The Home Depot Employee Reviews

Found 42,678 reviews matching the search See all 46,259 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great store manager and associates
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Norman, OKJune 17, 2019
Days are typically very busy. Working at The Home Depot has taught me to better my customer service skills and be able to multi-task in any situation. The management at my store is great, but there has been a lot of turn around in upper management. The hard part is the customers that are hard to keep happy, but when you do succeed, it feels great.
Pros
Great Learning Environment
Cons
Work/Family Life is basically non existent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Monroe, OHJune 17, 2019
They were great to me while I was part time and in school. Compensation is fair, easy enough to get on day shift. Management is great, most take the time to get to know you and can be helpful when needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Conyers, GAJune 17, 2019
Home Depot really cares for its employees and will work with them to assist them when they are in need. They have no physical restriction for employment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home Depot, Not a Career job, But pays well, Very quick pace job, if you have energy, apply for this job.
Customer Service Professional (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJune 17, 2019
Home Depot is a steady job...with good pay...but I would not recommend this job for 10 years or more...you could get really burnt out on this job...much work on this job.
Pros
Good paycheck full hours lots of work., Always something to do at home depot, No slow pace job, Very quick pace job, Constant moving and standing on your feet all day.
Cons
Should come with paid lunch. Should have a longer lunch break.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place great people
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Allentown, PAJune 17, 2019
Great place, great people. Great staff pay above minimum wage. Seasonal positions. Very well organized and up to date technology to make job easier. Supportive management
Pros
Great hours, exceptable pay
Cons
Only worked seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company at face value. However, management could be better and more knowledgeable about certain duties and of what goes on in the store.
Order Fulfillment Associate (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 17, 2019
Overall a decent place of work. Some requirements for certain positions are counterproductive. Often times there may be 2 people in a particular department and if one person calls out of work you are pretty much alone. The company however is pretty lenient when it comes to attendance and does give you multiple opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
freight team associate (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJune 17, 2019
I really loved the people i worked with, I Learned plumbing as well as being an overnight stockier. The work place had a very nice culture, management was great
Pros
health care
Cons
didnt get to see much of the day time people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Specialty Assistant Manager/DH (Former Employee) –  Doraville, GAJune 17, 2019
This is a good place to work. Good environment. Good benefits. Not much for Part Time associates. Good environment. Good culture. Can be fun with the right leadership and talent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun friendly place to work.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Bullhead City, AZJune 17, 2019
I enjoyed my short 6 months of employment there,but the short hours didnt make up for my commute.But all the other employees were very helpful friendly,and knowledgeable during my training.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job with room for advancement
Paint Associate (Former Employee) –  Great Falls, MTJune 17, 2019
Pleasant, fast paced environment. Fun with the right supervisor. Lots of support except during really busy times of which there are plenty. Varied work schedules
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and exciting place to work.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IAJune 17, 2019
Assisted customers with finding products, stocked shelves, and provided excellent customer service per company standards.Consistently, demonstrated the highest level of ethical conduct when dealing with customer, team members, and management.
Pros
free lunches and dinners
Cons
short breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is just not a good company to work for at all.
Freight Team Associate (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJune 17, 2019
this job there is really long and stressful and there is just not enough pay for your work. i have seen people come and go from this company often....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning opportunity
FLSP (Former Employee) –  Normal, ILJune 17, 2019
A typical work day is busy. Specialists are goaled weekly and departments work as a team to achieve those goals. Customer service (skills and appreciation of your customers) is something you are definitely given the opportunity to hone in on. Additionally, sales techniques, understanding of store, district, and region goals and efforts to reach those goals are developed over time. Speciality departments require at least 6 months of training and experience for an associate to feel confident and in-control. Customer quote follow-up is a daily requirement, as is taking incoming calls, solving cust. issues, and selling orders which have been quoted. Lots of valuable experience and the pay is fair.
Pros
Fair pay and benefits
Cons
demanding shift, lack of support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back
Pro account sales specialist (Former Employee) –  Easton, PAJune 17, 2019
It is an easy place to work but does not really offer a competitive wage. It is a great place for the retired or college students to work, but it is really hard to raise a family on their offered wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont work freight
Freight Team Associate (Former Employee) –  Park centre drive, UtahJune 17, 2019
I worked at the home depot in Utah in park centre as frieght team. I was part time and the max they will give you is 27 hours a week. Seemed like a good job until day crew starts telling the overnight team how to do their job and what to do during the night. Freight team constantly has to pick up after day crew because they leave garbage all over, bring pallets down and dont put then back up, and empty boxes everywhere. I also discovered that freight team gets paid the least. They will tell you otherwise but I've heard cashiers say they started at $15/hr when I got hired at $12 and told if I switched to days, id get put down to $11/hr by the store manager. They dont promote based off of pruductivity and usefullness either; its based off of need in the store. Most of the time its day crew that gets hired full time. They also have strict attendence, so doctor notes won't dismiss you from work here. Nothing will. You can also get fired from here if you get injured at work and they find its your fault in any way. If you mess up their amount of days safe they will be very unhappy. They can also change your availability in the computer. So say if you are only available at certain times or days, you put that into their computer, they can go in and change that. They tell you when you're available, not the other way around. So expect to check your availability in the computer often, to see if any changes were made without your permission that you may have to bring up to them to avoid missing days and times because of your busy life. It can be used against your attendance if you don't  more... abide by their online/workforce app schedule. Dont expect managers to treat you with kindness either, you're just a body to them and they expect you to be there and work to their standards. Any problems you bring up will not be solved and day crew pretty much steps all over freight team. Recently the overnights have been mostly cleaning up after day crew because the manager that did sort of stick up for our team, left to go to another store.  less
Pros
Breaks every 2 hours
Cons
No healthcare to PT employees, poor management, day crew runs overnight team, picking up after others all the time, availability changes without your permission, short hours, hardly any promotions available, promotions based on store need, low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and busy
Head Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Westminster, CAJune 17, 2019
Working at Home Depot can be a great opportunity to learn new skills. I worked there for about 3 months before I was promoted to head cashier. There’s a good mix of people at the Home Depot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Flowery Branch, GAJune 17, 2019
A typical day at The Home Depot was stressful or relaxed depending on the day of the week. Management there was poor, and blamed the people below them for their mistakes. The hardest part of the job is keeping calm when all management gets irritated at you for making sure a customer leaves happy.
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment
Order Picker (Former Employee) –  TennesseeJune 17, 2019
Loved the job easy management. Your left alone and trusted to get your job completed and to meet yout production goal. 2nd shift hours just suck. 2nd shift hours are 4:30pm-1:30am.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Allentown, PAJune 17, 2019
I enjoy working here. They have great benefits only thing I dislike is that they don’t give you enough hours each week. Management and associates are very friendly, very compassionate & care about you.
Pros
Benefits right away, hour lunch, great management
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3 YR Store Associate Part-time student
Store Associate (Current Employee) –  Riverbank, CAJune 17, 2019
This review will be short and simple.
The Home Depot is very flexible with time management.
However moving up the ladder is not easy or even worth it sometimes.
The benefits from what I can tell are good.
The Pay raises are very low and sometimes reflect how they view your work ethic.
The job pushes you to your limits mentally and physically.
The work environment is great and everyone is helpful and if they don't know then you can always find someone who is.
Pros
2 15 min breaks, employee committee and events, work around schedules
Cons
Low pay raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Home Depot. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 46,259 reviews
514.4K
415.3K
311K
23.2K
12.3K

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.7Culture

Women's ratings

3.4Fairygodboss Score

53%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

60%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss