The University of Texas at San Antonio Employee Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Based on 255 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5145
474
325
26
15
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 255 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need Better People
Associate Director -Compliance (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJune 15, 2018
Education in general is a poorly run business that people get comfortable at and do the bare minimum at their job. This place has certain individuals who do the bare minimum and does not set up the next team member up for success.
Pros
ability to network across campus if you have that type of personality
Cons
lack of drive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Education
Molecular Biology Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 21, 2018
The education was excellent for students when it came to the upper division classes. The jobs were only from either Aramark or they were work-study positions making it difficult to find jobs on campus that are willing to let you study when there is down time.
Pros
Many places on campus to eat
Cons
Not as many places to study
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be Prepared
Senior Public Service Officer (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 18, 2018
The UTSA PD expects a lot out of you and in return you receive a lot more in return in experience and benefits.
They accept only honest hardworking individuals that learn their jobs and do it professionally and with a smile. 7 housing ares and 30000 student enrollment will keep always on your toes. a 24 /7 library and student population means everything that happens in a small city happens here. its a job not for everyone and the application process can take a bit but well worth it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment
Development Intern (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 16, 2018
everyone is close and working towards the same goal. it is high energy and being around sports is one of the best part of the job because that is what i love.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for qualifying students
Teacher Assistant and Reader/Grader (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 13, 2018
Management was excellent. Allowed me to work from home and set my own hours for tutoring. Easy job with great people. I would highly recommend it to any student who qualifies.
Pros
Work from home
Cons
Not many hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work environment and work was great
Endowment Specialist/Development Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 7, 2018
I enjoyed the work environment and loved the work but the compensation was not fair to most employees. There was a lot of detail that went into the position but was not financially compensated enough.
Pros
work environement and the work
Cons
Not enough compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced and friendly faculty, not much room for advancement.
University Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TX 78249May 6, 2018
Faculty, coworkers and management were friendly and hard-working however there was little to no room for advancement, pay was minimal, no benefits, but acceptable for a part-time job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 3, 2018
Had a good time working there as a TA for several professors. I don't have any experience dealing with administration or any other realities of full employment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full Time student
Full time student (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 24, 2018
Im a full time student at utsa, majoring in geology and the people that i have met from class are amazing. we all work as a team to reach our goals of finishing projects and homeworks.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Summer Conference Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 23, 2018
Dealt with customers/residents living at UTSA Housing and coded keys and dealt with Incident reports and lockouts. Answered phone calls about UTSA housing and prepped rooms in the summer to help with conference group move in as well as orientation check in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ta
Introductory Physics Lab Instructor (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 16, 2018
Graduate programs require you to teach, usually an intro physics lab - which I did. The pay was decent for a graduate student living off campus, but there was some extra time that had to be allotted to the lab. Instructors were required to lecture about the lab topic (most of the course lectures and labs do not align and they can be doing a lab over a topic they have not seen yet, or saw weeks prior and forgot), quizzes about the lab, which had to be solved and graded by the lab instructor, and a final exam that pertained to all experiments over the semester - this exam was 50 questions, multiple choice. There was no answer sheet for the exam, so the instructor needed to take time to go back over all past lab handouts and find the answers to the specific steps/procedure of the lab. Of course, that is the work of a professor, but time management was the most important aspect, since you are taking 3 graduate level courses as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 12, 2018
It's a great job to build your resume for various teaching positions. I was able to learn how to handle different situations. I was able to enrich my teaching style.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall friendly environment
Accounting Clerk (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 12, 2018
Everyone helps each other to perform better in their job tasks.
On the job training is given as well as other training to learn PeopleSoft. There are no advancement opportunities but the benefits are good for full time employees
Pros
friendly and co-workers able to get training on job
Cons
no advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Student Administration Officer at UTSA (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 12, 2018
Great place to work! Made many friends and hours were very flexible. Was a great place to make connections and make some money while going to school and advancing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for students to work
Operations Assistant (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 3, 2018
Pay is competitive with other on-campus jobs. Flexible schedules. It is a good place to start when you are starting to look for jobs. If you can make it all the way to Facility Manager you get a raise plus added responsibility.
Pros
Flexible schedules
Cons
Not very many available jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cooperative and Diversity of workers
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMarch 30, 2018
Workplace is fun and i have learned a lot while trying to lecture. My office is very quiet and clean that i can study for a long time without any distractions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed with good supervisors
Work Study (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMarch 21, 2018
Managers were laid back but maintained a good work ethic and treated their employees the best. Learned how to use phones properly, how to handle confidential files, and the most enjoyable part of the job was getting to know my colleagues.
Pros
Awesome boss
Cons
Wish I could have been full time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice lil job
Department of Accounting Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMarch 20, 2018
Great for a college student. I could do homework if it was slow. Management was pretty understanding about that since it's part of the on-campus jobs.
Pros
relaxed
Cons
random excel assignments that mngt should've been doing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job Satisfaction
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMarch 19, 2018
Autonomy at work, flexible work environment, challenging work experience,Computer and cyber security pioneer, great colleagues, knowledgeable and friendly supervisor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent School
STUDENT RESEARCHER (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMarch 16, 2018
The PI makes the lab. Where I worked at, we were under the titulage of 3 professors which meant you had plenty of options when it came to asking someone a favor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The University of Texas at San Antonio. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.4InHerSight Score

2.4Personal Development

2.6Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

The University of Texas at San Antonio Reviews by Location