The Joint Commission Employee Reviews

Found 51 reviews matching the search See all 58 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace Integrity
Field Representative/Surveyor (Current Employee) –  Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60181October 11, 2018
The Joint Commission is one of the best places that I have worked over my entire career. The organization practices it's mission, vision, and values daily as a part of the operational culture. The workplace culture encourages transparency in communication and the sharing of ideas. Management is fair and supportive and compensation is excellent.
Pros
Positive Workplace Culture
Cons
Most opportunities for promotion are in the Chicagoland area.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding organization, true to mission, excellent employee benefits
Project Director (Former Employee) –  Oakbrook Terrace, ILAugust 7, 2018
The Joint Commission is mission driven, prestigious and a wonderful place to work. A great place to learn about health services research. Excellent benefits. Research department focuses on small scale, but important, studies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic mix of work/life balance
Sr. Talent Acquisition Consultant (Former Employee) –  Oakbrook Terrace, ILJuly 30, 2018
This company is a great balance of work/life. They work hard and play hard too.
They have a ping pong tournament for different levels of skill, Christmas Choir, summer picnic, casual dress for summer and Fridays, employee recognition, etc.
All of this without losing focus on the mission.
Pros
You get the skills needed to go to the next level of your career
Cons
May have to leave company to advance in certain areas
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No additional comments
Project Director (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 5, 2018
No additional comments. I was there for a number of years in various departments and would prefer not to comment beyond what I have already addressed in the scores provided.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great Benefits and Work/life balance
Senior Survey Planning Representative (Former Employee) –  Oakbrook Terrace, ILMay 18, 2018
If you're looking for a place to work with security and good benefits then TJC is the place for you. The people are great but it lacks opportunities for growth and advancement.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Little opportunity for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and awesome coworkers
Records Management (Former Employee) –  Oakbrook Terrace, ILFebruary 13, 2018
Great atmosphere great people to work with. I loved my job and being able to help people is my calling i enjoy helping people. Working with elderly people is my calling
Pros
Helping people
Cons
Dealing with some people less mannered
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I never worked for joint commusion
never worked (Current Employee) –  Rhode IslandFebruary 12, 2018
I never worked for Joint commission .it's a outside company that comes and checks to make sure hospital is doing what it suppose to do.again I never worked for this company.
Pros
Didnt work for company
Cons
Didnt work for company
Was this review helpful?YesNo 7Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Mission
Sr. Telecommunications Analyst (Former Employee) –  Oakbrook Terrace, ILJanuary 30, 2018
The Company mission is aspiring: To continuously improve health care for the public, in collaboration with other stakeholders, by evaluating health care organizations and inspiring them to excel in providing safe and effective care of the highest quality and value.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life Safety Code Surveyor
Life Safety Code Surveyor (Intermittent) (Current Employee) –  Oakbrook Terrace, ILJanuary 30, 2018
Life Safety Code Surveyor for Hospital Accreditation Programs, Critical Access Hospital Programs, Ambulatory Surgery Programs, and Behavioral Health Hospital Programs
Was this review helpful?YesNo 9Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic
Hospital Surveyor (Current Employee) –  VariesJanuary 14, 2018
This is a great company and truly helps organizations move to the next level of patient safety and community involvement. Educational and advancement opportunities are present and the team members are second to none, great collaboration.
Pros
Great Leadership and mission
Cons
Travel in winter
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Work Experience
Behavioral Health Nurse Surveyor (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 2, 2018
Great place to work. Very collaborative and customer service focused. Very supportive of new staff. Very focused on what is best for patient/client care.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding government agency with supportive working environment
Policy Advisor (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCDecember 18, 2017
The traditions of collaboration, cooperation and cordiality at the Commission distinguish it from other institutions. Working across international boundaries, the agency is characterized by a high degree of professionalism.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rather not say
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Colorado Springs, CODecember 8, 2017
The company is coming along with the hopes that the new owners go in the right direction with the company and the kinks can be worked out with the issues at hand.
Pros
None
Cons
Little to no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sets an example, does what is asked of the members it serves
Field Representative, Behavioral Health Surveyor (Current Employee) –  Oakbrook Terrace, ILNovember 17, 2017
The work is demanding but highly rewarding and provides many opportunities for growth and ongoing learning. The culture is 100% supportive, the travel is sometimes difficult but the opportunity and experience of partnering with different healthcare organizations and assisting them with their high quality care delivery is unmatched.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated to patient safety and quality
Executive Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Oak Brook, ILNovember 1, 2017
Helping to improve the quality and safety of patients around the world.

Constantly updating standards to improve our surveys, days go by quickly.

Management can lose sight of our mission.
Pros
Large lunchroom, celebrations of life as well as career events
Cons
Management loses sight of the reason we are here
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Life Safety Surveyor (Intermittent) (Current Employee) –  Oakbrook Terrace, ILSeptember 26, 2017
The Best job for my past experience. Very professional. Proactive Training Annual week long Education required. Yellow Belt Certification required.
Pros
The best company I ever worked for
Cons
Travel delays - Air
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is the primary accreditating body for hospitals in the United States
Assistant Director of Administrative Services (Former Employee) –  Oakbrook Terrace, ILSeptember 25, 2017
During my 15 years here, I managed the travel department, the conference center, meeting planning, corporate policy development and records management. It was a diversified responsibility which I enjoyed.

With a staff of 22, we arranged the travel to and from every hospital in the united states and the military hospitals around the world; prepared survey reports for the Board, managed the conference center and conference rooms, ran the file rooms and records retention program, and developed the first Corporate Policy Manual.

.
Pros
Diversified work areas which kept things interesting every day
Cons
The recession caused many job losses.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Accreditation Process Consultant (Former Employee) –  PR hospital and ambulatory health centersAugust 17, 2017
This company is a great company for his culture and the goals who establish during each year In my experience during this time working here I learned ore about this market and his activities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and benefits, not much else to offer for integrity, respect, and overall morale
Executive Director/Administrator (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJune 29, 2017
Many tasks and responsibilities, not enough upper management support and attention to the individualized needs of employees. You must be a great independent thinker and rise to challenges. Be prepared to take the fall for any errors in judgments. The upper management are a click and only "like" those who conform to their way of thinking. No support or backing to those who have difference of opinions.
Pros
Great benefits and pay
Cons
not supported
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work with a ping pong table!
Technical Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Oakbrook Terrace, ILJune 26, 2017
Patient safety is their #1 priority
It is very meaningful work
100% the best benefits ever!!
They offer remote/work from home opportunities
They have a great wellness program and offers many activities to help you stay healthy
Pros
Onsite cafeteria with freshly made food for breakfast and lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Joint Commission. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 58 reviews
528
411
310
26
13

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

2.4InHerSight Score

1.6Personal Development

3.0Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight