The Salvation Army Employee Reviews

Found 8,437 reviews matching the search See all 11,161 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a mentor for summer camp
Mentor (Former Employee) –  Middle River, MDJune 13, 2019
Was a fun experience with the kids and the trips we took. Just watched them taught them and had fun with them. For summer camp was one of the best jobs if it paid good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Programs that serve the poor, disabled, and elderly and quite often poorly managed, this program was no exception
Student/Externship (Former Employee) –  Canton, OHJune 13, 2019
Thank goodness for the volunteers, the paid staff were poorly managed. Too many programs that deal in the areas of Social Services generally are. The resources may have been low which may have had an effect on the lack of organization
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the atmosphere
Head Cashier (Current Employee) –  Wilkes-Barre, PAJune 12, 2019
I love my job just need two at the moment the Salvation Army does a lot to help the less fortunate.The Salvation Army is a rehabilitation center that helps people get their life back in order .
Pros
Love the people
Cons
Not enough pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good to start somewhere
Bell Ringer (Former Employee) –  Palm Bay, FLJune 12, 2019
helping families and other made me feel happy when I did this job. This may been a part time job but its time to look for something more to expand on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfairecwork eviorment
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Saginaw, MIJune 12, 2019
I did not like working there they were unfair when it come to hours some people family would get better hours , they only help family and , there wa ex never any time for as break they work u very hard for a lil bit of money
I would not recomand working for this company unless they change management. 8
Pros
Nice customers
Cons
No work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad experience
Production Driver (Former Employee) –  New YorkJune 12, 2019
Previous supervisor assaulted me and also a other lead person that was in charge of another location was trying to discriminize against me about my hair because I have dreads
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great ministry for developing relationships
Social Worker, Chaplain, Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJune 12, 2019
While I served as an administrator I was motivated by the clients we served and the relationships that I developed. I loved my clients and found them to be open to God when treated with the respect that they deserved.
Pros
Free Lunch/Parking paid downtown
Cons
Could be exhausting when clients were self destructive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work for
Intake Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Brockton, MAJune 12, 2019
Great place to work at if you don't care about making money. Can be stressful at times but mainly because you become invested in the clients & the purpose of the work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Humbling experience
Assistant Director (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTJune 12, 2019
I interacted with lots of different people everyday. I was able to help a lot of them so the job was very satisfying. There were good and bad days like any job, I loved my coworkers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Welcome Center Associate (Former Employee) –  Ashland, OHJune 11, 2019
This job was only 15 hours a week, greeting cleints, answering phones, very easy work. I would recommend it if you're looking to supplement your income.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Store Associate (Current Employee) –  Sheboygan, WIJune 11, 2019
Getting to know all the customers is very rewarding. Typical work day includes running the register, pricing and putting away clothes and pricing hard good donations
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work
Administrative Secretary/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Ft. Worth, TXJune 11, 2019
Receptionist, greeting individuals who lived there
How to rent apartments to low-income tenants
Excellent Manager (No longer there)
Fast- paced
Speaking to the tenants
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful
Security Monitor (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 11, 2019
Very helpful, compassionate, caring, grateful to work for this company even though it was for a short time, I still love the experience of working for this company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serious
Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Mount Clemens, MIJune 11, 2019
Check in and do rounds.
I learned improved interpersonal communication skills.
Poor management.
Challenged workplace culture.
The hardest part of the job was working the midnight schedule.
The enjoyable part of the job was being of benefit to the Harbor Light clients.
Pros
Free lunches sometimes
Cons
The midnight shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Retail Associate (Former Employee) –  Goldsboro, NCJune 11, 2019
It was a great experience working for them.They have a professional level headed and caring management team, who are willing to work with you in any situation.and relaxed environment. I would definitely refer and / or return to work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Administrative Clerk (Former Employee) –  Paducah, KYJune 11, 2019
not respected by mamangement and would not return to Paducah location. Pay rate was minimum wage with very high co pays for insurance. I could afford to work there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Residential Therapeutic Treatment Program
Primary Care Substance Abuse Counselor (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 11, 2019
Good program structure, Helped individual clients change and restart a New Productive Sober Lifestyle. Clients received the tools needed to begin a stable sober productive lifestyle if used.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was great till we lost manager, volunteers and 2 other employees
Salvation Army , sorter / pricer (Current Employee) –  Paducah, KYJune 10, 2019
the store employees have no direction, there's no one to keep people doing what needs doing. the higher ups will not hire a manager and they wont step up and do the position themselves.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative Corp. office. Employees were like slave labor.
Management (Former Employee) –  San Clemente, CAJune 10, 2019
Management did not keep promises or agreements. Very negative work place culture. Main office required store management to follow their decisions but would NOT provide back up. As a store Manager I tried to make the job fun and rewarding. Out of pocket lunches, Christmas gifts (Designer Desserts). Even required rating on this review is rigged so I am unable to choose 5. SET UP FOR #1 ONLY!!
Pros
Customers were basically nice
Cons
Salvation Army is NOT WHAT as represented to the public!!!!!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very family oriented and fun place to work
customer service / Warehouse/ Sorter (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAJune 10, 2019
Salvation Army is very clean and the staff are very friendly to their customers. There are always great sales every week and they have nice quality merchandise.
Pros
great sales and wonderful customer service
Cons
under staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Salvation Army. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 11,161 reviews
54.8K
43K
32.1K
2636
1628

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at The Salvation Army.

Powered by Comparably