The Estée Lauder Companies Employee Reviews

Found 987 reviews matching the search See all 1,594 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love Working for Estée Lauder
Counter Manager (Current Employee) –  Mount Airy, NCApril 20, 2019
Five star company great leadership great training great product great opportunity for advancement great gratis always advancing in the new technology of the field
Pros
To many to list
Cons
Retail
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for growth
Account Coordinator Ulta Beauty (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 17, 2019
Hours were cut back with little to no notice from 35h to 5 or 10.
No job security and hard company to advance with. Working as a sales specialist requires alot of traveling store to store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOVE the atmosphere and ability to help people on what can be a touchy topic
Beauty Advisor (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, MNApril 13, 2019
great place to work, management is very caring and understanding about their employees, they trust their employees and display it through allowing you to work independently as long as your making sure tasks are being completed and customers are being assisted as needed. customer care is the biggest focus and nordstrom shows equal care for them through their rewards systems and their employees also. would highly recommend working here if you have the opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company to work for, as long as you can manage the salary
Director (Current Employee) –  xxxxApril 12, 2019
Pros: Wonderful experience. Teams are great, a women dominated industry with many women in executive positions. Benefits are great. Promotions are available when sought out. Digitally advanced and forward looking company, expected to gain share in the future.

Only downfalls are:
-Company is transitioning from family style company to more generic P&G/L'Oreal style company with the 'passion' being phased out
-Pay is very low - below those of beauty competitors and certainly below those of other industries
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Racist company
Key Holder (Current Employee) –  Bridgewater, NJApril 6, 2019
Extremely racist company. If you are a person of color they will compensate you far less than your white counterparts for doing the SAME job, or even more. All politics, terrible management even in high positions like Directors and Regional managers. STAY AWAY (especiallynif you are a person of color)!!!
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Terrible benefits, poor manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Global Director - Retail Design and Development (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 5, 2019
Estee Lauder has a fantastic portfolio of cosmetic brands that caters to any budget level. The work/life balance is great, not too many emails after the work hours and very talented mangers.

Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Associate Design Director (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 5, 2019
The Estée Lauder Companies offers a great experience for its employees. You work with very talented and dedicated people.
The work promotes high-end, quality skincare and makeup products.
Pros
excellent benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very relax and enjoyable enviroment
Manufacturing Process Operator, Packaging operator (Current Employee) –  Melville, NYApril 1, 2019
Will difinitly recommend job as a second income relax and enjoyable atmoisphere. It also balance well with my day job and its not a stressful enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production
Production Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Melville, NYMarch 29, 2019
it is ok. Looking for other options. Want more use of the talent that I have. A lot of overtime that is mandatory for supervisors and upper management
Pros
its ok
Cons
its ok
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked at Clinique
Anonymous (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 28, 2019
This place is way too top heavy when it comes to decision making. You have to be able to work around people schedules rather than deliverables. Also way too many egos and HR practically does nothing to help resolve even though they verbally say they're working on the culture and long unproductive meetings. To be honest, I think it's the people they're hiring into management that continuously adds to the terrible culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Round Rock, TXMarch 28, 2019
I was in charge of making sure the store looked presentable, helping customers find and choose products, inventory and cleaning. I enjoyed playing with makeup all day!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always changing environment
Sales & Education Account Coordinator (Current Employee) –  nj centralMarch 28, 2019
Must be able to adapt well with ever changing work plus be able to multitask, deal with internal and external customer experience and be able to have more than one boss with different ideas and directions
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Company
Beauty Advisor/ Pro Artistry Team (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaMarch 25, 2019
I've been with the company for 7 years. I love every minute of it. I've been given plenty of opportunities to become fulltime or I can work as little as I prefer. The team is great and the company treats us well. As freelance, I do not make commission. If we hit a certain number of hours, we recieve gratis a few times a year. They send us gifts throughout the year, as well as Christmas. I've recommended this company several times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture to work for.
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLMarch 24, 2019
Love the brand I work for, and the team I have developed. Benefits and reliability in moving up within management is extremely versatile if the work and time has been put in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company to work for!!
Business Manager (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMarch 22, 2019
I worked for Estée Lauder for 5 years and honestly, if they hadn’t transitioned, I’d still be working for them! The pay is great, the benefits were the best I’ve had with any company, management is awesome! They treat their employees pretty well. Training is awesome. Lots of opportunities to travel, gratis. I LOVED working for this company! I loved my clients and loved my team and my AE was amazing!!!
Pros
Pay, benefits, team, culture, job
Cons
Transitioned
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working for the company. I always did my job to the best of my ability.
Beauty adviser and Skin Care Specilist, Manager (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi Beach, TXMarch 20, 2019
I always did my job. I made my numbers ever month. I kind of felt I was not noticed sometimes because I was a smaller counter.
Notice your employees more. All of them. it encourages them to work harder.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Policies & ethical standards need work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMarch 18, 2019
Animal testing is outdated, cruel and entirely unnecessary but EL refuses to stop, as many other major companies have. That revels a lot about a company.
Cons
Animal Testing
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love this company
Senior Account Coordinator Travel Retail Americas (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 17, 2019
Great company to work for. Company provides a lot of training where you can upgrade your professional skills.

Great benefits and there are a lot of support from the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly enviornment
Office Services Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Melville, NYMarch 15, 2019
Providing raw material from various buildings transported to main hub at Research Park. Distributed said materials to various labs at Research Park. Coordinated with various chemists on location of materials through several buildings located in the New York City area. Coordination of said duties through Microsoft Office programs as well as telecommunication.
Pros
Free lunches, free time, great benefits, educational benefits
Cons
Poor management, no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An OK company to work for
Executive Director (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 11, 2019
Lorem Ipsum is simply dummy text of the printing and typesetting industry. Lorem Ipsum has been the industry's standard dummy text ever since the 1500s, when an unknown printer took a galley of type and scrambled it to make a type specimen book. It has survived not only five centuries, but also the leap into electronic typesetting, remaining essentially unchanged. It was popularised in the 1960s with the release of Letraset sheets containing Lorem Ipsum passages, and more recently with desktop publishing software like Aldus PageMaker including versions of Lorem Ipsum.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Estée Lauder Companies. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 1,594 reviews
5729
4486
3256
270
153

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

3.4InHerSight Score

3.1Personal Development

3.9Career Opportunities

3.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight