The GEO Group, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't waste your time
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Lawrenceville, VAApril 19, 2018
Nothing to say at all. Work work work work work work you to death they have you work your full shift and then want you to stay and work another shift I never saw my house work on your days off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cooperative and safe environment with excellent benefits.
Corrections Officer (Current Employee) –  Hobbs, NMApril 18, 2018
Overall my experience working in Corrections has been a worthwhile experience and has helped me develop my people skills, problem solving skills, and teamwork. It had excellent benifits and paid very well. The work was challenging yet rewarding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Correctional officer (Current Employee) –  TexasApril 17, 2018
Great place to start a career very fast paced. Learn how to interact with different types of inmate races. Work hard you move up. This place requires lots of teamwork.
Pros
Career
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Food Service
Food Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZ 85009April 17, 2018
Typical day at work would be prepping cooking and serving breakfast lunch and dinner for the inmate population. Lot's of training provided, great benefits. Working shoulder to shoulder with up to 20+ inmates per shift might be stressful to some.
Pros
Free breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work there
PAYROLL/BUSINESS CLERK (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaApril 16, 2018
It is a terrible work environment. It is the lowest paying security/correction job. All other support jobs are also low paying. I was making about $8/hr less than the average person in my field.
Pros
Paid leave, good place to get experiance
Cons
terrible management, low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsafe working conditions,
Administrator of Compliance (Former Employee) –  IndianapolisApril 15, 2018
Very clicky, rules are not applied to everyone equally. Policy not applied to everyone equally. Staff are very immature and petty. Staff do not work as a team. Little communication from the top;
Pros
free lunch
Cons
little to no advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management with hidden agendas
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Cañon City, COApril 14, 2018
What you are told and taught in training, is not what really goes on behind all of the locked doors and gates. Youth are disrespected and treated poorly and unfairly. Management simply looks the other way and comes up with excuses and explanations. Many times I witnessed physical managements that were totally unnecessary..
Pros
Free tshirt
Cons
Negative, stressful work environment with poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Correction Officer (Current Employee) –  Lawton, OKApril 12, 2018
fast paced, learn as you go position. you must be able t to multiple tasks and be flexible. You will be put into unfamiliar situations and you will be in charge of the scheduling and directing of inmate, there are times when you will have over 250+ inmates in your care.
Pros
guaranteed overtime
Cons
training isn't as good s it could be
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced great job
Correctional Officer II (Former Employee) –  Graceville, FLApril 10, 2018
Fast paced environment, great benefits, awesome opportunity. Definitely would recommend to anyone in search of a career. Different shift options to choose from.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Counselor Supervisor (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaApril 10, 2018
Working for The GEO Group provides a great opportunity to provide direct and indirect services for rentry services to men and women endeavoring to rebuild, restructure and re enter into society whole and drug free.
Pros
Advancement Opportunities
Cons
Poor Leadership at my Long Beach, CA location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning experience
Transport Clerk (Former Employee) –  Pearsall, TXApril 9, 2018
Working at the geo group taught me about very many countries.
The amount trouble and work that these immigrants go through to come across to the united states.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Food Warehouse Specialist (Former Employee) –  Hinton, OKApril 9, 2018
great staff but the job itself is risky with inmates, but overall great company to work for and the benefits are awesome. As long as you do your job and situational awareness you will progress in the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Shift charge nurse (Current Employee) –  Pompano Beach, FLApril 8, 2018
Great pay, no hours, needs to be knowledgeable re: inmates, a lot to learn since we are still using paper for documentation. mixed culture, multilingual.
Pros
No free
Cons
Short Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
watch your back
Conducts administrative fact (Current Employee) –  Hinton, OKApril 5, 2018
always watch your back. Do not trust anyone. Just be careful who you talk too. Everyone will talk about anything. no matter how well you do your job, it does not matter.
Pros
cant think of any
Cons
gotta watch your back
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Neptune City, NJApril 5, 2018
Worst place I have ever worked. Company is poorly managed at all levels and employees are treated unfairly. Assignments are changed unexpectedly which often involved running a two hour educational group with no time to prepare.
Pros
A few congenial employees
Cons
management, pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Specialist (Former Employee) –  South Bay, FLApril 5, 2018
This is the most unorganized company I have ever worked for. The officers are ghetto. Their is no consistency at all. Everyone complains about having to work and policies. Some of the officers have relationships with the inmates.

The officers are unprofessional. Their is NO communication within the different departments. You try to do your job, and there is something or someone preventing you from doing it.

I DO NOT recommend this job to anyone
Pros
Daytime Hours
Cons
Pay, Growth, Operations, Security
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay for the co-workers and kids, leave for literally everything else
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Woodridge, ILApril 4, 2018
A typical day at work includes client management, for all roles. The rest of my day is file management, client management, payroll management, bookkeeping management, as well is billing assistance.
I learned a lot working here, mainly how well I am at what I do. Managment overworks and underpays their employees, putting the most responsibility on those who do their job effectively, while allowing those who slack off to continue to slack off and hardly ever compensating those who work their hardest.
The hardest part of the job is doing everything you can to give the clients what they need to succeed while hearing news about past clients losing their lives to gang violence, drug use, or self-harm.
The most enjoyable part of the job is hearing about those who have succeeded.
Pros
Free lunches, flexible working hours, lasting relationships formed with co-workers
Cons
Poor pay, poor management from coordinators who are not on the floor regularly
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GEO is a solid corporation.
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Yucca, AZApril 3, 2018
GEO is a large international corporation, They hope staff will perform their jobs as they are compensated for. The day is normally a 12 hour shift. I learned how to work with inmates and read their emotions. There really wasn't a hard part of the job any more than any job.
Pros
Working with a team
Cons
Some young officers, don't understand every industry has its challenges.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Queens nyApril 3, 2018
The Geo Group has been a good first nursing job. It has made my transition into nursing to be very effortless. The men and women I have worked with truly believe and work in a team effort style of nursing.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
No advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not advise working there.
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  FloridaMarch 28, 2018
No support from administration, $3 less an hour compared to state facilities in 2018. Terrible benefits. No kind of camaraderie, its "cya" every time you clock in. Constant overtime.

The only pro i can think of after the year and 3 months i worked there is that geo will pay for the corrections academy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The GEO Group, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 946 reviews
5203
4225
3224
2118
1176

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.9Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.2

2.2Personal Development

2.7Career Opportunities

2.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight