, but don't ever use that as an excuse to justify spending any additional moments of your life inside these walls. Stay in touch with those friends from your delightfully greener pastures, of which there are plenty, that are offering you actual training, supportive management, and opportunities for real growth and professional development.
Pros
Covered Parking, Generous PTO, You will appreciate any future job more having suffered here
Cons
Deplorable Management, No Training, No Professional Development, Patchwork Systems, unsustainable business model with present "leadership"
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Getting By
Mailroom Admin (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 13, 2017
Constant change. Little to no career development. Good staff, but replaceable as far as Management is concerned. Efforts to improve. Pretty straight forward insurance company.
Pros
Occasional team lunch, nice office
Cons
micromanagement, low pay, no bonus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High work load, little training
Reconciliation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 7, 2017
The Boon group hires people at the lowest possible price. This leads to high turnover. With the high volume of work and the understaffed departments very little training is given for new employees to succeed.
Cons
High work load, little training, Low pay, high stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service Spec (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 4, 2017
I worked in customer service. The environment was relaxed, yet productive. We were like a family. There was a good effort by leadership to maintain and promote a positive work environment.
Pros
Great breakbroom
Cons
Limited opportunities to advance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management needs a new overall haul
Claims Specialist (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 2, 2017
When i first started working for this company i would have sung high praises and recommended people work for the company. But the company went down hill in the last couple of years. I stuck with the company hoping it would turn around, trying to give support when asked, but instead was let go. Management was falling apart going from someone who at least cared and made and effort to work with you and help you to management, to management that tells you one thing but turns around and does another. Inexperience management, taking business on when the personnel, technology was not there yet.
Pros
Was a good company
Cons
Gone down hill
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaotic Place to work
Benefits Processor (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXSeptember 12, 2017
• Trained new hires and provided refresher training in eligibility, missed premiums, COBRA, health claim status, verification of multi-carrier benefits, fringe, enrollment process and other topics.
• Updated and incorporated new and/or changed policies and procedures in the training documents.
• Created agendas or timelines for six to eight weeks of training. Scheduled breaks and time off.
• Communicated training results and progress with department management.
• Identified and challenged new employees who were fast learners and could start work sooner in the call center.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They are going under
Sr Manager of Product Department (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 29, 2017
The Boon Group was once a great place. Unfortunate mismanagement and lack of upper management understanding of business scale in today's business economy drove Boon into the ground. Very Sad!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful Place to work
Benefit & Enrollment Services Trainer (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 4, 2017
Managers aren't structured. They don't support established employees. New hires seem to have the most benefits since the company is a lot more lenient toward those employees.
There is a lot of favoritism when it comes to who gets promoted and who is looked at for career advancement.
Pros
location is on 360 & 2222
Cons
Short Lunches or no lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits, But a Work In Progress
Current Employee (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 19, 2017
Most of the benefits are good (starting 4 weeks of PTO for salaried employees, 12 weeks maternity leave, telemedicine plan, wellness plan), with the exception of MRBP instead of a PPO health insurance, but they now offer a PPO option.
Company has gone through a lot of turmoil in the last couple of years, but getting better slowly (hopefully). Working on technology updates. Got rid of a toxic President/CEO.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Still a work in progress
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I choose not to comment
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 3, 2017
Lots of good people trying to get things accomplished under a leadership team that by their own description does not understand the technology required to do so.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at THE BOON GROUP. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.6
Based on 44 reviews
54
47
312
29
112

See reviews about

2.6Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
2.2Job Security/Advancement
2.0Management
2.2Culture

THE BOON GROUP Reviews by Location