The Salvation Army Employee Reviews

Found 7,697 reviews matching the search See all 10,083 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Security Guard/Group Leader (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 21, 2019
This is an environment in which things are charging constantly. Unfortunately, when working with people staff are easily uncomfortable when new employees arrive and are not welcoming.
Pros
lunch
Cons
insecure co workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff is good but management sucks
After School Teacher (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXMarch 21, 2019
Pay hardly ever increased. No benefits, if you do more than 5 hours a day the management people get mad. They want you to do everything for them but don’t want to pay you for it. Greedy management
Pros
Being able to help kids
Cons
No benefits, pay doesn’t increase, poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe workplace
Youth Development Professional (Current Employee) –  Irving, TXMarch 20, 2019
A typical day at work is mostly set up by planning. Once shift begins at 1:00pm is planning the day for the kids until 3:00pm. At 3:00pm is the arrival of kids and from then until 6:30pm we help with homework and do some fun activities.
Pros
work with school schedule
Cons
poor management, poor communication, unreliable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager very rude to customers and caused a lot of drama between employees
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Glens Falls, NYMarch 20, 2019
Your not paid enough for the work/stress they expect. They say you are- but your not appreciated- higher ups are never happy. Not run like a Christian organization..
Pros
Customers
Cons
See above smh
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Rentals and Sales Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMarch 20, 2019
Rewarding Spiritual place to work. Job consisted of planning parties and events. Managers at the time of my employment were great to work with. I would recommend this job to anyone looking for a similar position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team blame for ones mistakes
Elev8 Day Camp Assistant / Recreation Leader (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAMarch 20, 2019
Teams are blamed for a certain weak member that doesn't get dealt with. I was asked to do work not in my job description without any compensation raise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cold
Bell Ringer (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMarch 20, 2019
A typical day would be standing in the cold I learned nothing management was ok and the hardest part was standing for hrs for little pay and the expect so much out of you
Pros
No pro
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the exprience
Santa Claus and bell ringer (Former Employee) –  Hempstead, NYMarch 20, 2019
Great holiday atmosphere. I love working there helping others I know what it feels like to be homeless as i still am now so helping others like me gives me so much strength!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Effective Internship
Volunteer Marketing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kankakee, ILMarch 20, 2019
I assisted at the local Salvation Army for the Red Kettle Campaign. It was a temporary position that went towards hours for a class for school. Overall good experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Springfield, ILMarch 20, 2019
Long and hot I lenard about antiques my manager was ok when we would run out of work putting good and fair prices on products sometimes the change of pace
Pros
Bargains
Cons
People I worked with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keetle worker
Bell ringer (Former Employee) –  Pendleton, ORMarch 20, 2019
I stood in my assigned place of work for eight hours a day I greeted every person with a smile and thanked all people who donated to the cause I managed my time for my lunches and breaks. Sometimes I even sang.
Pros
it was for a very good cause
Cons
way to cold
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love and spirituality
Store Manager/Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Springfield, MOMarch 20, 2019
I love working here because not only can you enjoy your job, ministry is promoted. It is a place where prayer is accepted and promoted. No one looks down on you or cringes when speaking of God or Jesus. If working in a place full of love and spirituality is what you are looking for this is the place to be
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No thanks!
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 20, 2019
No thank you!!! Deplorable conditions. The warehouse is disgusting and they pay horribly. they don't care about the employee, only about the money made ion stores.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to be work for
Bell Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, CAMarch 20, 2019
Solid job if you can find it. All around positive company. They do many things for the homeless and their community. Pay could be better. God bless yo all
Pros
Solid company to work for. Helping others in need. Employees are great to work with.
Cons
Pay could be better, but I do understand why they pay this amount.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ministry Adminiatrator
Minister/ Administrator/ Assistant Officer (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MAMarch 19, 2019
I was a Minister before anything else. I was there to help these clients find their higher power and feel good about them selves.

Administrator I over saw 150 bed facility that housed both men and women
Ran the warehouse
Pros
love, kindness, sobrity
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporay employment
Court Liaison (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLMarch 18, 2019
Was a good stepping stone into the corrections field. Many important contacts were made which led to my employment with the Sheriff's Office. This organization eventually(after I left)turned their probation department over to the Hillsborough County Sheriff's Office.
Pros
Varing work environment from day to day.
Cons
Low paying
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management!
Director (Former Employee) –  Chicago, IllinoisMarch 18, 2019
Salvation Army provide services for the community. However, the devices provided in the Early Childhood Department are not well managed. The Manager is bent on trying to impress the upper officers so that child care is and direct service is not important to them. They do not treat employees well and the pay is not great at all. I was very disappointed to work for them and find out that child development services that they offer is superficial at best. It was difficult to serve families efficiently with the management being about money and numbers in stead of actually benefitting families.
Cons
Childcare dept is a low priority, low staff morale, poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New management not good
Occupancy Specialist (Former Employee) –  Eureka, CAMarch 18, 2019
Management swooped in and let a bunch of people go who the previous manager had hired. Overall it's a good place to work but new management is overbearing and devious.
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
New management looks for reasons to fire people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable work envioment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 18, 2019
Working at the Salvation Army offers the ability to serve individuals who are in dire need of help with their life issues. The Salvation Army provides a safe and clean environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Processor (Former Employee) –  Southfield, MIMarch 18, 2019
Almost a full 3 years of working with only a .27 cent raise. I was a very experienced employee and they asked me to train a lady to become supervisor, instead of making me a supervisor. Very unorganized company that exercises favoritism.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Salvation Army. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 10,086 reviews
54.3K
42.7K
31.9K
2590
1556

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.4Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

2.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight