THE CENTER FOR HUMAN SERVICES Employee Reviews

Showing all 45 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chs
Mental Health Clinician (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CAApril 23, 2019
Excellent place to work. Very supportive staff and supervisors. They offer excellent training and supervision. They value their employees and make sure that you are recognized for good work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Volunteer Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CAApril 5, 2019
great place to be employed. friendly work environment. awesome atmosphere. challenging and positive workplace environment. i highly recommend chs. overall very productive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunities for growth and to help others grow
Service Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Sedalia, MOMarch 8, 2019
I was Service Coordinator for caseload of avg. 36-40 individuals with developmental disabilities providing person centered planning and individualized personal support plans through a collaborative effort of team members, service providers, and families.
Pros
Wonderful Relationships
Cons
Constant documentation redundancies
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was good in the begining
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Sedalia, MOFebruary 17, 2019
Life was good working at CHS but then management changed and things went to pot. Many people lost their jobs or were forced to quit. Three different facilities were closed and all those people lost their jobs. For a place that hires the disabled and lived every day for the ability to have a job and then lose it. Such a shame
Pros
was good place at one time
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Place to Work
Current RN Instructor (Current Employee) –  Sedalia, MOFebruary 9, 2019
Great staff to work with and working to help others. The company provides services for individuals with a variety of disabilities to help them lead full lives in the community.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Intern - Intake Clinician (Former Employee) –  Shoreline, WA 98155January 30, 2019
Caring, qualified and effective counselors work at this agency. I was proud to say that this agency was part of my career path to becoming a compassionate counselor. The staff is always willing to help and they really do care about their clients. I would definitely recommend this agency for clients and professionals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peedjudice
Associate (Former Employee) –  Sedalia, MOJanuary 25, 2019
I do not agree with the way they hire I feel they screen the people they hire for certain jobs . and I won't apply there again and as far as giving them a rating they don't deserve one . This is a very Prejudice company. Even if you have the qualifications you are overlooked.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring culture with opportunity for personal and professional growth
Student Assistance Specialist (Current Employee) –  Modesto, CADecember 29, 2018
Great place to work for a decent college graduate or an individual looking to get clinical hours for graduate school. It serves as a stepping stone for most people and it gives them the experience needed to continue on in the field of human service work.
Pros
Great building block to a career.
Cons
The pay, depending on the job you’re in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teamwork is key in Service Coordination.
Service Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Bolivar, MOOctober 26, 2018
As a service coordinator, you spend time visiting with the individual's you serve, talking with their families, their guardian's, the providers who work with them, the medical providers they see, etc. As a team you work together to assist the individual to be healthy, to be as independent as they can be, and to enjoy life to the best of their ability.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome setting, wonderful co-workers
Data Entry/ Office Clerk Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CAOctober 24, 2018
Great place to work. I was on a work-study program while attending San Joaquin Valley College so basically I went to school then volunteered at Center For Human Services. The school paid me. I gained a lot of great work experience and met a lot of wonderful people that helped the community.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to volunteer
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Shoreline, WAOctober 12, 2018
Worked with children at a low income community and helped them with their homework. Collaborated with the staff members and effectively facilitated classsroom.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watch your back
DSP (Former Employee) –  Sedalia, MOSeptember 14, 2018
There are great people at this company doing great things for people who desperately need them. However it is near impossible to stay long term if you are forward thinking and passionate. They clip the wings of the people who work there. They care more about the bottom dollar than employee or clients. It constantly felt like i was looking over my shoulder to make sure i didn't get in trouble or lose my job. I worked for a year before the stress took its toll and i had to leave. It by far was the most stressful time of my life. They threaten to let you go if you talk about anything that makes them look poorly. And talking about pay is a huge no-no. From what I gathered is that it varied greatly on if they liked your or not and degrees, which seemed fair to a point, but if they didn't like you personally you were screwed. Be prepared to make between 8-12 an hour and the 12 only if you have a degree,
Pros
Overtime optional
Cons
No breaks, stressful, poor management, constant fear about job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace - productive - enjoyable
Program Specialist - Calfresh (Former Employee) –  Patterson, CAAugust 27, 2018
Loved working there.
Great people and always treated with respect and fair
Clients were really kind

...
Pros
N/a
Cons
All was great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job but poor managment
Job Coach (Former Employee) –  Sedalia, MOJuly 24, 2018
No work / life balance. No set schedule. 50+ year old co. and it felt like a bad start up with people's rolls changing constantly SOP's constantly changing.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
No life outside of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proud to Work at the Center for Human Services because of our Mission Statement
Accounting Assistant II (Former Employee) –  Sedalia, MOJuly 24, 2018
I was very proud to work for the Center for Human Services. Would go back immediately if they had an opening in Accounting or Payroll. Management was very helpful and had an open door policy. The best job I ever had.
Pros
Pay, Time Off, Management Involvement, Pension, Insurance
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Direct Support Staff (Former Employee) –  Sedalia, MOApril 18, 2018
I worked in the full care house. The clients there needed the most care physically with some being nonambulatory. Each shift started busy and stayed busy til time to clock out. Coworkers were supportive of each other. It was an enjoyable place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it has a great atmosphere
Internship (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CAApril 2, 2018
it was a great place to work at everyone was friendly and helpful. people were very pleasant and the clients were great to work with watching them learn and listen
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Please don't subject yourself to the craziness
Faculty Member (Current Employee) –  Bridgeton, NJDecember 1, 2017
-backbiting/manipulation
-hostil working environement
-zero accountability
-zero appreciattion for you doing your job
-terrible supervisors that insult you
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Work Family
Student Assistance Specialist (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CAAugust 8, 2017
There is no culture like the one you find at CHS. They do a lot to ensure that everyone is connected and feels supported. Everyone loves working there and many return after they leave. The only downside is the pay is not great and they understand that. Many supervisors will admit that unless you are married or living at home with minimal financial obligations, it is very hard to survive working at CHS based on their pay scale. At the very least, it is a great stepping stone. All of that being said, you would be very lucky to find yourself being a part of the CHS family in any department.
Pros
Flexible, loving, understanding, fun, and rewarding.
Cons
pay scale.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Going and Rewarding
Junior Database Administrator (Current Employee) –  Shoreline, WAJuly 23, 2017
This non-profit, focused on Behavior Health, is very generous to its employees in both benefits and within the office. It provides the resources necessary to complete any given task, and is forward thinking. However, management is too lenient and there are workers there who have spent the past 5+ years either doing nothing or doing way too much. Difficult to get situated as someone who wants to get things done immediately, but highly gratifying for someone who wants to pace themselves and learn about the healthcare industry and working in non-profits.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Too relaxed
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at THE CENTER FOR HUMAN SERVICES. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 45 reviews
522
46
38
26
13

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

3.2InHerSight Score

2.7Personal Development

3.5Career Opportunities

3.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

THE CENTER FOR HUMAN SERVICES Reviews by Location