The Quikrete Companies Employee Reviews

Found 166 reviews matching the search See all 173 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incompetent, zero clue
Driver (Current Employee) –  Harrison, OHAugust 31, 2018
Management is clueless. Always sitting and waiting on product because they would rather place a bandaid on the machine then fix it properly. Dispatch manager is a joke. Very poor scheduling, thinks she's in high school. Rumors, telling other people's business.
Pros
A pay check if you can put up with the b.s., coworkers
Cons
Benefits are expensive, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady Work, Good Environment
Production Employee (Former Employee) –  Elburn, ILAugust 19, 2018
Production Employees are solid. Culture is pretty good. Managers need to work together. Hours are long but good OT opportunities. Training can be better for new employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dump trailer driver
Dump Trailer Driver (Current Employee) –  Apopka, FLAugust 4, 2018
I started in Dec. 0 17 i enjoy working here no major issues. The drivers here are real cool guys (Nuts) that's what i really meant. We help each other we actually work as a team sure its not perfect but who and what is. Management open door policy great IF there's an issue it'll be addressed. Co workers office 👍.
Pros
Other than parking.. All good
Cons
Truck parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low employee morale
Accounts Receivable Clerk (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKAugust 2, 2018
I would not recommend a job at this place to anyone. The work is ok, but the extra curriculars that go on in the office are ridiculous. The pay and raises are terrible. The company treats employees like numbers, not family.
Pros
It's a job
Cons
Short lunches, no overtime allowed, low pay raises, favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quikrete is not a job for someone that has a family to feed
Q Line Operator (Current Employee) –  Berlin, NJJuly 24, 2018
The management at this place sucks. You can work your tail off and produce and it all goes unappreciated. The second shift supervisor drinks and snorts line during the shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Pensacola, FLJuly 22, 2018
They really do not pay enough for the level of production you must maintain. A lot of people leave because they can not afford to feed their families.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMJuly 18, 2018
Great work environment, very structured, good training and supervisors and management they are all hands on if somethings down we all would pitch in to cover one another.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quikrete
NORTHEAST/MIDWEST REGIONAL SALES MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Northeast and the MidwestJuly 8, 2018
Cares nothing about its employees and even less about its customers. Traveled a LOT. Pay was pathetic. Closed our division and switched our plant into a bag goods plant to make more profit. Quiktrete is Capitalism, which I believe in, at it's worse.
Pros
autonomy
Cons
does not care about employees or customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work
Machine Operator/Packer (Former Employee) –  Pekin, ILJuly 7, 2018
Started at 6am day ended at 6 pm it was a dirty job but was very fun communication was great everybody talked very well and made good money for a temp. Job learned a lot in the time i was there
Pros
Communication learning traits great hours
Cons
Dirty
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont work here!!!
Driver (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 6, 2018
If you are a hourly paid driver there is no overtime pay. They want you to work 10 plus hours a day 5 days a week.
You are constantly waiting on product to get loaded onto your trailer. The new management has no experience.
Pros
Free concrete
Cons
Pay is not good. None of the employees are respected..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great place to grow with
Manager (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 26, 2018
Every position has pros and cons...even if you're a business owner. Flexibility, communication, debates...that's what I enjoy about working for Quikrete. I feel the pressure of providing solid customer service when not everything is how I wish it to be and then I see my co-workers doing their best also. I think it's a great place to work and I appreciate the efforts I see my team and my co-workers put forth each and every day.
Pros
Atmosphere, team effort
Cons
Need more teamwork between plants
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This location only
Driver (Current Employee) –  Harahan, LAJune 23, 2018
Other locations are different, but the local Quickrete is not very employee friendly. The hours are extensive, very little teamwork, and management is more concerned with their own bonus than keeping drivers safe.
Pros
benefits improved recently
Cons
start at early morning hours, end late hours in evening
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Pounding Mill, VAJune 22, 2018
It was really hard work but had a lot of fun working there.

Learned production of concrete.

The managers were really great.

The culture was do your job help out your fellow co-worker. But it was a light hearted atmosphere.

The hardest part of the job was the Palletizer. You would sling 80 lbs bags of concrete for up to 2 to 3 hrs. Then rotate to one of three other jobs, Bagger, Fork lift, Burn station.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the co-workers and the atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of leadership and structure
Production Worker (Bagger) (Former Employee) –  Raywood, TXJune 13, 2018
I worked at Quickrete for almost a year and they have very poor work conditions and structure. The machines the production line repeatedly break down every 3-4 hours because when they have maintenance go to fix them they have them just put a bandaide on it to get it up and running. There is no kind of work structure or any form of leadership there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Company
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXJune 4, 2018
This company is a very hostel company to work for. The lack of management support an training is very high. A lot of responsibility for little pay. Poor benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Driver (Current Employee) –  Sun Valley, CAMay 29, 2018
Staff is great, a lot of work, they keep you busy thru out the year which is a big plus for me. I would recommend anybody to come and join quikrete in a heart beat.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Walker, MIMay 27, 2018
Great job to have. Mangers and co workers are great and respectful .. Its a hands on job stacking cement so you will be tired after your first week after that it gets easier..
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay now with new pay scale.
Truck Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  Tucson, AZMay 18, 2018
Quikrete just introduced new pay scale which means guys who dont goof off make $25-$30 an hour.
That's enough to put up with not the greatest equipment and maintenance issues. Overall a great company.
Pros
New incentive based pay
Cons
Old equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All around a nice laid back type of job
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMay 15, 2018
Good job. Nice environment. Nice place to learn something new. A lot of great and friendly people there that all just are trying to get a job done. Not too fast paced but it can be at times
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Late shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do it
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Tacoma, WAMay 5, 2018
Long hours, they show favoritism to other workers, some do more work then others it's not evenly matched out with all workers!!!!!! Also it's hot and dirty.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Quikrete Companies. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 173 reviews
548
445
337
216
127

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.1Culture