The Salvation Army Employee Reviews

Found 8,443 reviews matching the search See all 11,167 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work with horrible management
Lead Clerk (Former Employee) –  Christiansburg, VAJune 15, 2019
The job itself is great, it's the best job i've ever heard. The management although is the worst management ever. They side with who they like, who listens to what they want. As they gave me the lead position they also wouldn't let me lead and do my job duties they just did what they wanted. HR is amazing though. In the offices of The Salvation Army. As well as the Social Service Worker.
Pros
The Work Enviornment
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my job at Salvation Army
Game Room Supervisor (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJune 15, 2019
I enjoy my coworkers they’re like family.Its a productive, organized, and safe environment to work at. I would recommend Salvation Army for employment as well as personal needs (food pantry, donations, utility help etc)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great customers and co workers
Manager on Duty (Current Employee) –  Fridley, MNJune 15, 2019
they treat their employees bad overwork them low pay there is no job security there. the higher up people take from the store and put all the work on the lower rank employees, i loved the customers and co workers but that is all i can say good about salvation army
Pros
co workers
Cons
poor treatment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned a lot
Dock Worker (Former Employee) –  Utica, MIJune 15, 2019
Although this job does not pay well, I had good time working here. Working on the dock with other employees enriched my teamwork ability. Certain times we needed to improvise to manage a work problem and it was important to learn how to manage problems that are not in the book.
Pros
Cool people to work with, the job keeps you in shape
Cons
low salary, harsh working conditions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Indeed required this
Seasonal Employee (Former Employee) –  Santa Fe, NMJune 15, 2019
I was a Bell Ringer this past Christmas season. You have to like being outside for the day. Fun meeting all the shoppers. Below average hourly pay but ok for extra money.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its ok and its a job for now but there is no room for advancement or any room for a raise. They never offer any overtime.
Dock Worker (Current Employee) –  Hartford, CTJune 15, 2019
The job would be a great place to work for if the actually took care of there employees that worked hard for them daynin and day out. I been there for 2 years not once got a raise and maybe ywice ever got any overtime. Just how they treat you is wrong is wrongnin my eyes as a employee there.
Cons
No raise or any overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a mentor for summer camp
Mentor (Former Employee) –  Middle River, MDJune 13, 2019
Was a fun experience with the kids and the trips we took. Just watched them taught them and had fun with them. For summer camp was one of the best jobs if it paid good
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Programs that serve the poor, disabled, and elderly and quite often poorly managed, this program was no exception
Student/Externship (Former Employee) –  Canton, OHJune 13, 2019
Thank goodness for the volunteers, the paid staff were poorly managed. Too many programs that deal in the areas of Social Services generally are. The resources may have been low which may have had an effect on the lack of organization
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the atmosphere
Head Cashier (Current Employee) –  Wilkes-Barre, PAJune 12, 2019
I love my job just need two at the moment the Salvation Army does a lot to help the less fortunate.The Salvation Army is a rehabilitation center that helps people get their life back in order .
Pros
Love the people
Cons
Not enough pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good to start somewhere
Bell Ringer (Former Employee) –  Palm Bay, FLJune 12, 2019
helping families and other made me feel happy when I did this job. This may been a part time job but its time to look for something more to expand on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfairecwork eviorment
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Saginaw, MIJune 12, 2019
I did not like working there they were unfair when it come to hours some people family would get better hours , they only help family and , there wa ex never any time for as break they work u very hard for a lil bit of money
I would not recomand working for this company unless they change management. 8
Pros
Nice customers
Cons
No work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad experience
Production Driver (Former Employee) –  New YorkJune 12, 2019
Previous supervisor assaulted me and also a other lead person that was in charge of another location was trying to discriminize against me about my hair because I have dreads
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great ministry for developing relationships
Social Worker, Chaplain, Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJune 12, 2019
While I served as an administrator I was motivated by the clients we served and the relationships that I developed. I loved my clients and found them to be open to God when treated with the respect that they deserved.
Pros
Free Lunch/Parking paid downtown
Cons
Could be exhausting when clients were self destructive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work for
Intake Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Brockton, MAJune 12, 2019
Great place to work at if you don't care about making money. Can be stressful at times but mainly because you become invested in the clients & the purpose of the work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Humbling experience
Assistant Director (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTJune 12, 2019
I interacted with lots of different people everyday. I was able to help a lot of them so the job was very satisfying. There were good and bad days like any job, I loved my coworkers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Welcome Center Associate (Former Employee) –  Ashland, OHJune 11, 2019
This job was only 15 hours a week, greeting cleints, answering phones, very easy work. I would recommend it if you're looking to supplement your income.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Store Associate (Current Employee) –  Sheboygan, WIJune 11, 2019
Getting to know all the customers is very rewarding. Typical work day includes running the register, pricing and putting away clothes and pricing hard good donations
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work
Administrative Secretary/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Ft. Worth, TXJune 11, 2019
Receptionist, greeting individuals who lived there
How to rent apartments to low-income tenants
Excellent Manager (No longer there)
Fast- paced
Speaking to the tenants
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful
Security Monitor (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 11, 2019
Very helpful, compassionate, caring, grateful to work for this company even though it was for a short time, I still love the experience of working for this company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serious
Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Mount Clemens, MIJune 11, 2019
Check in and do rounds.
I learned improved interpersonal communication skills.
Poor management.
Challenged workplace culture.
The hardest part of the job was working the midnight schedule.
The enjoyable part of the job was being of benefit to the Harbor Light clients.
Pros
Free lunches sometimes
Cons
The midnight shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Salvation Army. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 11,167 reviews
54.8K
43K
32.1K
2637
1628

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.4Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

2.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight