The Brickman Group, Ltd. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We had good days some bad days
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Fort Bragg, NCAugust 14, 2018
I learned some good things with the company, Meet alot of great people , the only down side of it was the rain days which caused us to lose money but we could some times make some time up later in the week.
Pros
We had good brakes
Cons
On very hots ower supers would make sure we had lots of water
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General landscaping
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Suffolk County, NYJuly 24, 2018
In brickman landscaping we did a lot duties like tree removes, mulch ,clean ups, law mowers . This is a big company in the usa with a lot of workers and customers.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chance to transfer
Irrigation Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VAJuly 16, 2018
You have the chance to transfer to one of the other Brickman locations if you are relocating. You do work in all temperatures and any weather that comes along
Pros
outdoors
Cons
snow removal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long days
Laborer/Operator (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 5, 2018
I was not happy with situation with the company they were not fair some of the employees and I stayed as long as I could there no more was not happy with company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people that help u and show u how to do a good job
Landscaper (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAMay 19, 2018
It starts off a bit hard do that fact u have to be up by 5:30 A.M and at work by 6:30A.M but u will get use to it and the workers are helpful but u can gaine a lot from the job good place if u like outside working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was just a transition job
Landscape Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Fort Bragg, NCMay 19, 2018
A lot of walking and hard work. Maintenance routine was really good, took great care of equipment. A lot of overtime and weekends. They did send me to get licenses and school.
Pros
Planting
Cons
Heat and cold
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job
Crew Leader (Former Employee) –  Marlboro, NJMay 18, 2018
Job was SO FUN, every day is a new challenge a new task to complete. working with diverse people and learning are cornerstones of the job. had a blast and looked forward to work almost every day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to word
Landscape Laborer (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHApril 9, 2018
very place to work for! a lot of room for growth, very easy to get along with coworkers and supervisors. fast paced but relaxed, I also enjoyed having the weekends off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Milford, CTMarch 16, 2018
Wish I didn't have to relocate. It was a great company to work for. I really enjoyed their annual outings. Overall, an outstanding company and management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
teamwork type of environment
Landscaping Laborer (Former Employee) –  Longwood, FLMarch 13, 2018
This company was a really great company, really enjoyed working together with other coworkers to get jobs done. teamwork is a big key in this company because the crews need everyone to give it thier 100 percent, in order to perform and accomplish tasks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very comfortable energetic workplace
Lawn Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lawrenceville, GAFebruary 22, 2018
Very good work environment well kept equipment supervisors was willing to work with you if you came into a problem very decent hours and weekends was optional very decent uniforms
Pros
Supervisor with my lunch
Cons
Very good manageable breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor leadership
partner (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDFebruary 13, 2018
Company became overly focuses on IPO and neglected day to day operations

A business built on a family ownership concept, trying to become corporate; never an easy or good transition.
Pros
Free lunches on Fridays
Cons
poor leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work.
Equipment Technician (Former Employee) –  Broomfield, COJanuary 18, 2018
Learned how to work on lawn equipment. Fix work trucks and trailers. Good people to work with and always had a good time. Management was a little on the lax side and didn't seem to care about the job. not all but some.
Pros
Good people, learn new things.
Cons
Some poor management and seasonal work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
General Labor /Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJanuary 10, 2018
Working at Brickman seemed like a good idea at the start but, at the end of the day it was a bad place to work at, and nobody cares about you at, all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace
Chemical maintenance specialist (Former Employee) –  Greer, SCJanuary 4, 2018
Applied weed control to tree beds and picked up trash around assigned campus, drove a atv all day,pruning down trees and broken branches, mixed chemicals for work in a designated fill and wash area
Pros
easy with a mobile sprayer tank but temporary
Cons
Benefits limited
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
Crew Leader (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PADecember 22, 2017
Overall I enjoyed working for Brickman. It is a great place to learn about different aspects of the landscaping industry. You can advance into the administrative side of the industry too. On the down side of the place is with any landscaping job it gets slow and only a few select few stay on to work with the snow removal.
Pros
If making a career out of it good place to advance there
Cons
Really long days in the springtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging place to work
SPORTS TURF AND IRRIGATION MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Laurel, MDNovember 20, 2017
The normal work is good and what is expected. Upper management is tough to work with because the expectations are very high and somewhat unrealistic with the amount of hours given to do the work in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
Landscaper (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CANovember 14, 2017
working at brickman was a good job to learn new things but the management and the supervisors where really mean we didnt get vacation days off and also the way they treat workers was not the proper way.
Pros
Alot of over time
Cons
expect to finish a 2 hour job in 30 minutes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of hours
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Hunt Valley, MDNovember 12, 2017
it was an experience but you are there to open the gate and close it (the first there and last to leave) it was a poor life to work balance it left a lot to be desired when it came to my manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
National Company
Account Manager & Maintenance Division Manager (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WINovember 8, 2017
There is a lot of focus on numbers and not always quality.

The entire sales staff and management turned over when I left.

Some great people in operations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Brickman Group, Ltd.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 286 reviews
578
495
362
227
124

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.3Culture