The TJX Companies, Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 3,509 reviews matching the search See all 5,060 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Featured review
The TJX Companies, Inc. selected this as a representative review
The culture of the company is amazing.
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Chula Vista, CAJuly 27, 2018
TJX is an amazing company to work for. The culture is incredible.
The company truly cares about its employees. It is an amazing company to work for.
Pros
excellent management, execellent benefits
Cons
Depending on your location and state you reside, there may not be any TJX companies near by
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job in retail
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Westborough, MAJanuary 15, 2019
Management was very kind and courteous. Co workers were nice and worked well together. Store was kept in good condition. Holidays get a bit busy but overall a great place to start in retail
Pros
Flexible hours, understanding management, friendly atmosphere
Cons
Very busy at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's a good place, when manage properly.
Merchandise Associate (Former Employee) –  Coral Springs, FLJanuary 9, 2019
I worked for this company and have enjoyed working with the people. But, this company has show me no matter how long and well you work for them, the only thing that matter to them is how many credit cards you sell to the customers and not customer service.When it comes to advancement , promotion tend to go to outsiders instead of insiders.
Pros
discount, nice people and great things to buy
Cons
Management promotes from the outside instead of from within.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very part time
Stockroom Clerk (Former Employee) –  Cape Girardeau, MOJanuary 8, 2019
This job is extremely inconsistent. The hours are irregular and it is almost impossible to advance or get more hours. The people that you work with are great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very good job
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJanuary 8, 2019
A great place to work , 4 days of work followed by 3 days off. Great people from all levels. A fast paced work place that is challenging enough to enjoy and not overwhelming. Opportunity for advancement for those committed. Paid overtime which is typically voluntary (about $25/hr).
Pros
Awesome work schedule
Cons
no bonuses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Broomall, PAJanuary 6, 2019
I work at TJMAXX of the TJX Companies and it wasn’t a great experience but I was my first job. They only hire part time employees so there were many managers which made scheduling very chaotic. And I always got scheduled Saturdays and Sundays closing shifts. I also was always given closing shifts during the week as well.
Pros
The pay was above minimum wage
Cons
Horrible scheduling
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best environment to be in
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Cody, WYJanuary 5, 2019
Love love working with this company. Great training..safe and fun place to be. Working the phones can be hard. But TJmaxx is very black/white. You don't ever have to question the values of the company. I look forward to growth and future with Tjmaxx.
Pros
Safe
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place of work
Visual Associate (Current Employee) –  Plant City, FLJanuary 4, 2019
It is a good work environment, the store is very welcoming, the coworkers are very cooperative, the manager is always very friendly, it is a very good place to work
Pros
schedule
Cons
few hours of work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive workplace that’s stressful only until you get into the flow of things.
Associate (Former Employee) –  Walnut, CAJanuary 4, 2019
Clean workplace, supportive, rewarding, fair pay, horrible hours!! Although it’s a nice workplace I really didn’t like being given 12 hours or less than a week, making it hard to pay for daily duties.
Pros
alright pay, clean, supportive
Cons
alright pay, bad hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, poor management
Payroll Tax Accountant (Former Employee) –  Middlesex County, MADecember 28, 2018
Great company, poor management. Awesome company to work for but not a lot of opportunities for growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible interview process
Intern (Former Employee) –  CTDecember 27, 2018
Company is constantly hiring because management is afraid of employees and don't interact with them They hide in their offices and don't interact with staff.
Pros
Facility
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great place for a first job but advancing maybe difficult
TJ Maxx Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Modesto, CADecember 19, 2018
Just work hard and show your available you'll get a lot of hours
The bosses are great to work with. They will help you and work to better serve your needs.
Pros
Free food sometimes, works with school schedule
Cons
No benefits for part time, no advancement in company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained Friends Through This Job
Associate (Former Employee) –  Parma, OHDecember 17, 2018
This was the best first job someone could ask for. I learned how to deal with the general public, time management, and how to work for 8 hours straight (with breaks of course) on my feet. I loved this job and the people I worked with who became great friends.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
extremely boring day-to-day duties
Operations Analyst (Former Employee) –  New Albany, OHDecember 17, 2018
Misled by initial management team as to job responsibilities and duties - only personal favorites got considered for internal promotions and absolutely no growth potential at the data center that was located in New Albany, Ohio as just about everything ran thru the Corporate Office which is located in Framingham, Mass / Environment improved drastically with the second management team that was brought in.
Pros
extremely good benefits and mostly good people to work with
Cons
Long work days as the Mainframe Operations staff worked 12 hr days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
OPERATIONS SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZDecember 15, 2018
I was very happy working here. We were well compensated with stipend if we had to work overtime.
My associates were amazing and I learned a great deal of what diversity meant. Very happy here.
Pros
Stipends
Cons
Don't be too outspoken
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The workers are nice
TJ Maxx Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLDecember 14, 2018
I like the people at my job. It’s a good company and it’s nit a bad job. I don’t reskky know about the benefits or all that important stuff. I sort of have to figure things out on my own.
Pros
Nice people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Place
Dressing room attendant (Former Employee) –  Port Arthur, TXDecember 13, 2018
-A typical day at TJ Maxx is calm.
-I've learned how to become more responsible, and become a better team player.
-Management is okay.
-The workplace culture is very diverse.
-The hardest part of this job is the environment, it's not as exciting.
-The most enjoyable part is helping the customers.
Pros
Bonuses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slow paced environment
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Marietta, GADecember 12, 2018
It was a slow paced environment to work in and there wasn't any room for growth or advancement unless you worked there for years.The management was very enjoyable to work with they always made it fun to work with.
Pros
parties were fun
Cons
only part time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was nice
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNDecember 12, 2018
we would have meetings in the morning to talk about the production then we would clock in and go to our stations to begin working up until break and when we come back we return
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average 5 star
System Operator (Former Employee) –  Pittston, PADecember 11, 2018
A day of work is enjoyable work with fun.I learned a lot work with multi culture people. Hard part of the job when one team member was not co-operative. And most enjoyable part when every one make funny comments,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  ArizonaDecember 8, 2018
Overtasked
Understaffed
Struggling to support within time frame
Hardest part is lack of time to complete essential tasks
Productivity not counted for in performance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The TJX Companies, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 5,062 reviews
51.6K
41.6K
31.3K
2356
1263

See reviews about

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

3.0InHerSight Score

2.6Personal Development

3.7Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight