THE CENTER FOR HUMAN SERVICES Employee Reviews

Showing all 45 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wondeful workplace. Friendly staff
Early Head Start Teacher (Current Employee) –  Sedalia, MOJune 8, 2017
Working for CHS is one of the best decisions I have made. The staff is great and you get pretty good benefits. I really feel like the center lives out their moto: Life without limitations.
Pros
Good benefits, paid time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Company
Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Marshall, MOMay 24, 2017
I have worked for this company for years and they have treated me good. The benefits are very good, but you have to build them up. Helping clients is very enjoyable because you get to see them be happy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team
HR Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Sedalia, MOMay 19, 2017
I worked in HR for one and a half years and have enjoyed the team I worked with. There are challenging times just like every job. They pay for you to go to training in Columbia, Kansas City or Jeff City. Great place to work for!
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Place to work
Support Coordinator DD/ID (Former Employee) –  Liberty, MOApril 19, 2017
My time at the Center for Human Services was probably the best job I have ever had. I worked with people of all ages from birth to geriatrics who had intellectual and or developmental disabilities. I helped with benefit acquisition, case management, medicaid waiver eligibility and vocational preparation.

The center encourages personal development, and I had the opportunity to participate in a year long leadership program. This amazing personal and professional growth opportunity was a gift that allowed learning about conflict resolution, program planning and development.
Pros
personal and professional development
Cons
sometimes long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Center for Human Services provides supports for persons with developmental disabilities
Developmental Disability Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Sedalia, MOMarch 7, 2017
In my opionion, the Center for Human Services should focus more on empowering qualified and experienced staff and supervisors to provide excellent services to the persons served.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Very rigid on policy and procedure
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Job Coach (Former Employee) –  Sedalia, MOAugust 15, 2016
New management.. doesn't respect employees, will work you to death. No time for family. No appreciation. Horrible pay.
Pros
Love the clients
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professionalism
Clerical (Volunteer) (Current Employee) –  Modesto, CAOctober 20, 2015
A typical day at work feels like another home for me. The staff are more like family than a staff. Its team work environment. Staff there are there to serve our community.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Internship (Current Employee) –  Stratford, CTJuly 23, 2015
My internship with the Center for Human Services was an awesome experience. I was able to work and learn among so many Diverse individuals. I Learned what it takes to provide the proper care for individuals that receive methadone
Pros
Flexible Schedules
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Student Assistant Specialist (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CAJune 19, 2015
I loved my job at the Center for Human Services. The organization had a philosophy of care that made it an enjoyable place to work. The management team helped me with any problems that would arise during sessions and offer prompt aid with any questions I had. I also was able to take the necessary time off for bereavement and was offered ample opportunities for self-care, community engagement and skill development.
Pros
The people, resources, great communication, teamwork environment
Cons
Paperwork, little time for breaks throughout the day
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most interesting position in finance
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CAMay 17, 2015
Posting and balancing a $10 M budget
How a non-profit corporation runs
Managers were caring and committed
Co-workers were positive and supportive
Leaving
Working with community projects and contributing to the community,
along with satisfaction of working in Finance
Pros
Diversity of people contact as well as working in Finance
Cons
Leaving
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what is great about my jobs
Paul J Cooper (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMay 8, 2015
There is no hard part when you enjoy what you are doing, I enjoy working with people of all ages and helping them fulfilling there needs, I work well alone or in a team setting, I quickly adjust to my environment, and pick up any skills as put for to me
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and fun place to work
N/A (Former Employee) –  Sedalia, MOApril 28, 2015
Pros - You can see as you help make a difference in the lives of others. Very friendly and open managers.

Cons - Salary and benefits are below average, even for a NFP.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 8Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love this place
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CAApril 8, 2015
This company is amazing.
It's a dream job even for a volunteer. Everyone is welcoming and happy to help you in anyway possible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment
volunteer drug counselor (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CAApril 5, 2015
love this place it is the greatest place on earth to work love what they are doing to improve peoples lives with the drug counseling and programs for women with children
Pros
alwys doing the little things for the workers
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
balanced
Production Technician (Former Employee) –  Sedalia, MOMarch 4, 2015
good job, just layoff
great environment, loved to see clients everyday
dusty place, needs better filtering system
loved the 3 ladies I worked with
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and busy, yet fun workplace
Floater Teacher (Current Employee) –  Sedalia, MOApril 11, 2014
A typical day at work always made me feel important and what I did was very exciting to me. I learned how to be interact with staff and customers and how to be a more responsible worker. The management here was always nice to me and always willing to work out any issues that could've come up. My co-workers were always very nice to me and were always there to help me out whenever I needed help with something I didn't quite understand. The hardest part of this job was keeping up the kids that I worked with, but I eventually got used to it. The most enjoyable part of this job was getting to see happy smiling customers every single day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 8Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits at the time, but they have discontinued the retirement plan
Adult Outpatient Therapist (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, ILSeptember 11, 2013
Good pay and benefits when I worked there, but was going downhill due to mismanagement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Counselors were knowledgeable.
Substance Abuse Assistant Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Shoreline, WAAugust 8, 2013
This is an excellent place for interns to get a wide variety of skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job Ever
Aquatics Instructor (Former Employee) –  Sedalia, MOJuly 11, 2013
I loved everything about this job except the lack of hours avaible. The clients were awesome and the workload was enjoyable and the supervisor was great too.
Pros
fun work day
Cons
lack of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be very rewarding
Direct Support Professional (Current Employee) –  Sedalia, MOJune 19, 2013
I enjoy what I do because I work with some amazing people who can show you a lot about life. The company can be hard to work for due to a high turn over rate and poor management. Working in housing, there is plenty of overtime available if you want it.
Pros
Fun people
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at THE CENTER FOR HUMAN SERVICES. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 45 reviews
522
46
38
26
13

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

3.2InHerSight Score

2.7Personal Development

3.5Career Opportunities

3.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

THE CENTER FOR HUMAN SERVICES Reviews by Location