The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey

The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey Employee Reviews

Found 191 reviews matching the search See all 194 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9/10 experience
Intern to Real Estate Services (Former Employee) –  Jersey City, NJNovember 2, 2018
Really wonderful people, really could just use a younger staff. Days are great, non-stress inducing environment. Food in the area is great, general area is great to be around. Commuting can be a bit tough.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 2, 2018
Challenging and rewarding place to work. Allows you the opportunity to grow in your career and get experience in different disciplines. Would definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Security
Supervising Office Assistant - Engineering (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 31, 2018
Opportunity to meet wonderful people, advancing your career by going back to school based upon your area and department. Working at different offices within the tri-state. Being able to switch from one field to another.

Working with people from all walks of life, with different cultural background.

Family oriented
Pros
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for opportunities
Summer Intern - SEMAC (Former Employee) –  Jersey City, NJOctober 8, 2018
Inventory control
management skills
travel from one location to another
always on the going to different facilities
meeting new people
the hardest part of my internship was keeping track of the vast amount of tools port authority uses.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work, good people
Sr. Program Manager (Former Employee) –  4 WTC, NYSeptember 19, 2018
The Port Authority of NJ & NY offers a professional environment and a culture that cares immensely about its facilities and its custoomers - the travelling public.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prejudice
Lot Attendant (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYSeptember 15, 2018
The worst feeling in the world is when you walk into a new workplace and noone was born in America, it makes it very difficult to communicate with fellow employees.Also sadly things end up getting segregated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
accounting (Current Employee) –  Jersey City, NJSeptember 14, 2018
It is a really good place to work but as a government agency they cannot keep up with the rest of the world. Lots of manual and paper-based work and the mentality may be a little old school. Great work/life balance and never have to work overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great career choice
Contract Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 12, 2018
I worked for The Port Authority for 32years, and advanced from a maintenance worker to a mid-level supervisor. It was an incredible experience, and I will always be grateful for it. I was able to raise a family, own a home and send my children to college, as well as provide me with a good salary and excellent medical benefits. That being said, at times it was a frustrating, petty, tyrannical and political organization. No raises for over 10 years!
Pros
Benefits, career advancement, interesting jobs.
Cons
Management, contracts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
General maintainer (Former Employee) –  Jamaica, NYSeptember 2, 2018
I don't have any review remarks at this point. It was a company I work for. I enjoyed the workplace atmostphere, gave it 110% everytime. Lots of opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
place is bad
Computer Operator (Current Employee) –  Staten Island, NYAugust 11, 2018
the place is a joke ancient technology many unskilled employees. Just robots. Never been around so many uneducated people all at once. Its a wonder they are not outsourced altogether yet.
Pros
none
Cons
where do i start stay far away from this place
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Evolving Culture
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  New YorkAugust 10, 2018
A typical day at the Port Authority is filled with enrichment. The organization is always looking to enhance and improve for the betterment of patrons that uses its facilities daily. I learned a lot about adapting to change and coming up with ideas for improvement which was quite enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Jamaica, NYJuly 31, 2018
Great place to work.

Although I am contracted, I hear they have great benefits, wonderful perks and tremendous growth opportunities.

Everyone here is very caring and a pleasure to work with.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Starting salaries are low
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Complex
Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 31, 2018
The Chief Executives are the New York and New Jersey Governors with inherent conflicting motivations. The staff are dedicated servants to the mission.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productived and fun
sales associate (Current Employee) –  LaGuardia Airport, NYJuly 25, 2018
working under a contract with port authority is a great start to start your career and really great for your reume.
working with them was always adream for me,
Pros
breaks
Cons
no pension
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace you get to meet a lot people from different culture
Porter (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 15, 2018
I'm a on call employee I wish i had a permanent position . I like my job and what I do . I will stay working there until i can become a permanent employee and the pay is good they look out for their employee
Pros
Paid for your full 8 hrs
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Safe Place to Work
Document Control Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJJune 6, 2018
Career does not progress, no raises or growth. People show up everyday for 20 years to collect their pension. Very relaxed environment,work days dragged on.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great agency with a great opportunity for advancement
Sanitation Supervisor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 2, 2018
Terrific supervision and workers, room for advancement throughout the agency along with training for various positions. Safety and customer service is required throughout
Pros
retirement and health care
Cons
working holidays weekends and mid nights but you knew this when you were hired so it was expected
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work If You Don't Care About Accomplishing Anything
Supervising Engineer (Current Employee) –  Jersey City, NYMay 24, 2018
If you don't have a problem being a hamster in a wheel, the Port Authority is a great place to work. If you want to make a difference, be innovative, and fairly compensated, you may end up being miserable.
Pros
Work/Life Balance, Pension, Job Security
Cons
Senior Management, Human Resources, Healthcare Costs
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly recommended to other engineers
EIC/Lead Inspector (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 23, 2018
It's a good company to work with and have a challenging task on every trades which give an opportunity to learn and have understanding while on the process of working them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing projects and properties; frustrating bureaucracy and politics
Project Manager, World Trade Center Retail Project (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 12, 2018
Staff in general are helpful, productive and want to help build big and impactful projects. However, the politics of bureaucracy stifles creativity in an effort to be safe. Being a public agency creates administrative obstacles and staff is not empowered to make quick work-a-day decisions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 194 reviews
586
466
329
26
17

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

2.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight