The Estée Lauder Companies Employee Reviews for Counter Manager

Found 69 reviews matching the search See all 1,614 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful product line. Good working ennvironment
Specialist/ Counter Manager- Estee lauder/CHANEL (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZFebruary 7, 2019
Fast paced; competitive. Daily duties included sales, inventory, performing makeovers. Great Training. Management was supportive and good mentors. The hardest part of the job was not having a set schedule. It was fum helping customers, having promotions.
Pros
Good Training, . Makeovers for customers
Cons
inconsistent schdule
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved Estee
Counter Manager (Former Employee) –  The Parks Mall, Arlington, TXNovember 11, 2018
I absolutely loved working for Estee Lauder. I was good at my job and the company made me feel like I was needed. MY only issues came from working inside Macy's and the way my particular store was run and managed.
Pros
Company cares, Gratis, Fun
Cons
Stores that the counters are in can be hit or miss, lots of standing, lower pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Job
COUNTER MANAGER, BELK (Former Employee) –  Toccoa, GAAugust 27, 2018
I loved my position but it was very competitive and stressful. I was the only EL associate at my department store so I handled EVERYTHING. The pay needs to be higher and they need to offer more training in the field.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Counter Manager (Former Employee) –  Hialeah, FLAugust 10, 2018
Beautiful environment with quality products that made selling easy. An icon of the industry, much potential for growth, ongoing training, earning potential
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Counter Manager (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, SCAugust 7, 2018
Loved working for an amazing company.Management was wonderful and very accommodating. Most enjoyable part was making women feel beautiful with and without make-up on.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great skincare education
Counter Manager (Current Employee) –  AtlantaMarch 29, 2018
Wonderful loyal following, easy to sell. Big sales goals and lots of events. Amazing new product launches often that have a lot of science behind them.
Pros
Good customers
Cons
Update culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Business Counter Manager (Former Employee) –  Euclid, OHMarch 14, 2018
Great place to work low pay but it was fun got lots of great products lots of training and a fun atmosphere
Love working there people works really nice and Estee lauder's company to work for
Pros
Fun atmosphere brake products
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive competition
Estee Lauder Counter Manager (Former Employee) –  Magnolia, ARMarch 14, 2018
Your pay is based on your sales. Which mean I was friendly and knowledgeable at all time on All products. Ensuring myself to make every sale that was presented to me.
Pros
Experience. Knowledge. Pay.
Cons
Cut throat business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not What I Signed Up For.
Clinique Counter Manager (Current Employee) –  Portland, TXMarch 7, 2018
I clean, service customers in every dept of store
I'm more helpful than most other employees
Hateful, unprofessional management
Hardest part of job; management
Most enjoyable part of job; Customers
Pros
Health insurance
Cons
Poor manegement
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting
Counter Manager (Former Employee) –  Easton, MDFebruary 18, 2018
Estee lauder was amazing. If it was a better paying career I would have never left. Can make so much more in a large market, but I was in a small town.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company but Management quality varies
Counter Manager (Former Employee) –  Farmington, CTJanuary 16, 2018
Estee Lauder is an AMAZING cosmetic company to work for! I felt the training and education was structured, compensation was more than fair, and the expectations and goals were reasonably achievable.

I really enjoyed working under some of the executives I had earlier in my career, I do feel there is room for improvement with some of the districts leaders (Some were placed into positions they were not properly trained for, trickling down to not optimize retail door success)

As most retail positions these days, internal advancement is tough. There are company shifts and cuts happening with a lot of displaced people and not too many jobs to fill. However, I still feel Estee Lauder has done the best job they can with the resources and people they have been given.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Passionate Company
Counter Manager (Former Employee) –  Morgantown, WVJanuary 15, 2018
Estee Lauder if an innovative company to work for at if you like selling in new products. It takes a lot of time doing their market research to meet the ever changing needs of its customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Counter Manager (Former Employee) –  New Iberia, LAJanuary 2, 2018
It was a very nice place to work with great benefits. You get $200-$300 worth of free products every quarter which is nice. 3% commission and an additional 1% over the counter when you reach your goals. I just dont care for selling that much. Its more goal oriented than anything. Also my store was very slow, i hate just standing around. The people at my counter always worked well together, never cutthroat but I've heard of others being very competitive.
Pros
Gratis. Free Products, bonuses, conferences
Cons
very slow paced at my location, no opportunity for advancement, very sales oriented
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very competitive
Counter Manager (Former Employee) –  Murray, UTDecember 28, 2017
It takes a certain type of personality to work for retail cosmetics. You must have very thick skin and be very competitive. It is a very cut-throat environment and sales are key to success.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Dealing with toxic people
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable to learn about new products
Counter manager (Former Employee) –  Watertown, NYDecember 12, 2017
Job was a retail position, stressful at certain times of the year. Coworkers very nice and atmosphere pleasant. Job had small commission but needs higher base pay
Pros
free makeup
Cons
poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company with new innovative products
Counter Manager (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIOctober 6, 2017
Always recruiting, teaching and learning about new products. Developing sale plans for the month to achieve at least 6% increase in sales from last year. Changing counter for new product launches, prepping and creating events to promote certain products. Completing stock orders, replenishment of customers items based on our technological customer database.
Pros
Constant improvement of products, the free gifts, gratis, and employee benefits, 401k
Cons
Pushing to meet sale quotas, working holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was great working for Estee Lauder, but Beall's has very poor management.
Clinique Counter Manager (Current Employee) –  Portland, TXSeptember 18, 2017
it was great working for Estee Lauder, I enjoyed interacting with the customers and my fellow employees. I got discounts on clothes and makeup, and commission on makeup sales.

Beall's has very poor management.
Pros
discounts, health insurance
Cons
Beall's management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Luxury Beauty Products
Counter Manager (Former Employee) –  Bloomingdale, ILJuly 17, 2017
I loved the job itself. I loved the product. However, I did not like being in charge of there ppl. I did not like the hours mostly bc my husband had to work similar ones and we have 3 children.
Pros
lots of free products, gain lots of skin care knowledge
Cons
Other consultants weren't as committed to Estee standards, The dept store is really in charge and so you play by their rules
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excel at your job and customer service
Counter Manager (Former Employee) –  San Mateo, CAJune 30, 2017
Always give your BEST customer service.
Wonderful cosmetic line.
Team and training excellent.
Smaller counter space can be a challenge.
Exciting cosmetic's events to drive business.
Pros
Sales and commision driven
Cons
Retail hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intro to the cosmetic industry
Assistant counter Manager (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 28, 2017
Great company to have an intro to the cosmetic industry since Estee Lauder owns most major brands of cosmetics. Learning basic skills for management, selling, customer service and overall product knowledge is great.
Pros
Estee Lauder Brand
Cons
Basic company
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Estée Lauder Companies. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 1,614 reviews
5735
4495
3258
271
155

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture

Women's ratings

3.5Fairygodboss Score

73%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

73%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss

The Estée Lauder Companies Reviews by Location