The Rockefeller University Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A special Place to work
Program Coordinator, PMP Research Support (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 27, 2017
I have been very fortunate to work here, many perks and a warm, inviting atmosphere filled with knowledge and creativity. Have to be determined to make your own way through the organization and advance your professional career.
Pros
Lectures, concerts, health programs, employee recognition event
Cons
salary not competitive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for benefits
Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 26, 2017
The workplace culture can be improved. Not too much room for advancement. Great place to learn about medical advancement. Management is ok with dealing with family issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but competitive internship
Research intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 20, 2017
My internships at Rockefeller University (LAB-ASP, SSRP) were of the best experiences I have ever had. The spots were very limited, but once you get in, you can choose what kind of research you want to do. The mentors are amazing scientists and people. Everybody works hard, and when we got a break, we'd play hard! Amazing opportunity for high school students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Lab Technician (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 29, 2017
The work itself is very basic and easy to comprehend and perform. Limited space for growth.
Nice working environment and nice fellow employers.
Great benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Knowledgeable.
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 4, 2017
At Rockefeller University, I volunteered for Rockedu where we invite underserved schools in New York to bring in their students and let them experience an advanced Science Lab scenario. We help them carry out different experiment depending on their grade level in their respective school. As a volunteer, my responsibility is to help the students perform the experiment and to answer any of their questions.
Pros
Free Lunch, Fun with Kids
Cons
It was a volunteer opportunity, so no cons.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work/life balance
Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 8, 2017
Obviously, it's up to you. Nice and pleasant people to work with. Heavily research driven, less by process and procedure. Very academically inclined.
Pros
Excellent Work/Life Balance
Cons
Political nature of some roles
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to do research.
Research Assistant in Heintz (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 15, 2017
The Rockefeller University is a wonderful place to do research. The working environment is very friendly and professional. I learned some new techniques while I worked there, for example, the NGS.
Pros
Smart PI and Co workers, Advanced equipments and best lab supplies.
Cons
Commuter takes to long to get there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An intellectually stimulating place to work
Assistant Director (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 10, 2017
Premiere academic research setting with award winning scientists. The faculty are leaders in their field and intellectually stimulating to interact with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a very nice place to work
Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  1230 York ave Manhattanin New YorkMarch 29, 2017
I realy like work for Rockefeller University I've been there for 25 years and unfortunately the lamp that I was working for at no more funds so therefore I am unemployed
Pros
Healthcare and vacation
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cutting edge research
Grants & Finance Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 9, 2017
The Rockefeller University is a wonderful and exiting place to work. The university sits on a beautiful campus on the east side of New York City, and it is home to some of the best biomedical researchers worldwide.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and room for advancements
Animal Care Technician (Former Employee) –  1230 york ave new york nyFebruary 11, 2017
Professional environment. Training programs available. Experience working at R.U. was life changing. Very positive. Earning certificates while working.
Pros
Has a great health benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unnecessary testing, animals made to suffer terribly!!!
Animal lover. (Former Employee) –  NonJanuary 18, 2017
It's is proven that there are alternate and even more highly effective ways to test. They are more cost effective and prevent innocent animals from being torchered and forced to endure unnecessary daily suffering.
Pros
Non
Cons
Contribute to the unnecessary pain & suffering to innocent animals.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great scientific community
Postdoctoral Associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 18, 2017
It's a wonderful place to conduct academic research. Many world renown scientists are present on campus, top scientist regularly visit the campus to give seminars, better-than-average compensation for postdocs compared to other academic institutions.
Pros
Excellent Science, good benefits
Cons
Lower salary compared to industry (but it's not just at Rockefeller)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working at Rockefeller
Senior Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 17, 2017
Rockefeller is a great employer, and a great center for learning. The benefits are wonderful, and the people are very friendly and helpful. This is the one of the best places for work and research in NY.
Pros
Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 15, 2016
COuld go to long hours often
Managing multiple projects at a time
I got lucky with a very cooperative and kind research group
Social aspect lacking slightly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYNovember 6, 2016
My time spent at Rockefeller University was an eye-opening experience into research. It helped me to learn about book binding and journals. I got along well with my colleagues and supervisors. The atmosphere was relaxed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice working environment with great benefit
Bioinformatic Specialist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 8, 2016
Beautiful Campus, friendly employees, very efficient compare to other larger institution or university.
Great health benefit and day care inside of the campus
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment,good management & friendly co workers.
Receptionist/ Data Entry Support (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 30, 2015
Friendly work place which dealt with accurate submissions of data entry.Part of a huge campus with constant interactions with all departments, staff,management.My co workers & supervisor taught me many aspects of this industry. Dealt with deadlines,many duties to perform on a daily basis.
Pros
Friendly atmosphere, good compensation.
Cons
Far from train
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing culture you will always love!
Facility Operations Supervisor CBC (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 13, 2015
There is an amazing community behind those gates from 68th to 63rd street!

I had the pleasure of working with some of the greatest minds from all departments.

It truly was an amazing experience that I hope other can experience and share.
Pros
Can't wait to see the new expansion to the campus!
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful Campus with Great People!
Medical Staff Services Coordinator (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 13, 2015
The beautiful private campus makes you forget you're in the middle of Manhattan.
I am also surrounded by some of the most brilliant minds in science today.
My boss is the most hard working person I have ever met and is absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Rockefeller University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 54 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
4.1
Management
4.4
Culture
4.4

The Rockefeller University Reviews by Location