The Provident Bank of New Jersey Employee Reviews for Teller

Found 23 reviews matching the search See all 98 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Teller/Platform (Former Employee) –  Piscataway, NJAugust 15, 2018
When I worked at Provident, everything was very pleasant. You knew all the customers by names and it was a friendly environment, You were able to transfer if you decided, hrs were fantastic.
Pros
flexible hrs, customer service was great
Cons
no cons.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very bad atmosphere
Teller (Former Employee) –  njMarch 30, 2018
if you want to be treated like dirt work here. clique management team that was impossible to approach and deal with. they use lies to sweep their behavior under the rug
Pros
none
Cons
no advancement and cut throat atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced and keeps you busy. fun to work
Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  Milltown, NJAugust 16, 2017
Typical day at work would be accepting deposits, withdrawals, counting my drawer money.

I learned how to communicate with the customer. Build customer's trust with the bank.

Every part of the job was enjoyable. The coworkers were very friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on branch
Teller (Current Employee) –  Jersey City, NJMay 16, 2017
different branches work differently. but not a bad company. good for young students who are still going to school...wouldnt make this a longterm career choice, even though you tend to get comfortable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provident Bank
Teller Platform (Former Employee) –  South River, NJJanuary 28, 2016
It was hard to become structured when we switched managers every 3 months. There was no real balance. Besides Management issues working for Provident was a great experience, it opened doors for me in different professions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work, a family like environment
Full Time Teller - Designated Teller Trainer (Former Employee) –  teaneck, nj 07666August 8, 2015
I loved working for this company. My manager was extremely accommodating. This company strives for its employees and wants to see them succeed. Many opportunities to move up or around as desired. The only reason I left was because I moved out of New Jersey, and Provident Bank is located in New Jersey only.

I would recommend The Provident Bank to anyone looking in New Jersey.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Teller/Platform (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 8, 2015
a typical day at work open branch count vault turn of Alarms .I learn how to work with Customers in a fast Environment. the most enjoyable part of the job was working with my code workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
banking and customer servce
Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  Jersey City, NJJanuary 31, 2015
Working at provident bank is fun, they train you and they are patient, they all work as a team and you will continue to learn things every day. meeting customers and providing them service is an every day taks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good to branch employees
Teller (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge NJJanuary 11, 2015
Saw a lot of good hard working people lose their jobs because all the bank cares about is meeting sales goals Even though people try their hardest that was never good enough I will never ever associate with that bank or recommend it to anyone who wants job security Management in branches are great but upper management are another story Heartless and do not care about their employees But are scared of the ones who threaten them with lawsuits
Pros
Co - workers nice to work with
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this place!!!
Teller (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, NJNovember 19, 2014
Loved everything about this place. My co-workers were great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
❸ Bank teller (Current Employee) –  Hoboken, NJSeptember 29, 2014
Provident Bank is a great company. There is a lot of room for growth and upward progression within the ranks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place, with growth potential, and great coworkers.
Bank Teller I (Former Employee) –  NJAugust 19, 2014
A wonderful company that has diversity and growth potential.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviroment
Commercial Teller (Former Employee) –  New JerseyJuly 16, 2014
My branch was a busy one, but kept me busy and my day went by quick.
I was on the business window. I just took care of business customers. I helped them with cash, check, coins, orders.
I also took in their daily transactions.
Pros
When it was a busy day the manager brought us lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very good job.
FT Bank Teller I (Former Employee) –  Perth Amboy, NJMay 5, 2014
The employees weren't very welcoming to me when I worked there. The manager did her best to maintain a comfortable work environment. There was not a ton of energy at this job.
Pros
Long breaks, good pay.
Cons
Employee interaction
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place/Good luck
Former Teller/Platform (Former Employee) –  DunellenApril 26, 2014
Get ready to do your job and someone elses, management is not helpful, not a teamwork environment, very stressful, can barely talk or laugh with employees. Management is not trust worthy and do not follow policy and procedures, Your on your own. If someone gave me the heads up regarding Provident, I would have never applied.
Pros
What you make of it.
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bank teller
Teller (Former Employee) –  Parsippany, NJOctober 4, 2013
1. Teller activities
2. Greet and advise bank clients on opening new accounts, account questions and general banking activities
3. Assist customer queries over phone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teller
Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  Monroe Township NJJune 15, 2013
A typical day at work considered of opening my cash drawer and starting my computer.

I would count money, decide what holds were put on checks, do cash advances, deposit and w/d money for customers,
Also cut money orders and checks.
Cross sell our product to different customers. Also would let customers into the safety deposit boxes.'


Help our customers feel comfortable and safe in our brance.

Sometimes I would prove out the ATM.

At the end of the day I was expected to prove my cash drawer to the penny and help prove the branch.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Unfortunately I got held up once, with a gun to my head.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring work place.
Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, NJMay 17, 2013
Not productive and not a good place to work. Want to much out of you and never give you anything in return. I will never ever ever recommed anyone to the provident bank.
Pros
manager wasnt good.
Cons
provident never care for their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is okay
Teller (Current Employee) –  Bloomfield, NJJanuary 14, 2013
overall work is not too difficult. main problem is that not a lot of advancement occurs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers are what help you to get through the day.
Bank Teller (Current Employee) –  Jersey City, NJSeptember 29, 2012
A very stressful work environment with more focus on sales instead of customer service. It is very hard to advance and the management is not very hands on. My co-workers however are very cooperative and fun to work with.
Pros
flexibility with work schedule.
Cons
long days with no breaks, poor healthcare, low pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Provident Bank of New Jersey. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 98 reviews
530
433
322
26
17

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

The Provident Bank of New Jersey Reviews by Location