The Dimock Center Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Does not treat their employee with respect.
Substance Abuse Counselor (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJuly 3, 2018
Once upon a time I loved working for Dimock. The minute you don't agree with unfair practices and you make a formal complaint they will do anything to get rid of you. I was not fired I quit because of unfair practices.
Pros
Good vacation earning potential
Cons
Bad management and no support, long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your job is never secured there, management is harsh
Worker (Current Employee) –  Roxbury, MAMarch 4, 2018
There is no job security, it is not a nice environment. I have seen employees work their hearts out, but then managers quickly turn around and lay off employees (I get it, costs) but then refuse to give references to past employees which makes it difficult for them to get new jobs. It is funny how this place is a community center to help the community but the last thing they do is help their own employees. Work somewhere else. The senior managers really only care about themselves.
Pros
Some of the doctors truly care about the patients
Cons
don't expect any raise ever
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We build Cardboard playhouses with the help of 8th graders under then Governor Deval Patrick's "Community Giveback" Program
Preschool Teacher (Former Employee) –  Roxbury, MAJanuary 11, 2018
I was allowed a wide latitude allowing me to be creative and innovative. My supervisors were supportive, and of course the children were always a fun challenge.
Pros
Paid continuing educational opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and sometimes fun place to work
Housing Specialist (Current Employee) –  41 dimock st boston ma 02119December 12, 2017
It needs better management and growth. Not much growth in income and positions at the Dimock Center.

Typical day at work consist of 10 hours of work crunched down in 8 hours or 7.5 hours as that's the hours you getting paid for. 7.5 NOT the full 8.

Hardest part of my job is doing all that you need to do and finish it by the end of the week ( business) day/ week.

Management- Well it depends on what kind of manager you want. Do you want a manager that can teach you something? or a manager that's just the manager because they were fortunate to have that position when the time was right? think about it.
Pros
No growth and pay raises
Cons
Management and guidance
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dimock
Toddler Teacher (Former Employee) –  Roxbury, MAAugust 31, 2017
Dimmock was a nice place to work they just had a lack of staff members to cover shifts. The staff were friendly and nice towards each other. Management was also friendly toward staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very cut throat
Recovery Specialist/Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Roxbury, MAJuly 17, 2017
A typical day at the dimock center is highly stressful. Rules change on a constant basis. Employees are not team oriented and are very cut throat. The culture of dimock is very diverse. I didn't enjoy the constant cut throat of employees and the high stress environment. The greatest part of the job was helping to change live within the community.
Pros
free parking
Cons
the dont value their employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the dimock center
ERSEA Specialist-Children and Family Services (Former Employee) –  Roxbury, MAJuly 14, 2017
great company! diverse setting. I was hired during a time of transition. I loved working with the families there. It was fun to have my hands in so many things.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Desktop Support Technician (Current Employee) –  Roxbury, MAJuly 5, 2017
great place to work. a typical day consist of desktop support..network administration, new pc setup, repair of older broken machines..managing cell phones and ip based phones
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment to work
infant/toddler/pre-school teacher (Former Employee) –  Roxbury, MAJune 17, 2017
i was an infant, toddler and preschool teacher. it was fun but challenging. learning about different children and how they all learn in different ways and how to accommodate everyone at once. lots of paper work for every child and home visits and parent teacher conferences.
Pros
watching the children grow and learn
Cons
communication between staff, management and parents. not always on the same page
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great diverse work place
Support Service Supervisor/Clinical Social Worker (Current Employee) –  Roxbury, MAMay 25, 2017
supervise Medical Case Managers and Peer Advocates as well as individual therapy for clients in our department. Great work culture and co-workers. Learned a lot about multi-tasking and collaborating with different professionals.
Pros
Conferences are paid for
Cons
takes a long time to build extra vacation time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report

Want to know more about The Dimock Center?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical Records Tech
Medical Records Technician (Former Employee) –  Roxbury, MAFebruary 19, 2017
Maintains medical records operations by following policies and procedures; reporting needed changes.
Initiates medical record by searching master patient index; identifying existing patient records or need to assign a new number; interacting with registration areas and physicians' offices for information verification; processing or creating the record folder.
Ensures medical record availability by routing records to admissions and emergency departments, physicians, and other authorized hospital staff; maintaining chart location systems.
Completes medical record by reviewing information; notifying health care providers of record deficiencies; tracking outstanding records; notifying medical director of physicians in jeopardy of losing admitting privileges.
Resolves medical record discrepancies by collecting and analyzing information.
Maintains historical reference by abstracting and coding clinical data, such as diseases, operations, procedures, and therapies, using standard classification systems; filing documents.
Prepares statistical reports by collecting and summarizing medical care and census information, such as types of diseases treated, surgery performed, and use of hospital beds.
Provides medical record information by answering questions and requests of patients, hospital staff, law firms, insurance companies, and government agencies.
Maintains patient confidence and protects hospital operations by keeping information confidential; following release-of-information protocols.
Maintains the stability and reputation of the hospital by complying with legal requirements.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No one ever stays
Dental Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 15, 2016
Dimock is a great place to learn new skills, meet great coworkers and serve the community; however, it is not a place to spend 20 years working. If you get $20 an hour, you will make that 20 for the next 20 years. You will never get a raise, but your responsiblities will increase. THe place is not a healthy working enviroment. Managerment sucks. They talk down to you, and have no clue what they are doing
Pros
No pros
Cons
low pay, doing everyone work, bad leadership, lack of diversity in higher up
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
human services
Recovery Specialist (Current Employee) –  Roxbury, MAJanuary 24, 2016
Having the opportunity to work with amazing people and connect with hundreds of woman in need of substance abuse help made it worth it everyday !
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 7, 2015
Typical day at work was seeing clients daily and learned to become an effective Case Manager. The Management team and co-workers all worked together for the better good of the organization. The hardest part of my job was seeing my client moving out of the shelter and into permanent housing. The most enjoyable part of my job was empowering young women to pursue education and to pursue a career.
Pros
Flex-time
Cons
The location of the organization
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
manager
Adult Medicine Practice Manager (Former Employee) –  Roxbury, MAMay 9, 2015
in the beginning i was under the impression that it was a very well ran establishment. The focus toward PCMH model is what drove me to be part of the team. Had a very effective relationship withe the Clinical staff. Struggled with the non -clinical staff. differences in message and culture. resistant to change. politics and lack of defined exceptions led to stuggling
Pros
pay, provider passion.
Cons
resistant to changing for the better
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Optical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Roxbury, MAMarch 31, 2015
The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to provide affordable eyewear for my community. I take great pride in selling good quality products that everyone can afford.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
healthcare and supportive management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Computer IT Technician Intern (Former Employee) –  Roxbury, MAMarch 6, 2015
i fix computer and update the softwears. fix the printers and change passwords, help out the customers. i was always ontime, i had a good time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Desktop Support Technician llI (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJuly 27, 2014
Great mission the institution is on,they do great and amazing things for the underserved population of Boston, MA
Pros
Great Co-workers
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Adult Education Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Roxbury, MAMay 7, 2014
Fast paced environment where you assist the students and tend to their needs. You also help with intake of new students
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Nurse Medical Manager and Adult Medicine RN (Current Employee) –  Roxbury, MAApril 24, 2014
Very knowledgable and kind staff. Teamwork was outstanding.
Pros
Teamwork
Was this review helpful?YesNo 7Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Dimock Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 25 reviews
56
48
36
20
15

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture

The Dimock Center Reviews by Location