The New York Times Employee Reviews

Found 203 reviews matching the search See all 215 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best newspaper
Staff editor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 15, 2019
The New York Times is an outstanding place to work. The pay and benefits are the best in the newspaper industry, and the company offers many opportunities for advancement.
Pros
Professional atmosphere, challenging work, good pay and benefits
Cons
Work hours can be highly erratic and variable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun, efficient workplace
Student Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 15, 2019
The internship was an amazing, hands-on experience. It taught me the necessary lessons of how difficult it really is to be a journalist, but it gave me even more respect for the profession.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best experience ever
Summer Academy, Intern & student (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 9, 2019
This was the best summer of my life. The work was challenging, fun and beyond creative. My mentors were truly my gurus and the whole academy was engaging and helpful in more ways than one. Learned a lot about the world, professionalism and work culture through NYT.
Pros
Free meals, good stipend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transitional period in the company
Accountant II & Senior Accountant (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VANovember 29, 2018
This job was over 9 years ago, so I would not ask me about my experience there. A lot I'm sure has changed. I was there while digital media was taking off, so a lot of newspaper companies were feeling the affects.
Pros
The people
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New York Times
APAC Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Davenport, IANovember 29, 2018
I did not like having to work the phones with all the call center rules and having to rush through calls. I enjoyed data entry, but I did not enjoy the repetition and never getting to work on anything else.
Pros
none
Cons
pay, repetition, call center environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An amazing brand and amazing company
Director, Marketing Capabilities & Operations (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 21, 2018
It was an amazing experience to work for The New York Times. Lots of very smart people and opportunities to learn and grow. One of the few companies that actually enable me to be promoted from within and have a different job each year.
Pros
It's The New York Times
Cons
Digital disruption continues to impact media brands and limits opportunities long term.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Producer/writer/videographer/Editor and host (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 12, 2018
I worked at NYT, website full-time (More than 3 years)

Pros

- great people
- chance to work on great, challenging projects
- award winning
- family atmosphere
- everybody helps each other, at all levels.
- good pay and benefits
- great social place / work life balance
- hard working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Senior Internet Developer (Former Employee) –  Trumbull, CTNovember 12, 2018
A typical day at work: 9 am to 5 pm

What I learned: pl/sql

Management:

Workplace culture:

The hardest part of the job:

The most enjoyable part of the job:
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only freelanced for them.
Author and Writer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 24, 2018
I only freelanced for them once. The editing process was quite lengthy and intense. They paid well, and the article got me a lot of attention from friends and colleagues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great institution.
Photojournalist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 20, 2018
My experience with the New York Times was only positive. It is a great institution and I would work with them again in the future. I only worked with them for a short time but all my experiences were positive.
Pros
Paid on time
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company
Manager (Former Employee) –  Sarasota, FLOctober 11, 2018
Highly respected company, very buttoned up. Guidelines are clear when you're hired and you're expected to be a representation of the company. I was able to advance within the company and given necessary tools to do my job. When asked for additional tools, was usually granted. Great people, like family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a world of change
NEWS DESIGN EDITOR (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 24, 2018
the New York times is undergoing sweeping changes, moving from a print-focused news report to a 24-hour digital report. the change includes a new workflow, a new copy flow, and a new organization throughout the newsroom.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work.
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Pensacola, FLSeptember 14, 2018
It was a telemarketing job that sold the New York Times.
I learned a easy way to sell the paper with selective words.
You only have 10-15 coworkers in your section with one supervisor.
Pros
Made commision
Cons
Rude customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fellowship Summary
Internship (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 30, 2018
As an intern I learned what I could. Management was helpful, but you really had to initiate your own growth. The culture was highly stressful as everybody was working to meet their own deadlines.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission-driven organization with talented colleagues
Graphics/Multimedia Editor (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 29, 2018
If you want to work somewhere where you feel like your work matters and you want to be surrounded by intelligent, talented, hard-working people, then you will love this place. There is a deep passion for reporting and innovation. The place is dedicated to becoming more collaborative throughout and they've done much to improve employee satisfaction in the last few years.

They still need to work on diversity (especially in management) and overall organization of desks and reporting structure and focus on training managers. Overall they seem to be making more strides in this direction.

Regardless, there is no better place to work if you want to work in journalism / media.
Pros
Colleagues, work, free coffee, standing desks, tuition reimbursement
Cons
Management culture, lack of opportunity for raises / promotions, poor communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned the NYT style of writing.
DESIGNATED REPORTER/FOREIGN NEWS ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 17, 2018
I learned at the NYT to throw a press release in the trash can and do your own research on a story or subject. Now years later, I think many journalists don't do enough real reporting and sourcing on their stories.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive,fun place to work.
Sr. AR Credit & Collections Specialist (Current Employee) –  One New York Times Plaza, Flushing, NY 11354August 13, 2018
The company is a great place to work and is always trying to keep up with the times and is very family oriented. When you come to work it is a pleasure.
Pros
Very diversified. Great Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission oriented with brilliant staff
Executive Director (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 28, 2018
The Times is a great place to work with a shared mission throughout the company and really smart, innovative people. More recently they’ve really started to focus on employees and benefits making it a great place to work.
Pros
Good benefits, pro, smart colleagues and management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Technical Manager (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYJuly 12, 2018
It's a good place to work. I learned a lot about publishing industry and circulation. Got opportunity to work with some very talented people. Workplace culture was good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no longer great place to work
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 6, 2018
Company was a Great Place to Work. Over the years it no longer holds that distinction. Mgmt no longer has respect for employees. Took an early retirement.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The New York Times. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 215 reviews
593
463
338
211
110

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

2.7InHerSight Score

2.6Personal Development

2.6Career Opportunities

2.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight