The Summit Area YMCA Employee Reviews

Showing all 16 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to launch a career
Development Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Summit, NJMay 29, 2019
Working at the Y allowed me to be involved in my community. I learned about the value of the Y's programs to people of all ethnic and socio-economic backgrounds. This position enabled me to meet some successful business men and women who worked on our Board Of Trustees.
Pros
Free gym membership
Cons
Lack of opportunities for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Community Atmosphere
BIRTHDAY PARTIES & FACILITIES RENTAL COORDINATOR (Current Employee) –  Summit, NJMay 5, 2019
A staple location in the Summit community. All departments (personal training, aquatics, child care, etc.) work together to promote healthy living and community involvement. You work via meetings and email to produce quality products for our members.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work to get to know the community
Member Services (Former Employee) –  Berkeley Heights, NJMay 6, 2018
Easy job, greet members, sign prospective members up, enter information into their database system, print documents, and close/open facility. overall easy job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunities and culture!
IT Manager (Current Employee) –  Summit, NJOctober 26, 2017
The YMCA is an excellent organization to work for. You benefit the community, there's people who work with you for the same reasons and you can learn various aspects of healthy living, social responsibility, and youth development.

The management can sometimes be poor and lack of advancement can seem minimal.
Pros
Benefits, Free Membership, Community
Cons
Management, Lack of Advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good locations
Camp Counselor (Former Employee) –  Summit, NJMay 17, 2017
Like I previously stated, this was a fantastic place to work and everyone was helpful and friendly. I enjoyed meeting new staff and making connections.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work throughout the summer!
Rock climbing instructor (Former Employee) –  Summit, NJMay 9, 2017
A typical day at work would be playing with the kids around the, as well as watching over people who come and rock climb. The hardest part would have to be learning how to instruct rock climbing. There are children's safety all in your hands. All in all, it was fun and easygoing, not too stressful either. I've learned patience through kids, and I've learned better communication skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun loving place to work at
Youth Sports Instructor (Current Employee) –  Summit, NJMay 7, 2017
A++. Love working here and the coworkers are nice as well. Recommended to work here and to keep referring more people to come join the YMCA staff family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment.
Business Manager (Current Employee) –  Summit, NJJanuary 14, 2015
The YMCA helps a lot of people, and working for the YMCA has been wonderful.

People are all there for the same reason, people feel welcomed, and the overall environment is pleasant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great group of people to work with
Summer Camp Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Summit, NJMay 24, 2014
It is so much fun to get to know your co-worker, the children and their parents at this job. It is a memorable place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring environment.
Member Services Representative (Current Employee) –  Summit, NJSeptember 7, 2013
I used to be a member of the Summit Area YMCA as a child.

I remember the exciting classes and friendliness of the staff.

Ever since working here, I have felt that I have grown as a person, and truly care about the needs of others.
Pros
Network with people, fun and laid back.
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented facility had great vibes
Member Services (Former Employee) –  Summit, NJOctober 27, 2012
It was good to be surrounded by health conscious people. The members were nice and we always had plenty of work to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and welcoming work place
Lifeguard (Current Employee) –  Summit, NJJune 5, 2012
Overall, lifeguarding at the Summit YMCA is a great place to gain valuable work experience and life skills. A typical day consists of supervising the pool area, greeting and talking with customers, or teaching swim lessons to children ages 5-12. The hardest part of the job is ensuring the safety of the pool at all times. Since lifeguards don't know when something life-threatening or dangerous may occur, preparing oneself for the worst is the most important aspect of the job. The most enjoyable part of being a lifeguarding is getting to know fellow co-workers, patrons, and the community that makes up the Summit YMCA.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community based
HOUSEKEEPER (Former Employee) –  Summit, NJMay 21, 2012
The most enjoybale part of the job was being able to use the gym facilities for free!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to built relationships and move up
Basketball Coach (Current Employee) –  Summit, NJMarch 29, 2012
Teach and coach sports classes in basketball, flag football, soccer, lacrosse, and floor hockey.

Manage adult basketball and volleyball leagues.
Manage and developed schedules for leagues and sport classes

Coach 12 and under, and 14 and under travel basketball teams.

Supervise two subordinates
Open and close gym, making sure facility is secured
Market and promote strong kids annual fund
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced and Enjoyable
Membership Services (Current Employee) –  Summit, NJFebruary 7, 2012
The Summit Area YMCA is a fantastic environment to work in and be a part of. All of the staff and members are wonderful.
Pros
community
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Summit Area YMCA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 16 reviews
56
49
31
20
10

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
4.2Management
4.3Culture

The Summit Area YMCA Reviews by Location