The GEO Group, Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 1,134 reviews matching the search See all 1,187 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Case Specialists
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 16, 2019
Co-workers and Program Manager makes all the difference. Some people give bad reviews based on the individuals not the company itself.
I love my job, location and co-workers. Many opportunities to learn and grow. It's fast paced job but if you are willing to learn and ask questions; you will succeed.
Pros
Training, Growth opportunities, Health care, great working environment and great communication. In my location we help each other out.
Cons
Can be dangerous
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Santa Rosa, NMFebruary 14, 2019
Typical prison facility to work for. They offer benefits, but kinda high on prices for insurance especially if it's for a whole family. There were plenty of stressful days, but had some good days as well. Pay really sucked compared to other prisons in same state.
Pros
Guaranteed overtime
Cons
Too much overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
little advancment with little care for employee welfare
Detention Officer (Current Employee) –  Folkston, GAFebruary 13, 2019
routinely doing the same thing
management fails to agree on how to handle policies
often, officers fail to enforce policy
often, officers are very complacent
good starting pay, little advancement
short staff causing overtime.
"health and wellness" bonus $4.27 (first 40 hours worked)
overtime worth $23.80 an hour
Pros
good starting pay
Cons
paid healthcare, poor officer attitude.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Correctional Officer (Current Employee) –  Hinton, OKFebruary 10, 2019
I have to say that the Management here is one of the best i have had in all my years of work. I appreciate each and everyone. Can get a little irate at times but very minimal. All in all great company to work for
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Company that I've ever worked for
Detention Officer (Current Employee) –  Aurora, COFebruary 7, 2019
They are only concerned about the bottom line. They have no regard for their employees. No advancement opportunities unless someone dies. Each employee is "another hot body"
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grave yard is best shift..
Correctional Officer (Current Employee) –  Lovejoy, GAFebruary 7, 2019
Orientation I noticed a HR( AA person )had problem with dark skin people. I saw many dark people setup by light skin girls. Same color different kind.
Pros
If your in klick your ok smooth..
Cons
If your not light ..look out..
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive place to work
Client Services (Former Employee) –  Denver, COFebruary 2, 2019
Never a dull moment when working with Re-entry clients. I understand the frustration when dealing with the court system and having to follow through with all of the required demands from the court system.

The experience working at GEO has given me the incentive to continue working with people of diversity and various social-economic levels.
Pros
Free parking pass while working downtown, Friday Pot Lucks, Contact with other employees and clients, Great leaders
Cons
Unable to get away if needed as high demand for clients
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former employee.........Conroe,tx.
Transportation Security Officer- USMS (Former Employee) –  Conroe, TXFebruary 1, 2019
Experienced Officer does all the work and is responsible for everything less experienced Officer does. Management shows alot of favortism. So called supervisors can do whatever whenever the big boss is out of the office.....
Pros
People
Cons
People
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security Operator
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAFebruary 1, 2019
The GEO Group took over from the Company I started out with Community Education Center. After the take over they started out very well, made lots of promises how think was going to work. After 1 year the facility closed
Pros
good exercise for correctional environment
Cons
never work for private contracting companies
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unfriendly work environment
Laundry Attendant (Former Employee) –  Florence, AZJanuary 29, 2019
I received very low wages working for Geo and no benefits but but the job was somewhat enjoyable and was an overall decent experience. I'm glad I had the opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and Demanding
Registrar (Former Employee) –  Santa Rosa, NMJanuary 28, 2019
Poor management leads to high rates of employment turnover
understaffed which causes more work demand
High-risk workplace with risk of communicable diseases
Pros
Benefits, Pto
Cons
Poor management, lack of support staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comment
Direct Service Technician/ Monitor (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 27, 2019
I don't have anything to say for a review for this company and Im not sure why I am being forced to write one every job is what you make of it and when you feel you require growth then you go for it!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy job
CORRECTIONAL OFFICER (Former Employee) –  Kingman, AZJanuary 26, 2019
If you don't want to have any type of life this is the job for you. The only thing you have time for is work and sleep. no raises. the overtime isn't worth it. PTO is combined with sicktime and is not accrued with hours worked. The place is a joke, They don't care about you or your family needs, always pushing to make you work 12/16 hour shifts
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company ever
Employee (Former Employee) –  GeorgiaJanuary 24, 2019
Management are BULLYS, only interested in having their egos stroked. Staff is required to make management look better and be there for management to bully and kick.
Pros
None at all
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company to work for, quick pace work environment
Supervising Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Ventura, CAJanuary 17, 2019
Good company to work for, high pace work environment, good work culture, diverse employees, lots of paperwork to be responsible for, good leadership from program manager, but limited resources for Spanish speakers only
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very team oriented
Business Clerk/Payroll (Former Employee) –  Adelanto, CAJanuary 16, 2019
Too many people favored over others. Very disrespectful employees, rude and belittling employees. No team work whatsoever. Spoken down to on a continual basis.
Pros
Birthday celebrations
Cons
No respect
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
Detention Officer (Former Employee) –  Pearsall, TXJanuary 14, 2019
work with over 1500 detainees from all over the world. management and Immigration customs and enforcement constantly changing policies. Documentation is very crucial. From Geo I learned management skills did supervise a department.
Pros
management skills, great salary
Cons
long hours. stressful enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
About Geo Group Inc, Tully House Newark NJ
Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Newark, NJJanuary 14, 2019
Tully House is a good job to work out, over time is given. Being a dispatcher you must know where drivers are going. Drop offs can be stressful.
Staff is ok.
Pros
experience
Cons
money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managements
Supply Clerk (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJanuary 12, 2019
The only issues with my current position is the fact that some supervisions don't follow policies as they should, furthermore they are on their own plan.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do as I say....not as I do.
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMJanuary 9, 2019
A very toxic work environment. Those in charge lack compassion. Lots of egos and double messages. The only way to survive working there is to go along with the dysfunction, keep your mouth and be okay with losing self-esteem.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The GEO Group, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 1,187 reviews
5244
4260
3294
2158
1231

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
2.8Culture

Ratings from women

2.2InHerSight Score

2.2Personal Development

2.7Career Opportunities

1.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight