The Urban Institute Employee Reviews

Found 14 reviews matching the search See all 16 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organization
Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 7, 2018
Love working for the organization! Great culture, lots of work to do although with limited resources. The company is growing and changing positively
Cons
Compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Accountability for Management
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 27, 2018
Management is not held accountable for actions, my manager did not do what she was supposed to. Many documents were left on her desk because she is not organized.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place if right fit
Junior Writer (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 28, 2017
I've been here for roughly a year now and while my coworkers are generally nice I haven't really clicked with too many people here. There's also just been a general lack of fit between my skillset and my job responsibilities and my supervisor isn't entirely helpful with helping me to improve my skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect work life balance
Project Administrator (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 2, 2017
Real team atmosphere with great managers. Everyone understands and respects that you have a life outside of the office and enjoys working towards a common goal.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a very friendly place to be, relaxing and comfortable.
Secretary/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 23, 2017
I enjoyed Urban Institute because I was learning at the same time as teaching people other stuff. It was a very well kept atmosphere, with friendly employees and exciting work days.
Pros
Lunch was on manager everyday, got to meet new people everyday.
Cons
No health benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place
Program Administrator (Consultant) (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 11, 2016
A great experience in a collegiate environment. The staff is dedicated to the organizational mission and the work is very interesting if you are interested in social policy issues. The research conducted here is world-class.
Pros
Culture
Cons
Uncertainty and creating your own business can be challenging
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uplifting environment
Project Administrator (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 27, 2015
The Urban Institute is a great place to learn and grow when developing skills in research. I like implementing proposals and managing projects.
Pros
Awesome researchers to work with on different projects
Cons
No room for growth as an administrator
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research think tank non-profit organization
Human Resources Administrator (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 30, 2015
My overall day included an array of Human Resources functions including payroll processing, benefits administration, new hire orientation, HRIS data entry, all employee inquires.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 26, 2014
The work/life balance is unparalleled to any organization i have worked at before.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in the Urban institute was very responsible and let me develop much
Local Self-Government Consultant (Former Employee) –  Kvareli, Kakheti regionJuly 12, 2014
While assisting local self government and local citizens in decision making process I felt myself useful. I used to work with youth groups and let them be involved in governmental activities. They were trained by me in self development, children rights, in gender issues..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work! Laid back but still professional and effective.
Associate (Current Employee) –  Washington DCApril 29, 2013
Great place to work overall. Hours flexible, topics of study were interesting. All coworkers are friendly and positive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Public Policy Summer Fellowship
Summer Fellow (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMarch 26, 2013
Excellent summer experience in DC, learning the public policy industry. I was exposed to multiple research topics and methods, SAS training, and weekly visits in the DC area. Additionally, paired up with senior staff, I developed a public policy paper on transportation, infusing me with passion on the subject. Fellow interns and staff were awesome mentors and colleagues that broadened my horizon on my capability and drive for sustainable policy change.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible Research
DIRECTOR, Financial Planning and Investments (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 26, 2012
Research integrity is paramount. A lot of smart, policy wonks work here and do what they do best!
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 5Report

See more The Urban Institute reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Urban Institute. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 16 reviews
511
43
31
20
11

See reviews about

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.1Culture

Ratings from women

3.6InHerSight Score

3.7Personal Development

3.6Career Opportunities

3.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

The Urban Institute Reviews by Location