The Children's Museum Employee Reviews

Showing all 14 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's fun working with kids
Guest Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMarch 21, 2018
The museum recently changed locations and much of its management staff, so my experience is based on what it was like several years ago.

Management was not willing to enforce admission/membership/conduct policies when guests were upset or breaking rules. Almost impossible to alter my set schedule on occasion for family/religious obligations.

Picking up toys all day is nobody's idea of a good time, especially when parents/caretakers were not willing to enforce rules or discipline the children. There are a lot of entitled customers who do not watch their children.

Working with families from around the world was wonderful! You get to hear many languages and see how children are the same no matter where they are from.
Pros
Interacting with many different cultures
Cons
Parents not following the rules
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, play on all floors.
Play guide (Former Employee) –  Terre Haute, INMarch 6, 2018
I worked there after school so I would only be working 2 or 3 hours on the week days and on weekends I would work about 8 hours. I had two days off , Monday and Thursday. You switched floors during your shift. There isn't ever a lot of play guides there so there is always work for you to do.
Pros
Food in the lunch rooms
Cons
Didn't have any benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative and educational enterprise which drives you to be your best.
Exhibit Artist / Painter (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJanuary 10, 2018
The most enjoyable part of the job was entertaining and educating a multi-cultural audience of all ages.
The daily effort to excell is it's own reward.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close-knit and cheerful environment
IIT Temp (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INNovember 19, 2017
I enjoyed very much the people I worked with on a daily basis. There was a lot of encouragement to meet people throughout the museum and everyone was happy to be there.
Pros
People and environment
Cons
Temporary position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
human service provider with dedicated staff
Controller (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 1, 2017
Company provides support for children through group homes and foster care. Dedicated staff and sound business. Compensation was good and great benefits.
Pros
benefits, greta senior managament
Cons
Little up ward movement in company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work with and for children
Facilities Manager (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VANovember 6, 2015
It was interesting working and learning about non profit environment.
I found that the lack of structure in administration made it difficult to do my duties as a facilities manager.
Pros
five weeks of vacation, ability to make my own schedule
Cons
lack of structure, difficult to authorization to complete needed tasks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for early development.
Exhibit Caretaker (Former Employee) –  Oak Lawn, ILOctober 15, 2015
Amazing fun place for family and friends. Great staff. Many fun activities for children to enjoy. Clean, friendly environment. Great exhibits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Graphic Design Intern (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WISeptember 18, 2015
I had fun working at the Children's Museum. My position was a Graphic Design Intern so on my days there I would be designing flyers, banners, invention cards, layouts for events and logos.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable place to work with kids
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Oak Lawn, ILJune 10, 2014
clean
fun areas to play with
meeting different people
nice people to work with
they have a lot of respect
Cons
parents are rude
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employment to start off!
Staff Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lake Charles, LAApril 21, 2014
I've work at the Children's Museum for almost six years, and it has been the best six years. I could not have asked for a better first job. The directors there are very family oriented, the schedules are flexible, and the staff are always friendly. I wish there were more places like it for teenagers to start their first job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding place to work!
Development Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMay 25, 2013
The museum is a fun place to work. You are always meeting new people and you can enjoy working with fun staff and seeing the smile on kids' faces!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Box Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  indianapolis,indianaJanuary 3, 2013
heavy customer service, worked in the box office selling tickets, selling memberships, data entry. Did administrative assistant. work.
Pros
loved the environment
Cons
more compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place!
Disability Awareness Intern (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNSeptember 17, 2012
Fun with the kids and a wonderful staff!
Everyday was a blast!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Children's Museum. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 14 reviews
57
44
32
21
10

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
3.9Culture