The Mark Hotel Employee Reviews

Found 11 reviews matching the search See all 12 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Hotel
Front Office Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 28, 2018
The Mark Hotel has an excellent working enviroment.

If you did not go to hospitality school and want to go. Cut it short and apply for the mark. it will teach all you need to know.
Pros
Excellent working enviroment
Cons
no back office space
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice and friendly workplace
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 10, 2017
From 3;30 pm-11:00pm
Work experiences teach employees about the value -and challenges-of working with others.
Very friendly and nice
Very ,very culture
There is nothing really hard about my job
To getting the job downe
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work spance
In Room Dining Supervisor (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 28, 2017
Although a small hotel, It's a lot of work but the staff makes up it. competitive at times when it comes to positions. High profile hotel. a lot of A list celebrities & diplomats at any given time, Good Management. Hard to grow but still some growth.
Pros
Free Lunch, Clean facilities.
Cons
Sometimes a lack of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good college job
bartender (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 13, 2016
I would come into work and be prepared to jump into anything that was happening. Sometimes the day would start slow other times it could be very fast. This is a top hotel in one of the most wealthiest areas of Manhattan and the clientele expects exceptional service. I learned to multitask, be patient, and also keep a smile on my face. My co-workers are friendly and easy going. The hardest part of this job was the pressure of having guests treat you like you were beneath them because of the service you were in. Knowing that I was still learning and climbing the latter of success I had the privilege to see these successful people and realize what I won't be like when I get there. It's important to stay humble and keep learning. The most enjoyable part of this job was making money and living close enough to walk home.
Pros
Easy money
Cons
Long hours, pressure, rude guests
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Upper East Side was certainly a different kind of place.
BARTENDER New York N.Y (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 21, 2015
My second experience working for Jean-Georges Vongderichten. It was amazing to continue my experience with craft cocktails and the fine atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No fun place, work and more work
Stewart (Former Employee) –  KitchenJune 17, 2015
A day at work would entails washing wares (cups, plates, spoons, etc), washing cooking utensils (pots, frying pans), repacking them to their respective places after washing. The hardest part of the job was collecting the hot used cooking utensils from the cooking area and taking them to wash area.The management team and co-workers was quite okay to work along with.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Learning experience
Server (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 9, 2014
The Mark has a high-end clientele, domestic and international and therefore I was able to engage with customers from all over the world. I learned a lot about wine and cocktail development from the sommeliers. My co-workers and I worked well as a team in order to guarantee guest satisfaction. The clientele is of high demand and therefore requires patience and effective communication skills.
Pros
Incentives
Was this review helpful?Yes 22NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and productive environment
Reservations Sales Agent (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 3, 2013
I received a few hundred calls a day for reserving accommodations
at a high end boutique hotel on the Upper East Side of Manhattan.
I learned to upsale clients to higher categories, such as suites.
My co-workers were great over the years. The hardest part of
the job was keeping the hotel full during slow periods. The
most enjoyable part of the job were the incentive bonuses.
Pros
40 hour work week/Incentive bonuses
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 36No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hotel with great management
Room Service Server (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 28, 2013
• Provide excellent room service to guest, customers and visitors.
• Ensure the cleanliness, tidiness, and pleasing atmosphere in the rooms.
• Check and make provision of toiletries in the bathroom.
• Inspect and ensure the working conditions of electrical equipment’s such as mini fridge, air conditioner, hair dryer, etc. of the rooms.
• Inform the manager about faulty equipment’s, and get it repaired coordinating with the maintenance department.
• Respond promptly to customers' request, and satisfy their demands.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great hotel
Housekeeping Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 16, 2013
beautiful hotel, small hotel that you can alot from. Great co workers. the management was an amazing team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 36No 3Report

Want to know more about The Mark Hotel?

Ask a question

See more The Mark Hotel reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Mark Hotel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 12 reviews
56
45
31
20
10

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
4.4Management
4.2Culture

The Mark Hotel Reviews by Location