The Briar Club Employee Reviews

Showing all 14 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quick learning experince
Construction Worker (Former Employee) –  Sanford, FLAugust 7, 2018
The briar wasn't a bad job I feel they don't help the new employees because I guess they think we just know it on our own but all in well they are a friendly team that gets the job done
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Overnight Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 16, 2018
i have been working here for 5 years total since the first time i was hired, and ever since i like this place, good environment, people always willing to help, i just like being part of the briar club
Pros
free lunches, good hours, school help
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at
receptionist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 15, 2018
always fun, place at work get to meet a lot of new people. management always made me feel welcomed and treated me with respect. always great people to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 28, 2017
One of my 1st jobs, if could go back at doing the same thing i was doing i would, it was a temporary job.Loved working with the people and seeing the members there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Briar Club
Fitness Associate (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 15, 2017
The Briar Club is a relaxed environment with access to some of the amenities that the members have access to. The job is very minimal and does not enhance any of my skills and does not allow for advancement opportunities
Pros
Free lunches, access to special events
Cons
lack of hours/days
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good work environment with flexible hours and fair management
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 22, 2017
Most of the time is spent on stand, watching the pool. Otherwise, maintenance on the pool, clean up of the surrounding areas, and hospitality towards the guests.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be good
Deckhand (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 13, 2017
The briar club has grown in size over the years, yet the quality of everything has gone down the drain. From the food to the management. Maybe if they reverted to majority female management, everything would be back to normal.
Pros
Free lunch, networking opportunities
Cons
Bad management, rude members, ridiculous requests
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice atmosphere
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 9, 2017
Been working there a few months love the breakroom all you can eat. Job duties are not to harsh and if you are full time you get great benefits. Far as non commissioned security here is the best experience ive had
Pros
Free lunch always and drinks
Cons
Members of the club can sometimes be a bit too animated
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible managment Great pay
Fitness Desk Attendant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 6, 2016
i have worked for this private club for 4 years. Management hardly ever has the work schedule out on time, my specific supervisor would leave work to get her nails done, and then spend the rest of the day playing on her ipad, or spent plenty of time on facebook and not helping with the daily task. the higher up managers, don't seem to have a clear guide on how to run this club. this clubs management does not COMMUNICATE properly, and make up rules as they go. if you can tolerate all that, then the pay would be worth it.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
the members and managment attitude
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Place To Work For
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 30, 2015
I enjoyed working at the Briar Club. I was able to meet and build good relationships with both employees and members. However, while loving my fellow co-works and the members I felt under paid for the duties that was given and performed.
Pros
Friendly Co-Workers, Great Members
Cons
No Room For Growth(no advancement)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a great summer job
Locker Room Attendant (Current Employee) –  HoustonMay 31, 2014
You'll enjoy working here. It's a great way earn some experience.l
Pros
free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an okay place to work
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 18, 2012
It was an okay place to work; though not the best. It provided little if any opportunity for advancement when I had a bachelors degree. The chef I worked for broke my own personal knife that was required for work. He was eventually replaced by another that seemed to threaten my job security. They invoked policies which I felt were a bit discriminatory by requiring all personnel to speak English only, regardless of the fact that they were bilingual. By and large it was just something that payed the bills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it there!
Office Assistant / Data Entry (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 19, 2012
Loved working there..everyone was very professional. Would go back if they asked!
Pros
very nice environment..nice people!
Cons
a little too far away from my house..
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Briar Club. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 14 reviews
55
44
35
20
10

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.9Culture

The Briar Club Reviews by Location