The Original Pancake House Employee Reviews for Cook

Found 11 reviews matching the search See all 279 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Cook (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHSeptember 27, 2019
Working here was ok but I didn’t feel like there was much opportunity for me to grow with this company so I had to look for other places to work where I would be able to move up the ranks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cook (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYSeptember 3, 2019
Loved the fact i got to start early open the restaurant set everything up for the day and for the next day people are very friendly very helpful during the first year i received three rises based on my performance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ehh
Cook (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 29, 2019
I'm not gonna complain too much about this job. It did pay the bills but no advancement opportunities were available. The manager was less than favorable. He knew his job but lacked proper communication skills with employees. I've worked for some disrespectful characters in my past and things like this normally don't bother me but I literally wanted to do harm. Pay was decent considering just cooking breakfast but you can forget about a break, if you can get 10 minutes to yourself on an 8 hour shift, consider yourself lucky.
Pros
Fast paced job
Cons
No advancement or breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome coworkers relaxed environment for the most part
Cook (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDMarch 17, 2019
Worked there for 6yrs. Managment and owners make u feel like family. Good pay advancement for new hires. Very fast paced weekends but weekdays are pretty relaxed
Pros
Hours and pay
Cons
No pay advancement for long term employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to grow
Cook (Former Employee) –  Addison, TXJune 29, 2017
They are a great company with great relationship with the owner and vice president always making sure you are doing your very best and pushing you to be better
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start
Cook (Former Employee) –  Grosse Pointe, MIOctober 11, 2016
It's more of a training restaurant then a career restaurant. No room for advancement. Would be a good place to start if you want to learn how to do basic restaurant cooking
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prep cook
Preparation Cook (Former Employee) –  Orchard Park, NYSeptember 1, 2015
For a restaurant the benefits were absolutely amazing.
The first year isn't anything special. However you can accumulate vaction time picking up a week each year during your first 3 years. For a college student going at night this job would be ideal.
Pros
Free lunch vacation time earnable
Cons
Work hard in a fast paced, hot, and tight quarters kitchen
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehouse stuffy air
Order Cook (Former Employee) –  Weston, FLNovember 6, 2014
It was a good job pay wasn't great. But ok for a second job. Stuffy air.
Pros
Great people. Easy work Learned alot. Second job
Cons
Didnt understand Creol very well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic resturant opportunity
Cook (Former Employee) –  Palm Beach Gardens, FLJanuary 29, 2014
Not really worth the pay to much problems not enough solutions
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get your job done and go home.
Cook (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, MINovember 12, 2012
A typical day of work at the Original Pancake House is a very daunting task. Overworked and Underpaid. Management seems not to care what happens between fellow co-workers. Only goal they have is to flip tables. Servers can get a bit nasty when things happen that might set their ticket back, things do happen. The hardest part of my job is dealing with Co-Workers, whether they dont feel like being there, or still partying from the night before, or they are having a bad day and decide to take it out on others. The most enjoyable part is leaving, clocking out for the day and going home.
Pros
free lunch, free coffee
Cons
one break, non negotiable work schedules
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

See more The Original Pancake House reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Original Pancake House. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 279 reviews
593
469
356
234
127

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture

The Original Pancake House Reviews by Location