The Garlands of Barrington Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a beautiful place to work; management is OK.
7+ years: Prairieview Building Concierge (Former Employee) –  Barrington, IL 60010July 13, 2017
They have a beautiful campus, but do not consider work-life balance for their employees very much. Management is very mediocre,;for instance they try to pass off the residents' Christmas contributions for the employees (Garlands has a 'no tipping' policy) as coming from the company.
Pros
The many kind residents.
Cons
There are no company contributions to their 401K plan.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Official response from The Garlands of Barrington
September 27, 2017

Yes the residents are great!! They do contribute to the Holiday Fund via the their own Holiday Fund Committee. The Members even pass the checks out personally to the Team Members. It is a wonderful thing they do for our hard working staff!!

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More productive in health care
Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Barrington, ILJune 9, 2017
Garlands is the best place to work and also is the best place for retirement..They have every month mandatory meeting for all the team members. Also they have every end of the month lunch of all team members. All team members have 30 minutes break at work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responsible, Trilingual, Motivated and Compassionate professional with more than 5 years of nursing experience in healthcare
Staff RN (Current Employee) –  Barrington, ILJune 25, 2016
The typical work day includes admitting new patients, report any changes to MD and DON. As an RN, I am responsible to provide quality healthcare to patients and families.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ghcs
Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  South Barrington, ILJune 14, 2016
Working in GHCSis a lot of fun, you get to meet great people. But your hours do vary upon the clients needs. if you work in prarie view your hours are more consistent.
Pros
meeting new people, great atmosphere
Cons
the hours in independent living.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fair and productive work place and friendly staff
nursing assistant (Former Employee) –  Barrington, ILDecember 30, 2015
dependable staff,recognition event for staff performance,good benefits. There are no complimentary meals when you go to the cafeteria you have to get meal tickets for that.
Pros
underground parking garage
Cons
had to pay for lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office Enviorment
Agency Manager (Former Employee) –  Barrington, ILSeptember 16, 2014
Great staff, heavy multi-task skills, scheduling and on-call duties were the hardest part. Most enjoyable part of position was to have a great staff of 35 who were willing to serve the retirement community.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Server (Current Employee) –  Barrington, ILAugust 19, 2014
The Garlands of Barrington is a fun workplace with awesome staff. It has taught me a lot of what i know now. I enjoy working with the members (residents) that live there. They are fun and caring, and it makes me happy knowing they appreciate what i do for them.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
I am still not full-time and lose on vacation time when i work full time hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environment was just so beautiful and people were very nice.
Director of Environmental Services (Current Employee) –  Barrington, ILMarch 2, 2014
Gave assignments and met with employees first thing in the mornings. Worked well with others. Very good team work.
Pros
Lunches only 2.50.
Cons
Days would go fast.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Garlands of Barrington. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 9 reviews
53
44
32
20
10

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.9Culture

The Garlands of Barrington Reviews by Location