The Hanover Insurance Group Employee Reviews

3.7
Overall rating
Based on 234 reviews
Ratings breakdown
571
476
353
216
118
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 233 reviews matching the search See all 234 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work atxample: Productive and fun workplace with ping pong table
Field Appraiser (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 10, 2018
Rewarded for your performance.
Work on your own
open lines to co workers and manager.
Rewarded for good work
Helpful in Community
Good benefits
Top of the line technology
Pros
work on yuor own
Cons
micro managed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to Work for
Commercial Lines Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Salem, VAJune 24, 2018
Looking for a position where I can utilize my college degrees and analytical skills on a diality basis. I enjoy working on mulitple projects to improve processes within the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Customer Support Representative (Current Employee) –  Howell, MIJune 24, 2018
Very fast paced, workload is heavy. But the company takes care of their employees. Must be able to manage time well and be efficient! Also this is a call center based position so you must have gotten old phone skills!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rating Specialust
Rating Specialist (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MAJune 20, 2018
Hanover Insurance would have to be the best company I have ever worked for, the way they treat their employees, for both promotion and personal, was phenomenal. I would rate this company 10/10.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Information System Consultant (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MAJune 9, 2018
Hanover valued employees, and used to spend lots of money training new skills. I have zero complaints about this company. The management staff was friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned many skills
Senior Portfolio Underwriter (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 8, 2018
I appreciated the leadership and the clear vision from the top down. The leadership was consistent, which allowed the members of the team to be productive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high paced, stressful work environment
Auto Adjuster (Current Employee) –  Worcester, MAJune 6, 2018
As a collective whole, The Hanover truly is a wonderful place to work, with an ambitious executive team and a vibrant atmosphere. I believe that if I were in another position or had more opportunities for career advancement, that I would be more opt to look within the company and not seek employment elsewhere.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flat leadership company with minimal upward opportunities.
Senior Property Field Unit Manager (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIJune 6, 2018
Great place to work if your bar is low...If you are looking for a good job to have straight out of college for the first job experience this company is the perfect place to work. If you’re looking for something more and you hope to have a growing career this is not going to be the right fit for you. Extremely limited growth opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Underwriting Technician (Current Employee) –  Howell, MIJune 2, 2018
It's a great company, fair pay, annual pay and bonuses. Many different jobs in insurance, I had no insurance background and I love it. Would recommend to friends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office Review
Claims (Current Employee) –  Howell, MIMay 23, 2018
The Hanover Insurance Group is a good company to work for. They offer a substantial amount of PTO and good benefits. Some positions also offer work from home and casual dress code.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Rater Specialist (Former Employee) –  Howell, MIMay 16, 2018
It was an okay place to work. I learned a lot. Everyone was helpful and willing to assist in the training process. Coworkers were great but management was poor in communicating.
Pros
Learned a lot
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workplace
Claims Adjuster (Current Employee) –  Syracuse, NYMay 15, 2018
An excellent place to work. Managers allow you to be independent while still offering support when needed. Very relaxed and friendly workplace. Excellent benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to be
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MAMay 14, 2018
Hanover is one of the larger companies in the Worcester insurance industry. It has flexibility and good benefits. I had a few great managers. Bonuses were nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
provided challenging work envoironment
Quality Assurance Project Lead (Former Employee) –  Howell, MIApril 26, 2018
Led a team of 7-10 QA testers and managed the QA operations for assigned projects within the property/casualty, BOP and personal (auto, home and boat) insurance lines
Pros
Opportunity to learn
Cons
QA team was off shore and out of state
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unrealistic Expectations
Insurance Service Professional (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MAApril 23, 2018
I came on and was pushed to pass my exam within two weeks, at that point my group looked at our offer letters and saw we had 45 days which almost seemed to surprise management. In my interview I was told we would rake a week long licensing class, which actually was us reading in a hot room for a week. Then taking a class that regurgitated the book at you. The systems are so outdated, and were always crashing. You could get calls and not even be logged in to your system, and still have to take them. I felt there was a huge disconnect between the upper management's idea of how the CSC should be run and how that was implemented.
Pros
Great benefits, 4 weeks PTO, good salary
Cons
Challenging work/life balance, alot to learn in a short period of time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Appraisal Unit Manager (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MAApril 8, 2018
Good pay, benefits and a lot of time off helped to balance the workload and stress that is associated with an Insurance claims role. Overall good place to work.
Pros
Pay, benefits, bonus plan.
Cons
Workload at times can be heavy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work
Commercial General Liability Adjuster (Current Employee) –  Itasca, ILMarch 13, 2018
The job is difficult but the company and its management are solid. The only issue is the compensation which is low compared to other companies in the area.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good culture
Physical Damage Claims Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MaMarch 10, 2018
Strong training
Executive organization in constant state of flux.Constant structural changes
Talented staff and management
Good atmosphere at local level,
Pros
good employees
Cons
bad executive staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, nice work culture
Marine Underwriting Technician (Current Employee) –  Itasca, ILMarch 6, 2018
An excellent place to work especially when first graduating from college. The work is self motivated and challenging. I have been working for this company for the past 2 and a half years and have enjoyed learning and developing. I would love to relocate my position if it were available in the state of Georgia.
Pros
bonuses
Cons
work from home option
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to worl
Medical Bill Review Analyst (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MA 01615March 3, 2018
Great work environment
extensive training
hardest part of job is things constantly changing like computer systems and procedures.
Most enjoyable part of job was knowing job requirements and expectations everyday
Pros
On site Perks
Cons
Extremely busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Hanover Insurance Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

3.5InHerSight Score

3.5Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

3.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight