The Pep Boys - Manny, Moe & Jack Employee Reviews

Found 1,879 reviews matching the search See all 1,883 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at work
RETAIL SALES MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJuly 17, 2018
I left company during reorganization, company reduce management staff in cost cutting move. Six months later company was sold. The company continues to make cost cutting moves, staffing inside store to kept to a minimal hours, focus on core service business
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Staffing Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Straight forward about business at all times. No problems long as you are working
Unloader stocker and puller (Former Employee) –  Mesquite, TXJuly 17, 2018
I love the jobe but the hours wasn't the best at the time. Fun happy people to work with and conversat with , at Pep Boys. I left but its so much other thing to do there like trash man or being a tire man. You have to be ready to work on time every work day maybe even weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Review
Assistant Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Moreno Valley, CAJuly 17, 2018
I love the people I work beside. They are my family
Great people attract great people
I love having the freedom to experiment and fail, and still support my actions
We have been asked for an opinion on a regular basis, and we are allowed to speak our mind without fear
I love being a part of something larger that makes a difference. I love that everyone cares and that you have flexibility when needed
I love the variety. Every day is different and I get to interact with such a varied groups/people. It means I am always learning
I love that my job challenges me every day in different ways
The people at this company are a pleasure to work with and make it enjoyable to come to work
We all work hard and are recognized for doing so
My co-workers and management team are social, knowledgeable and caring
I am learning all the time, from the best people
I have the freedom to think outside the box and have all thoughts considered
I am allowed to grow and show my potential
I am able to use my skills and knowledge as well as push myself in areas that I am unsure of myself
Pros
Good Hours
Cons
Long Days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun enviroment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Redondo Beach, CAJuly 16, 2018
knowing about car parts was fun, my employees were the best, they mades me feel welcomed and feeling comfortable to work there. the customer there , some were really rude but it wouldn't bother me because like I mention my co workers would always make me laugh
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate run stores which performed will using consistent direction.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 16, 2018
Corporate run stores which performed will using consistent direction. Clear expectations of all employees were given. Workplace environment was typically positive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be Better
Commercial and Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Winchester, VAJuly 16, 2018
Workplace is great environment to be, management has been improper at best and anyone that gets hired quits after a few weeks, or else they get fired.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part Time Employee
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Harvey, LAJuly 15, 2018
Working for Pep Boys was a rewarding job and only left due to being reassigned by the military. I started working as basic mechanic, and was moved to automotive sales were i worked for commission.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not sure how it is now
General Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAJuly 13, 2018
I'm not to sure how the environment is now, when I left in 2015 it was a fun relaxed environment only thing was business was too slow so we were often left dragging the day along just to make our 8 hours. however management was top notch understandable and easy to get along with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Verona, NJ 07044July 13, 2018
You won't last long there because you will burn out quickly. They hate employees and do not treat them like humans, they treat them like animals. A typical day at work, open the till,check customer comlaints, get a call from district manager and get threatened to loose your job if you don't tow the line. The hardest part of the job is trying not to quit that day.Believe me you will hate it here.
Pros
None
Cons
Everthing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager is a joke
General Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Tamarac, FL 33319July 12, 2018
Manager is one of the laziest people in the entire store. Will come into work when he feels like it and just causes a stressful environment for everyone when he is there. Acts like a child 90% of the time and the other 10% he acts like a hardass for no reason.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old management was a joke and the work load was passed on to other employees
Inventory Manager (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, NHJuly 9, 2018
In terms of working experience Pep Boys was a fun place to work and I enjoyed working with the people I worked with same cannot be said for management since my employment has an issue management has changed and I have no doubt that it would be for the better of management remain the same place is fun management will be willing to work with you now instead of against you and will help you to complete any and all tasks instead of dumping all tasks on to other employees would recommend for somebody who is looking to work as much overtime as needed and is not afraid to work long nights early or long days well for the most part everyone can get along
Pros
Amazing PTO
Cons
Long hours old magangement was a joke
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and a great workplace for learning
Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Woodbridge, VAJuly 8, 2018
When started I had no car experience or knowledge, but the staff were kind and patience to teach those details about the job and the mechanics and techs were friendly to show the use and the details about any vehicle.
Pros
Good place for car learning
Cons
Short breaks sometimes no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back job, management was good, understanding
Warehouse Associate/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAJuly 8, 2018
Left for personal reasons, just was laid back, easy work, management was fair, work was easy and hours were fair.... location was exceptional from where I live
Pros
Good management
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Store manger (Former Employee) –  Apopka, FLJuly 5, 2018
Overall it wasn’t a bad company to work for. As a store manager you will responsible for every line of business in the store. Area director was a pretty nice guy and not bad to report to
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Here is a summary of my experience at Pep Boys/Auto Plus
Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHJuly 4, 2018
Pep Boys/Auto Plus has presented opportunities that are unique to the Automotive world. Starting with the Service area, this was a way to view another aspect of achieving Customer Satisfaction. With my background in Commercial Sales, I have been able to present Pep Boys/Auto Plus to Customers who would only deal with established Commercial parts distributors such as NAPA, KOI (Federated/Fishers), or Smyth Automotive (Parts Plus).
Pros
Positive working environment. Advancement potential.
Cons
Regional locations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At one time it was a fun place to work
Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Wilkes-Barre, PAJuly 4, 2018
It was a fun place to work at one time everyone got along went to lunch built some strong relationships,a management change changed that you became a slave to your job management treated you like dirt.
Pros
fair wage and benefits
Cons
dogie dog
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overworked
Shift Leader/Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYJuly 4, 2018
the personal is great the pay is low but the learning expiriance is at fast pace
Start of the day cash and safe count bathroom cleanup and set up store for truck receiving
keep employement schedules up to day
and look at setup inventory counts
open store for other employee to come in early put in cash register and count
take care of coustumers
fix inventory wall
and setup newstock
off load truck with pallet jacks
Pros
good friends for life
Cons
pay for leads is way to low only 10.50 per hr 12.50 after yr
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working with people I work with at the store.
Store Manager of Parts (Current Employee) –  City Industry, CAJune 30, 2018
You get to work with people that help you deal with day to day business. You meet great customers that make you enjoy what you do and we are people taking care of people. Train and develop your store associates so they can become better.
Pros
Co works, customers, store environment
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Corporate Culture
Product Manager (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJune 29, 2018
This company has been around a long time and sometimes upper management get blinded by this and does not necessarily embrace new ideas. A CEO revolving door,
Pros
Good pay & benefits; comfortable surroundings.
Cons
Lack of focus; lots of left and right turns.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work
Inventory Manager (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TX 79912June 29, 2018
Poor management and hostile environment. Management does not care about the hostility and never assume responsibility. Very unorganized and just a filthy place to work at.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Pep Boys - Manny, Moe & Jack. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 1,883 reviews
5360
4510
3592
2204
1217

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture

Diversity score

76out of 100

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at The Pep Boys - Manny, Moe & Jack.

Powered by Comparably