The University of Rhode Island Employee Reviews

Found 132 reviews matching the search See all 134 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Undergraduate research
Research Analyst & Undergraduate (Former Employee) –  Kingston, RIJuly 21, 2018
I completed an independent research project on the spatial and temporal distribution of shellfish larvae in Greenwich Bay RI. I designed, conducted and researched the data on SAS program.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, fast paced
Cook's helper (Former Employee) –  U.R.I. CampusJuly 21, 2018
Fast paced, busy, good money for part time work, easy going recipe guides, clean environment, payment on time, possibility of promoting to higher positions within the campuses.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Instruction of Future Military Officers
Chair, Department of Military Science (ROTC) (Former Employee) –  Kingston, RIJuly 1, 2018
ROTC gives the university student an opportunity to see if military service would be a good fit without the pressure of making a commitment. Many students opt to seek a commission as an Army officer as a result of their ROTC experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with friends
Intramural Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Kingston, RIJune 11, 2018
Intramural is a great way to make money will still interacting with your friends especially for people who are very interested in sports and athletics. Hardest part sometimes can be refereeing your friends because things can get heated
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start a career
Database Developer Intern (Current Employee) –  Department of PharmacyJune 3, 2018
The University has fantastic support for students needing to gain hands-on work experience after taking the required courses. I will be building a database from start to finish and utilizing my experience working with pharmacy staff from CVS as well as my experience working with non-technical clients from New England Give Camp.
Pros
Awesome encouragement
Cons
Extra work to find needed resources
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uri
Graduate Assistant Coach (Former Employee) –  Kingston, RIJune 3, 2018
I was a graduate assistant football coach. GA's make very little money and work constantly. It's a grind but it's the only way to get your foot in the door to becoming a college position coach. After the whole staff was fired after one season of me being there, I decided that I didn't want to move every year to take a new job at a new school somewhere in the country. I wanted to settle down and have a family somewhere and being a college football coach is a tough career if you want to have a family.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for work study
Sales Associate/ Course Materials (Current Employee) –  Kingston, RIMay 17, 2018
I like working here because they accommodate with your academics and are pretty lenient. They have taught me so much while working here and gave us a 10% discount on URI merchandise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Kingston, RIMay 16, 2018
Promotes education and research. Encourages the staff to increase engagement with the students to aid in the learning experience. The organization could improve upon it communication with the staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity for graduate students
Rhode Island (Current Employee) –  Rhode IslandMay 1, 2018
Being a graduate student Teaching Assistant is a great option for a graduate student. The work is done along with your own classes and the pay/benefits are wonderful. Highly recommend looking into!
Pros
tuition waiver, pay
Cons
workload
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Academic Environment
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kingston, RIApril 11, 2018
Graduate Research and Teaching Assistantships were great experience and way to support doctoral research and education. Great support within the department and overall a very positive working environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about The University of Rhode Island?

Ask a question
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot
Hydrology Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kingston, RIApril 2, 2018
I worked at URI as a student and for a summer after I graduated. It was a positive work experience and taught me many field and lab skills while working on research projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Structured work enviroment
Part-time Kitchen Staff (Current Employee) –  Kingston, RIMarch 18, 2018
Well run kitchen that know how to designate tasks and get stuff done. They train us to be hard working individuals who are task oriented that are determined and driven to get the job done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unable to assess the present work environment.
Assistant Marine Scientist (Former Employee) –  Narragansett, RIMarch 7, 2018
Since I left the University of Rhode Island almost 40 years ago, I cannot comment on the current work environment, nor the present administration. I encourage those applying for jobs to contact potential peers for opinions on the present work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Variety of work of all kinds and enjoyable to meet others
Senior Word Processing Typist (Former Employee) –  Kingston, RIMarch 7, 2018
please see review on resume.

How to manage all types of information
Workplace culture changed each day.
The hardest part of the job none that I can think of
The enjoyable part was the interacting of all kinds of people.
Pros
Consistency of management
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's fine
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kingston, RIMarch 1, 2018
Overall it is a pretty good place to work. The people are nice. The lab is very nice. The whole building is relatively new so all of the equipment and facilities are in good condition.
Pros
relaxed schedule
Cons
boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grad Assistant
DPT Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kingston, RIFebruary 5, 2018
Excellent position with many pros:
-50% tuition stipend
-improved time management skills
-improved communication skills
-improved student/professor relationship
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kingston, RIFebruary 5, 2018
Great place to work. I enjoy having a flexible schedule. I think that the work culture is something that most establishments do not have. I would recommend working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Kingston, RIFebruary 1, 2018
Great supervisors and friendly staff. Beautiful new buildings. Many great benefits and paid time off. A very nice work environment all around. I would strongly recommend it.
Pros
Paid time off
Cons
Shoveling snow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience for Undergrads
Supplemental Instructor (Former Employee) –  Kingston, RIJanuary 14, 2018
I highly recommend any undergraduate student work part time as a research assistant for a professor in their major. However, be sure you are interested in the field you join and that you get along with your advisor or it could become an absolutely miserable time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Custodian Review
Custodian (Current Employee) –  Kingston, RIDecember 12, 2017
A typical day at work was cleaning college dorm rooms where I learned how to properly clean and utilize cleaning equipment. The hardest part of the job was working in the poor weather conditions. But the best part of the job was the learning experience.
Pros
Easy work
Cons
Poor equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The University of Rhode Island. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 134 reviews
559
451
318
24
12

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.0Culture

Ratings from women

2.7InHerSight Score

2.7Personal Development

2.5Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

The University of Rhode Island Reviews by Location