The College Board Employee Reviews

Found 126 reviews matching the search See all 127 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent professional development
Reader (Current Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTNovember 22, 2018
It is a pleasure to take the time over the summer to work for college board. I love the environment and enjoy spending my summers doing this job. You are able to collaborate with teachers and professors from all over the world.
Pros
to travel to Salt Lake City and enjoy the offers of this beautiful city
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Position for a Month
Field Test Scorer (Former Employee) –  Iowa City, IANovember 11, 2018
I don't feel like I can say too many definitive things about the College Board since I was a temporary employee for a month. The people I worked with were very friendly and helpful. We had a great location to work at and the environment was very positive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun remote work, but steep learning curve
Passage Scout (Current Employee) –  RemoteNovember 5, 2018
I enjoy working for College Board very much, but after nearly a year of working as a contract worker, I am still not sure I have the hang of it. I am willing to keep trying, though, as everyone is very professional and nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be good depending on which department you are in
Senior Director Program Management (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 4, 2018
I have enjoyed working here until the last year. Our team has been put under new management under which we are micromanaged and where rigid processes and tool use are creating frustration and anxiety for our team. Our team can no longer support our stakeholders and end users as they need to be supported. Worse, our team has moved out of alignment with the rest of College Board, which is in the middle of implementing Agile across the organization. I fear that the group I work in will become obstructive at best or obsolete at worst as the rest of our organization becomes more agile and we move backward into top down, command and control management of the work our team supports.
Pros
Incredible mission, Excellent retirement benefits, great healthcare benefits, everyone gets 4 weeks of PTO
Cons
Key departments are not embracing Agile—only paying lip service to it
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic Place to Work Unless You are Brought in by Management
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 4, 2018
There was no typical day at work -- not until I left did I realize how toxic the environment was because I felt like a living, breathing human being again. You are constantly micro-managed and the word gaslighting comes to mind via my direct report. The culture is TOXIC. I learned my self worth was a lot more important than how I was treated. They do however, specialize in blindsiding workers. CEO is never there so I can't reflect on him other than he has a huge ego. I've never worked with such "privileged" people in my life.
Pros
None, really.
Cons
Environment and hours expected of you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic Work Environment
Junior Project Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 2, 2018
There's hardly any balance between work and life. Basically, they expect your colleagues becoming your family. Literally your life is tie to them 24/7. It's a bit too much. Also, many mangers are micromanaging. It can be suffocating. The only perk is the tuition reimbursement policy, however, it's not that straightforward or easy to get it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great if you want to play the political advancement game
Director (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 24, 2018
Mission-driven organization that occasionally performs good, impactful work yet motivated by internal political agenda. Advancement is only available to those willing to manipulate and self-promote, often at the detriment of its actual mission to help students. White savior crisis to the extreme with several well-meaning white people in positions of power, hyper-focused on advancing low-income people of color within our educational institutions, but not within its own organization.
Pros
Competitive base salary, some intelligent colleagues, generous vacation policy
Cons
Lack of advancement opportunities, nepotism, extremely poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive Environment with Smart Friendly Colleagues
Director (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 10, 2018
A low-stress environment that provides the opportunity to work with brilliant people who are passionate about the organization's mission of helping students get to college.
Pros
Friendly environment, great benefits
Cons
Low salary, a lot of bureaucracy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
temp job
Test Proctor (Former Employee) –  College Park, GAAugust 14, 2018
This was just a short term temp position, not much to say about it. Fair pay, boring job. Easy, good hours. Random assignments, not enough work to live on
Pros
good pay
Cons
boring
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clear sense of mission
Executive Director (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 13, 2018
The College Board is a mission oriented organization. That mission is to level the playing field of education in this country. While lofty, the Board does have the resources and influence to actually make it happen.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Private Contractor
Assessment Writer (Current Employee) –  Long Beach, CAAugust 6, 2018
As a private contractor for College Board, I really enjoyed both the work and the communication between my supervisor and our team. I have no complaints.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Assistant Director (Current Employee) –  Reston, VAAugust 3, 2018
Great environment with amazing coworkers. Everyone is very open and friendly. Communication between departments is slowly getting better than when I first started. Benefits are the best!
Pros
Lots of fun events
Cons
Advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Sr QA Analyst (Current Employee) –  Reston, VAJuly 19, 2018
College board is one of the best companies that i worked so far. They respect employees and give more freedom. There is no discrimation among the employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work with management issues
Senior Database Solutions Architect Consultant (Former Employee) –  Reston, VAJune 18, 2018
Good technology, good access to tools, but questionable management direction and less than market pay makes this tough unless you're committed to the cause for the long term so as to take advantage of benefits.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
indeed
HUMAN RESOURCES SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Reston, VAJune 5, 2018
and placing interns; communicating with sponsoring managers, coordinating summer socials and following-up to ensure a successful experience for both the intern and the sponsoring department.
· Manages the full on-boarding process for employees. This includes working with managers to ensure that all necessary paperwork and on-line forms are completed in a timely manner, providing and coordinating initial benefits orientation for staff, assisting with online benefits enrollment processes, and ensuring all required employee information is accurately provided to headquarters and appropriate files are maintained locally.
· Assist the HR Department with key projects that address and support efficient business practices and promote employee morale.
· Work with recruiting team members to
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Director of Human Resources (Current Employee) –  Reston, VAMay 30, 2018
This is a great company... they truly believe in the mission statement. I highly recommend working here. A place where you can grow at a personal and professional level.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management could have been more effective.
Associate Research Scientist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 27, 2018
When I was there, the management was very weak. Inability to make decisions to initiate and/or complete projects.

Testing programs functioned as silos.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place for Young People
Employee (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 21, 2018
Recommended for young professionals with no family and no outside hobbies or interests. High stress, fast paced work environment with little room for mistakes.
Pros
benefits are outstanding
Cons
constant travel, aggressive meeting schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace culture
Associate Director (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 17, 2018
very political environment. promotions are based on who you know, not how well you do your job or how well you can perform at a higher level. lots of meetings and not enough time to actually do work. so many meetings are held that the president had to implement policies around not holding meetings on Fridays to give people time to finish their work for the week, and to cut meetings short by 5 minutes, to give people time to get to their next meeting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place to Work
IT Specialist (Former Employee) –  Reston, VAApril 18, 2018
There is a recent push towards moving to the Cloud which has caused some anxiety among employees. Otherwise it has been a largely stable and fun place to work with great benefits.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Push to move to the cloud has created some challenges
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The College Board. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 127 reviews
551
434
327
212
13

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.7Culture

Ratings from women

3.3InHerSight Score

3.1Personal Development

3.3Career Opportunities

3.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight