The University of Texas Health Science Center

The University of Texas Health Science Center Culture reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Based on 84 reviews
Ratings breakdown
534
433
312
22
13
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 18 reviews matching the search See all 84 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible work environment
Graduate/Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 19, 2018
The system is so focused on expanding to different locations but does a really poor job of existing locations. Unfair and unfit management, bad treatment, and terrible work culture with lots of drama.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 27, 2018
A typical day at work consisted of interacting with a variety of people. The most enjoyable part of the job was the collaboration and learning environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working environment!!!
STANDARDIZE PATIENT (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 24, 2017
Enjoyed the professional culture with UT and my supervisors as well as co-workers.
Excellent training classes required to prepare for cases.
Staff was always going out of the their to assist standardize patients in preparation for daily assignments.
Pros
Professional atmosphere
Cons
Paying for parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits and good schedule
Case Aide (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 9, 2017
Company has great benefits, but there is not chance to grow, working for ten years and just one dollar raise, People should be respect it does not matter their culture, or age, every person deserves fair treatment and recognition, a well motivated employee is great worker.
Pros
low salary
Cons
low chance to grow or advance your knowledge.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
neutral
Community Practice Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 24, 2017
There is an extreme amount of nepotism within the organization. The workplace culture is horrific. There are no standards when it comes to pay equality or benefits for having a higher education than your peers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work...
Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 17, 2017
Management: fair
Workplace culture: great
Hardest part of job: not enough time in the day to do all I want to do...
Enjoyable part: helping people / problem solving
A typical day at work: juggling several responsibilities, time management
Pros
Benefits, people, opportunity
Cons
Work life balance, commute
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management issues
Insurance Verification Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 27, 2017
The job was very difficult with little to no training. There was a team lead in place that did not want to assist, so my error rate was extremely high. Some situations were far beyond my reach and that was never taken into account.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work. Advancement opportunities available.
Business Administrator (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXFebruary 28, 2017
The UTHSCSA is a great place to work, good hours, great benefits. I enjoyed working with all levels of faculty and staff.
Pros
Great co-workers
Cons
Have to pay for parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UT Life
Sr. Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 24, 2017
The UT System is a really great place to work especially if you have children in school because they follow the HISD school time off schedule so you are off many times your child is. The team was really nice and my department administrator was very fair to her team. I left because of the reduction in force.
Pros
work enviroment
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Research Technician (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 30, 2017
Lovely workplace culture, everyone is willing to make the organization a better place, birthdays and holidays are happily celebrated. Opportunity to explore various departments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and great work/life balance
Clinical Therapist (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 11, 2016
Great place to work. Management is very involved and supportive. Growth in my area is encouraged and the employees are a great support team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Intern, UTHSCA (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXSeptember 8, 2015
If you like to work in an environment where you will be busy all day then this is the place you want to be. I had a blast working here and would recommend it to anyone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working place
LVN (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 6, 2015
With this being a teaching facility I have learned so much. Co workers are team players.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Lead Nurse Practitioner (Former Employee) –  San AntonioAugust 19, 2013
Great institution to work for, couldn't ask for better co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT/MEDICAL SECRETARY (Former Employee) –  Tyler, TexasJanuary 2, 2013
I had the best physicians ever to work for and they were not just my bosses, they were my friends. I learned all areas of finance, marketing, travel, and payroll. Management was great. The most enjoyable part of this job was the interaction I had with pharmaceutical reps and physicians.
Pros
experience & benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be there to work
Registered Dental Assistant (Former Employee) –  San antonio, TXNovember 20, 2012
it is very busy. you have to love what you do to work here. the Walzem site is very busy. I loved who i worked with.
Pros
great people
Cons
not enough help
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Communicator (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 30, 2012
UTHealth is a great place to work! You are able to meet numerous talented individuals making a difference in health care.
Pros
great benefits, great people, great vacation time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more The University of Texas Health Science Center reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The University of Texas Health Science Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.4Personal Development

3.6Career Opportunities

3.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

The University of Texas Health Science Center Reviews by Location