The Cheesecake Factory Employee Reviews

Found 2,959 reviews matching the search See all 3,074 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job in the service industry
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Denver, CONovember 20, 2018
Taught me good fundamentals in the service industry. Good foundation and core values. They do not take reservations, which can drive you mad on a busy night since you have no clue what to expect. They cram as many tables in the restaurant and make it a very uncomfortable setting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with plenty to do
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Lone Tree, CONovember 19, 2018
It is an extremely fast-paced and huge working environment. There are always things to do and people to help, and it has greatly improved my interpersonal skills. The people are fun and friendly and the management is very understanding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, not amazing
multiple - Sr.Manager (Former Employee) –  MultipleNovember 18, 2018
Great experience, very political. not enough advancement,unless you cozy up to
The right people. Very male
Dominated. Great food, good culture. They severely underpay internals and females.
Pros
Good culture, scratch kitchen
Cons
Little work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over worked and underpaid
Fry Cook, Flat Top Cook, Pasta Cook (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCNovember 17, 2018
management played favorites, couldn't keep personal and professional lives separate

Scheduling was chaotic, one week you get one 5 hour shift, next week working 3 doubles in a row
not able to leave when your work was done when others were able to leave early because you had to follow along and clean up what they forgot. Massive turnover, excessive stress
Being called in on your day off because others would no call no show with no repercussions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great roots and plans
Kitchen Manager (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CANovember 16, 2018
Going in to this company i already knew how behind the location i was working in was going to be but did not expect my training to be cut short and moved to and even move backed up location. My typical day was survival and lack of staff. The great part was the long dedicated staff.
Pros
consept
Cons
orginazation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very face pace.
Grill Cook/Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MONovember 16, 2018
Very face paced restaurant you better be ready for some hard fast long work. Not much support from Management but you did get and give help to other team players.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i would tell people to go here
Cook/Prep/management support (Former Employee) –  Colonie, NYNovember 16, 2018
I loved the management staff. I loved working here i was there for 3.5 yrs. They worked with when i wanted to switch to morning from the night shift. You will learn a lot if you work here especially from the Executive Kitchen Manager. If you want to learn how to work in a kitchen start here. This was an amazing learning experience for me. However the only down flaw was the constant hiring of people that really couldnt do the job they where hired for and should have been hired for a different position. Also the lack of kitchen managers doing what they are suppose to do. I wouldn't recommend being here long term.
Pros
you will learn alot
Cons
not always feeling like your being treated fairly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun envirement to work in, ideal job when going to school or have another full time job. You basically make your own schedule.
Server/Bartender (Current Employee) –  Montgomery County, MDNovember 15, 2018
Come into work, ready in uniform. Go to team alignment ready for your shift. Manager reviews what is planned for the shift, any upcoming changes, changes with the restaurant, expectations. You enter the floor ready to go and ready to give your guest the best dining experience. Cheesecake factory is a fast paced restaurant so you will need to be able to handle the volume but other than that your task are pretty basic. You have time to chit chat with co workers and for the most part shifts are fun.
Pros
work the hours you want, take home cash every night.
Cons
late hours on weekends, not many benefits and not much room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Dishwasher/Prep CookDishwasher (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IANovember 14, 2018
Good place to work good place to meet good people and managers are fun to be a long day busy day staying on your feet a release a lot of stress helps Keep all my feet
Pros
Good
Cons
Yeah
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work as Dishwasher and it is fast pace job
Dishwasher (Current Employee) –  Huntington Beach, CANovember 13, 2018
We work as a team and responsible our job . Be organized where the dishes go to line cook. cleaning in general . I work in afternoon and sometime in the evening.
Pros
free food
Cons
mess kitchen
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Dishwasher Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Lincolnshire, ILNovember 13, 2018
Great Company Sad To Leave . Wonderful Work environment great team members and managers . Safe and safe place to work . Would recommend this place to anyone .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive in fun place to work
LINEN CLERK (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PANovember 13, 2018
good people to work with there fun place to work when thing are running smooth the management there is ok long as thing are running smooth they treat you well for the most part
Pros
treated like family
Cons
forced to work all holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun restaraunt
Shift Leader / Server (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 12, 2018
Fun and caring work environment wth room for advancement. Management always cared about their employees and made us feel important and needed. New General Manager was a great individual.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and energetic work place
Bartender (Current Employee) –  Annapolis, MDNovember 11, 2018
great company, you must be energetic and very personable. you will make great money but you have to be able to keep up. great location to work especially around the holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management needs work
Server/Trainer (Current Employee) –  Fresno, CANovember 11, 2018
Like hourly employees but the managers are lacking. dont go here if you are looking for an easy job. it is hard to get hired as well. feels like your in high school
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good coworker environment; Poor Management
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZNovember 9, 2018
The work was tough and fast pace but exciting. Coworkers were amazing and felt like a second family. Management didn't care for employees, at least those that didn't suck up to them. I worked there for almost 3 years and never got a raise. When I asked for a raise, I was denied and then was astonished when they hired new workers making almost 4 or 5 dollars more than I (one of the veteran cooks who knew most of the menu; 300+ items) was.
Pros
Great coworkers
Cons
Poor management, lack of advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, culture did not fit
Server (Former Employee) –  Newport Beach, CANovember 9, 2018
Cheesecake Factory is a great company, and corporate really tries to be aware of its staff and be involved. I personally did not fit with the Newport Beach locations staff culture. There was this sense of entitlement amongst staff that I did not mesh with, and decided it was not the fit for me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Louisville KY Location Employees not treated respectfully
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYNovember 9, 2018
Personally I do not recommend working for The Cheesecake Factory in Louisville, KY. The management does not treat it's back of house employees with respect.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Work Environment with Competitive Co-Workers
Bar Server / Waiter (Former Employee) –  Peoria, AZNovember 8, 2018
Must show up to work 5 minutes early to be checked in by management. If shirt is wrinkled, or facial hair isn't up kept, you could be asked to go home. From 10 minutes clocked in, you are already with tables. Working at a solid pace until the end of your shift. There are over 70 servers and 200+ employees per location. You work, on average with 14 other servers during your shift of anywhere between 4-8 hours. Not hard work, but I wouldn't classify it as an easy job either.
Pros
Half Off one menu item, each shift
Cons
Short breaks or No breaks, and semi-strict dress code (all white).
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick paced
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NENovember 7, 2018
Quick paced. Busy during the Holiday season.
Learned to double check for accuracy.
Work culture is just okay, due to management not being as inclusive. Management is also in need of training.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Cheesecake Factory. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 3,074 reviews
51.1K
41.1K
3587
2173
1119

See reviews about

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score
TOP10%
In the Top 10% of similar size companies

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at The Cheesecake Factory.

Powered by Comparably