The Scripps Research Institute Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
top notch research institute
Senior Research Associate (Former Employee) –  La Jolla, CAJune 18, 2018
Pro: great science, top scientists in biomedicine and chemistry. Facilities staff are very nice and helpful.
Cons: early stage scientists need more support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All About Research
Microinjectionist (Former Employee) –  La Jolla, CAMay 30, 2018
Clear goals at the beginning of each day and examination of results at the end of the day.
Technical skills and human physiology at the molecular level.
Management gave instruction and expected accuracy and self-discipline.
Workplace culture was friendly.
The hardest part of the job was the insecurity of the grant support.
The most enjoyable parts of the job were learning and seeing rewarding results of my work.
Pros
forefront basic research, international diversity, benefits
Cons
research associate positions rely upon unreliable grants
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice environment to work in.
Administrative Assistant III (Former Employee) –  La Jolla, CAMay 25, 2018
The offices I have worked in the 23 years of working at TSRI have all been very nice. I worked for many PIs through my years at TSRI and on the whole I was treated very well by them and and the lab personnel I worked with were always very friendly and easy to work with.
Pros
Very seldom had to work overtime.
Cons
PIs demanding that I do their grant first.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff
Summer Youth Internship (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 9, 2018
I was an intern at Scipps and the staff was great in teaching me their roles as scientist. Everyone made me feel comfortable and we're always happy to answer my questions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be good, pay is low for the area
Postdoctoral Research Fellow (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAApril 21, 2018
Everyone's experience will depend upon whom you work for. Hours can be long/very long and pay is not enough to live without several roommates/ higher paid partner. High prestige and good productivity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for science
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  La Jolla, CAApril 12, 2018
Can be better place if salary and career advancement and equal opportunity is provided without any bias. great for doing good science in depth. however career growth needs to be focused by administration for those who work hard every day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the scripps research institute
Environmental Services (Former Employee) –  La Jolla, CAApril 6, 2018
it was a good work place .
i learn a lot in environmental services procedures in biohazardous waste containers and movements .
main campus in la jolla ca .
it was a great place to work meet people from all over the world.
there was no hard days at work.
the people who i work with i had a great time and learned a lot from my co workers
Pros
good people to work with
Cons
outsource
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Prospects
Staff Scientist / Postdoctoral Fellow (Former Employee) –  La Jolla, CAMarch 26, 2018
Essentially a training facility with a fairly minimal chance at a job. Supervisors assign projects to postdocs. Many of these projects will be good because they will lead to positive outcomes (publications). However it is not in the supervisor's best interest to assign projects that will lead to the postdoc getting a job for two reasons: The projects main goal is to get the supervisor's grant funded. This may not lead to skills that will be appreciated by future employers in the non-academic world (most likely). Second, if the postdoc is successful the supervisor may want to continue with that line of research, therefor the postdoc may not be able to get funding on that research because the supervisor may submit a competing grant application.

Keep in mind: This is an esteemed institution, but not all primary investigators are particularly good. Some seem to be quite incapable of designing experimental approaches that make much sense. These professors have a tendency to doctor their data. Other's seem to be quite distracted, and aren't following day to day or even week to week research progress and outcomes.
Pros
Great location
Cons
Poor prospects for career development and employment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  La Jolla, CAMarch 13, 2018
Excellent wonderful company great place to work and very family oriented. Engaging , informative and educational. Motivating and fun at the same time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMarch 12, 2018
I was a postdoctoral associate at the Scripps Research Institute. I had a great privilege working with excellent people. Great working place for research.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Phase
Scientist (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAFebruary 20, 2018
Its world number one research institute in the field of protein biochemistry and chemical biology. I learned several new and novel techniques to explore my scientific expertise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to learn
Intern Student (Former Employee) –  Jupiter, FLFebruary 7, 2018
Great place to work for researchers. I was only an intern so I cannot speak to the employee life or benefits. But a great place to intern because of the variety of research conducted as well as the advanced equipment you can access.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful place to work
Post-Doctoral Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Jupiter, FLJanuary 16, 2018
Stressful place to work for low compensation. Unobtainable expectations of PI's. Culture is great people can be very supportive. Hardest part of the job is number of hours expected.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start career but not permanantly
Volunteer Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  La Jolla, CADecember 26, 2017
The culture at Scripps was great but the pay is low. I both worked and volunteered there and my work was very low paying. However the benefits are awesome and nearly everyone I worked with were great people. I learned a lot there and through working here, I gained enough experience to land a higher paying job elsewhere.
Pros
great culture, health benefits
Cons
low paying job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
medical advancements, making a difference
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  La Jolla, CADecember 5, 2017
TSRI is involved in many exciting advancements in science. Absolutely amazing benefits you cannot find anywhere else. Active in community betterment and awareness.
Pros
benefits!!!
Cons
location; company reorganization
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked on many exciting projects
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  La Jolla, CAOctober 18, 2017
Interesting work. Opportunities to work on alot of different projects.
I loved learning new technologies.
Work place culture: collaborative and highly flexible
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
Company currently going through reorg.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional workplace
Administrative Specialist (Current Employee) –  Jupiter, FLOctober 6, 2017
Scripps is a great opportunity to work for an organization where you feel like you are making a difference in the world. Management is very professional and fair. I love learning so much from the research that is being done.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Not much room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High pace workplace
Postdoctoral Fellow (Former Employee) –  Jupiter, FLOctober 5, 2017
Working with the best researchers in the field is fun but stressful. Workplace culture is usually good depending on the lab you are in.
The location is for sure the most enjoyable part.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Scripps Research Institute
Safety Technician (Former Employee) –  La Jolla, CASeptember 27, 2017
This was my first job out of the Military, so it was a little hard to adjust. I did work there for seven years and I did enjoy it. The people there are great people.
Pros
Everything
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity valued over all other things
Postdoctoral Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Jupiter, FLSeptember 21, 2017
Typical post-doctoral researcher experience, heavy work load, high expectations. Is completely dependent on the PI that you choose to work for. Work life balance is not highly touted, but that is standard in the high level laboratories.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Scripps Research Institute. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 71 reviews
530
429
38
22
12

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
4.2Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.6

3.2Personal Development

2.3Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

The Scripps Research Institute Reviews by Location