The Scotts Miracle-Gro Company Employee Reviews

Found 452 reviews matching the search See all 469 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Columbus CPG
Sr. Assistant Brand Manager - Indoor Gardening (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHFebruary 5, 2019
A good company to get CPG experience. Heavily seasonal so every year seems to be a sprint to spring. Leadership can be great, some leaders not as much.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Scotts Company sold Lawn Care and Garden Products
Merchandiser/Product Knowledge Counselor (Former Employee) –  Marysville, OHJanuary 2, 2019
The Scotts Company sold Lawn Care and Garden Products to Lowes and Home Depot. I serviced stories in Washington, PA , Wheeling, WV, & St. Clairsville, Oh .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very hard place to be healthy
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Marysville, OHFebruary 18, 2019
hard to stay healthy working in all the chemicals and dust... overall the people are great, and the hours are fair. just have watched the politics grow out of control but that is happening anywhere you go these days.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scott’s isn’t a suitable career option unlesss you have solid experience with machinery.
Production Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Fort Madison, IAJanuary 16, 2019
-Be prepared and or willing to make large sacrifes in your Personal and home life due to the constant mandadation or overtime hours.

-be capable of performing under duress.
Pros
Free coffee and work supplies
Cons
mandatory overtime hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
SALES REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Norcross, GAJanuary 14, 2019
Horrible work environment. Worked the sales guys 6 days a week without OT. Actually had a class action lawsuit against them for this. No HR focus. Management was horrible.
Pros
None
Cons
Horrible work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned a lot about merchandising. I did not know going in that so many different companies handled their own products in the different stores.
Merchandiser and Counselor (Former Employee) –  Wilson, NCDecember 12, 2018
I enjoyed working for Scotts-MiracleGro, Interacting with the costumers was rewarding. My manager gave us constructive criticism. He listened to our ideas. We basically were allowed to make decisions on our own. Also, he kept us informed on what was going on with the company.
Pros
Make my own schedule, except for Saturdays.
Cons
we were required to work at least four hours on every Saturday.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run as fast as you can in the opposite direction
Packaging Associate (Former Employee) –  Marysville, OhioJanuary 22, 2019
Management and supervisors think they are better than everyone else, they say 1 thing & do the other, dirty & cutthroat, run away as fast as u can.Bad.
Pros
Free drinks
Cons
Supervisors, some employees are stuck up & stuck on themselves.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay
Machine Technician (Current Employee) –  OhioFebruary 17, 2019
The work schedule changes three the year. The weeks get longer an the days get longer. The weather effects your work day tremendously. Somewhat safe place to work.
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ment for city people
Seasonal Employee (Former Employee) –  Marysville, OHJanuary 9, 2019
not a bad place to work there good opportunity and good hard work holiday benefits are great. Its just to up tight for my country blood to work there for to long.
Pros
free drinks
Cons
not a good place for banter
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enviroment
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Pearl, MSJanuary 27, 2019
it was a very fast paced environment it can teach you the importance of an assembly it is just not a secure company to work for due to seasonal shut downs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Heavy Equipment Operator (frontend loader) (Former Employee) –  Geismar, LAOctober 30, 2018
good place to work,good people. busy season is very hectic and fast paced. non busy season your trying to find things to do.do some cooking on fridays and go home happy
Pros
lots of hours during busy season
Cons
no time for nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging ever changing environment that lives and dies by the weather.
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Lubbock, TXFebruary 2, 2019
The good:
A lot of Autonomy
Challenging everchanging workplace
Customers are generally happy to see you in stores
The category leader
Very warm and friendly company culture.

The bad:
This job was a true trial by fire. I was assigned a mentor who visited me 2 times in my territory and took me to lunch with a coworker who was quitting on my one visit to his territory. My manager visited me once a year for three years and basically has no idea of my day to day. Because the posistion is so heavily dependent on weather, effort does not guarantee performance. The company's HR department is a joke. You hire, train, pay, terminate and everything in between. You will never call HR for help as it is a waste of time. We had to fire all employees who use tobacco, but do not test for THC? Category has been trending negative for 3 years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyws my co-workers
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Pearl, MSNovember 15, 2018
Scotts was fast pace I enjoyed working on the line the only thing was every time you turn around the line would brake down. One thing I didn't like about the company it was a lot of underhanded things going on to get on full time.
Pros
Get a break every two hours like clock work
Cons
Poor management team
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible Seasonal Job
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCNovember 18, 2018
Working as a Scott's Merchandiser is a great job for those wanting a physically challenging job and flexible hours. The work can be dirty and in the south it can get HOT.
Pros
flexible
Cons
pay isn't great
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very heavy work
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLNovember 16, 2018
I was not what I thought.it was going to be to much cleaning and heat. most of the time was cleaning animal feces like rat and bird from their product at the stores.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Venice, FLNovember 15, 2018
this is a seasonal job with no benefits, if you just looking for extra money and you can handle heavy lifting and a lot of test on the computer for product knowledge
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unappreciated merchandiser
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Columbus, ohNovember 8, 2018
Merchandisers are "just merchandisers". We aren't good enough to get a greeting from the arrogant managers. Constant finger pointing (do this and do that). Just treated like we are nothing.
Pros
You get to deal, not work, with arogant managers
Cons
Management looks down at you because you are a merchandiser.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Production packager (Former Employee) –  Fort Madison, IAOctober 26, 2018
Scott’s was a good place to work. Teamwork and safety is their top priorities. The supervisors were very reseptive to worries and suggestions on bettering the jobs at hand.
Pros
Lots of associate appreciation events
Cons
Lots of required overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
forklift /loader operator (Former Employee) –  Shreve, OHOctober 14, 2018
liked working there just a lot off drama but pay was good and we worked 4 10 hr days in the summer and then 6 to 7 days during winter and spring getting overtime
Pros
good pay
Cons
managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Part Time Job
Coordinator I (Former Employee) –  Kennesaw, GAOctober 29, 2018
Easy part-time job in college, if you don't mind some physical labor. There is opportunity to move up if you decide you want more than a part-time position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Scotts Miracle-Gro Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 469 reviews
5155
4163
384
227
140

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

3.2Personal Development

2.6Career Opportunities

2.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight