The Madison Square Garden Company Employee Reviews

Found 375 reviews matching the search See all 386 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive place to work
Guest Relations Coordinator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 9, 2018
This job enhances your life when it comes to entertainment and how to treat people. It gives you the know how when it comes to great customer service.
Pros
Free lunches, coffee and tickets for games and shows are at discounted prices
Cons
No room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast work paste with no lunch breaks and good team work.
Porter (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 7, 2018
Hard working at a fast paste that has team workers for sweeping and moping the floors. Washing the windows and counter tops. Picking up trash from the floor and taking out the trash.
Pros
Fast working paste and good form of team worrk.
Cons
Part time work with little pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sale associate
Merchandise Worker - Sale Associate (Former Employee) –  4 Pennsylvania Plaza, New York, NY 10001September 30, 2018
working as a merchandiser was easy , but waiting for the warehouse and all that was a bit rush. over all the job its self was great. workers were friendly.
Pros
short breaks
Cons
not enough days to work during the summer time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the most amazing job i ever came across
Cashier/Food Preparation (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 27, 2018
to always be on time, team work makes the dream work. love how every day there was a different place for you to go and learn about. very fast pace envoriment to be on top of your p's and q's.
Pros
you get to see the games while working or hear the concerts.
Cons
leaving so late
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive with a great kitchen crew
Premium Cook - Lvl - 1 (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 2, 2018
LOve this job, but always keeping multiple eggs to place in to keep in my basket. You will never know what is out there unless you keep your name and interests out for others to see what I have to offer.
Pros
Exciting place to be a part of
Cons
a lot of moving parts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dream Job
Merchandise & Event Supervisor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 31, 2018
You go through stress, but it's a fun job. Long hours, not much time off (until summertime) Management is great, always under pressure. Fast pace work environment
Pros
Get to watch the concerts; games
Cons
Don't have an end of shift time; fans can be disrespectful
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical work
Arena Production Assistant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 29, 2018
good work place, good people, working nights for me, many different jobs to work at, in different positions, verity is nice. people are nice and friendly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting workplaces due to the nature of the business
Utility Worker (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 22, 2018
On any given day you never who you may meet in the world of entertainment. It was a wonderful time working for the Garden and seeing the excitement from the fans of different types of entertainment performed.
Pros
Able to see different forms of entertainment being
Cons
Watching the end in of the sports season when they're unable to advance to the next level
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work during the winter
Suites Runner (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, NYAugust 6, 2018
I have worked at MSG for a little over 2 years now I have no major complaints other than I wish there was more working opportunities during the summer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Restroom Attendant/custodian (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 31, 2018
I enjoy working there because there is no pressure You go to do a job.I have met alot of nice people I have also learned alot there Working at MSG has been good
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management - No Perks
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 25, 2018
Unfortunately, this is a cut throat organization. They only look out for the high-level executives....and even they have to watch their backs.

Their promise of openness, respect and trust isn't true. That's just to make you THINK it's what they promote. Work here to gather some experience on your resume, but do not expect to stay.
Pros
Summer Fridays
Cons
Poor upper level management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job to keep
Food Cashier and Prep (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 24, 2018
MSG is a job that you have to intentionally get fired for. For the most part, one can keep the job for as long as they like. Staff is always short because people are always quitting. Managers are hypocrites and enforce rules when they want, but doesn't apply for themselves. Co-workers and other employees are friendly, but lot's of gossip.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Runner
Food Runner (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 19, 2018
The hourly rate is 9ish, which not really good and it as a runner you will be working during events only must of what you make is by tip which must likely will earn 20 like dallars as the top tier but I would say is a good side job but to be your only job. Hmm not a good idea
Pros
In the long run there is good benefits
Cons
Not sustantial pay for living
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Server Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 17, 2018
Loved working there and I miss working there. I wish the location I had worked was year around though. The Madison Club, the Delta Club or the suite's were the place to be.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Made a lot of good friends Throughout the years
Custodial Worker (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 10, 2018
I learned a lot and Showed lot of people how to do things and maintain my job throughout the years
I got to meet a lot of celebrities And basketball player
I’m glad I had that experience in my life
Pros
Get to meet all types of people
Cons
Work is very hard
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
2nd Assistant Treasurer (Current Employee) –  Inglewood, CAJuly 8, 2018
Excellent Company to work for. I have worked there for 5 years and never liked a job more. The work place was clean and the staff is friendly and efficient. The customers are generally very nice and easy to work with. My duties include selling tickets, dealing with will call, balancing all monies collected and interacting with management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Food and Beverage Supervisor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 21, 2018
Okay job just some horrible managers. Typical 6 plus hour shifts. Your call time is way ahead of opening hours so you cant be late. Well organized just some people in charge don't always make the right decisions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment
Staff Services Administrator (Current Employee) –  NYJune 20, 2018
Fun Environment to work at. A lot of work but it can be rewarding at times. You need to be able to think quick on your feet and be able to roll with the punches
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced
FOOD SERVER/CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYJune 14, 2018
The days were really short, on average 5-6 hours. We didn't really have much work in the Summer time due to the knicks and rangers season being over. There wasn't really a hard part of the job, most customers were really happy to see there favorite team play. Management was awesome, they were easy to get along with and helped me learn a lot of extra management work.
Pros
Summer time off to spend time with family.
Cons
Less pay from unemployment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast paced, great atmosphere, competitive, sports based
Merchandise/Cashier (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 13, 2018
I enjoyed my time at the garden. Good place to work in. It has its high moments and low moments but its an good job definitely for young adults starting off in the work field and trying to figure out their careers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Madison Square Garden Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 386 reviews
5163
4122
377
217
17

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.9Culture

Women's ratings

2.7Fairygodboss Score

0%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

50%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss

The Madison Square Garden Company Reviews by Location