The University of Southern MIssissippi Employee Reviews

Found 188 reviews matching the search See all 189 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut throat
Instructor of Record (Former Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSJuly 9, 2018
Departments not collegial. Attacks often made on other members. However, when you are not required to work with others, pretty good environment. Low budget.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xxxx
Gifted Evaluations Provider/ Consultant (Current Employee) –  Long Beach, MSMay 29, 2018
Testing Children for the Karnes Center for Gifted Education
Scheduling, Case Management, a Positive Culture for Gifted Education Promotion and Evaluation
Pros
Great Enviornent
Cons
No enough programs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Garden job
Student worker in the Biology department (Former Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MS 39401May 28, 2018
I worked as a gardener, which was straightforward work. However, it did get quite lonely as I was the only person with that position. The hours are capped at 20 because it's a job through the university specifically for students and they want you to prioritize your education.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and relaxed workplace
Desk Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSMay 21, 2018
The typical day would consist of clocking in swipe residents in and out of the building, facilitating check-in/ check-out procedures, and maintain confidentiality requirements. While working for The University of Southern Mississippi I learned how to work with others, better time management, and how to handle confidential resident paperwork. The workplace culture was fun, relaxed, and consisted of other students who were like minded and easy going. The hardest part of the job would have to be managing my time, but I managed to accomplish that. The most enjoyable part of the job would be being able to interact with other students and be a resource when needed.
Pros
Time flexible, relaxed, and fun.
Cons
No breaks or benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun!
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSMay 17, 2018
I enjoyed working for my University and working with people there that became my friends. It is a relaxed job that requires working together setting up events.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Shipping and Accounts Specialist (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, MSMay 15, 2018
I enjoyed working for the university because the benefits were excellent. I had enough to keep me busy and was able to work on my own without supervision and I loved the hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid-back and flexible hours. Great part-time job for students.
Student Worker (Current Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSMay 9, 2018
My job is very laid-back. The department I work for works around my class schedule and allows me to get homework done while working. I am learning basic office job skills while getting an education.
Pros
Laid-back, flexible hours
Cons
Low pay, slow paced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Help Desk Technician
iTech Helpdesk Technician I (Current Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSMay 8, 2018
It was a good place to work, but too many people get comfortable and there is no room for advancement. So I had to move on to greener pastures unfortunately
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A continuously challenging and collaborative work environment.
Graduate Assistant Athletic Trainer (Current Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSMay 1, 2018
The Athletic Training department at the University of Southern Mississippi has been a perfect environment to begin my professional career. I gained experiences in maintaining the health of student-athletes and educating athletic training students in the clinical setting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Quality Control/Student Assistant ffor USM (Current Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSApril 25, 2018
I loved working with the football. The experience is something that i will have forever. The games were exciting and the people and friend i made will always be with me!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful
Instructor/Teacher (Current Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSApril 19, 2018
Stressful due to work load even between semesters that makes it hard to take a day off. Underpaid for the hours required to work. Work should be enjoyable not nerve racking.
Pros
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
attended school here
DNP student (Former Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSApril 18, 2018
No work experience but attended school for PMHNP and DNP. Seemed like a good place to work. While at USM the instructors seemed to work together well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for a student
Front Desk Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSApril 17, 2018
This job is good for students looking to make money while also doing their homework. A relaxed, stress free environment allows employees to do their job while also focusing on studies.
Pros
work study
Cons
not a lot of money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good experience
Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSApril 6, 2018
Though there is a lack of organization, my overall experiences at the University of Southern Mississippi was good. I learned so much and enjoyed my time as an employee.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Custodian (Current Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSApril 3, 2018
jod duties are not bad as far as cleaning offices but the management team can be overwhelming. You will also be able to meet a lot of new people and be a inpac in a lot of students life.
Pros
fun day at the end of the year
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice working environment, not good enough pay
Resident Assistant/Desk Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSMarch 30, 2018
My typical day as an RA is working the desk for 2 hours and then working throughout the residence hall for the rest of the day. Through this job I've learned that I'm more of a hands on person. My manager was somewhat helpful and the atmosphere provided a nice working environment. The hardest part about this job is that there is no separation of work and home. I live in the residence hall, so I'm technically at work 24/7. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting all sorts of people from different parts of the country.
Pros
free room and board
Cons
no separation of work and home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate Student
Instructor/Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSMarch 28, 2018
While graduate students make low pay at USM, it is a joy working there. Most of the professors are there to help and mentor you. I learned how to be a better teacher through their program.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Resident Assistant Job
Resident Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSMarch 28, 2018
The job can be stressful but mostly because you are balancing the job with school. The staff is professional and always responds to questions and comments in a timely manner.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this job
Admissions Telecounselor (Former Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSMarch 9, 2018
This was an after school job that I absolutely loved. I worked with other college students to call prospective students and to help them decide to come to USM
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College Job
Electronics Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSMarch 8, 2018
There isn't much to say about my position at USM. It was a temporary position that I enjoyed serving in as a student. I recommended the position to underclassmen and encouraged them to apply, and I left when I graduated. And that was that.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The University of Southern MIssissippi. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 189 reviews
597
466
319
23
14

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.1Culture

Ratings from women

2.3InHerSight Score

2.0Personal Development

2.6Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

The University of Southern MIssissippi Reviews by Location