The Vanguard School Employee Reviews

Showing all 10 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed subbing at the Vanguard school
Substitute Teacher K-12 (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COMarch 17, 2018
The substitutes were treated very well at the school. Everyone was professional but also friendly. the pay is not as competitive as the public schools, but the students are very respectful.
Pros
respectful students
Cons
pay is low
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall I enjoyed teaching the students.
Media Center Specialist, Apex computer teacher (Current Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLSeptember 26, 2017
Low pay, stressful; at times. Discrimination was present. Students were not watched properly at the boarding school. There was always someone looking over your shoulder watching to see if you made a mistake and report you. You could never let your guard down. Loved working with students from all over the world. You became family to them and you would grow to love them.
Pros
The students
Cons
Administration
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Official response from The Vanguard School
July 2, 2018

I am sorry you experience discrimination at the boarding school. I am confident this review is not for The Vanguard School located in Colorado Springs, CO, but instead for a boarding school elsewhere. Please consider removing your comment from this school and adding it to the appropriate school.

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning experience
Residential Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLMay 1, 2017
Great experience to work with students from around world. to be apart of their social growth and to help them grow academically. This is not a 40 hour week job. To be successful you this is not a 8hr shift and then go home. You must be able to build relationships with parents and the students. The Director is great to work with and the President expect the best of his staff.
Pros
All holidays and Summers off and your pay is spread out over 12moths.
Cons
A lot of hours and at times stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Official response from The Vanguard School
July 2, 2018

This review was incorrectly placed on The Vanguard School located in Colorado Springs, CO. Please consider removing your comment from this page and adding it to the appropriate school.

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging
Paraprofessional Educator (Current Employee) –  Paoli, PAFebruary 1, 2017
A typical day at work is one busy with attention to getting the job done in a timely fashion, enjoying the process and my colleges.
Pros
Buisness hours, Monday through Friday
Cons
Short breaks, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Official response from The Vanguard School
July 2, 2018

Please consider removing your review from this page for The Vanguard School located in Colorado Springs, CO and adding it to the appropriate school.

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great family enviroment
Residential Live-on supervisor (Current Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLMarch 7, 2016
This is a very eventful career choice. no one day is the same. even though the residential program is scheduled for daily activities things can change in a blink of an eye. while here I have learn to be very flexible with a daily schedule and how to use my time wisely. The administration can be supported but they do want to micro manage the staff. The staff are good people just because they are here for the same reason the students. If you are to collect a paycheck this is not a job for you. the hardest part of the Job is the scheduled work hours. If you are a family oriented person or a newlywed the time required of you is hard to do both. The most enjoyable part is watching the students accomplish a goal and succeed in life.
Pros
free meals while working, oppurtunity to have a free apartment
Cons
constantly on call 24hrs a day, no social life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from The Vanguard School
July 2, 2018

Please consider removing your review from this page for The Vanguard School located in Colorado Springs, CO and adding it to the appropriate school.

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and wonderful place to teach children with special needs
Recreational Counselor/Classroom Aide (Current Employee) –  Malvern, PAJuly 31, 2015
This was a magical place for children with special needs to gain the support they need to succeed in life. The school consist of a lower, middle and upper school. There are occupational therapist, physical therapist and speech therapist there for each child's need.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from The Vanguard School
July 2, 2018

Please consider removing your review from this page for The Vanguard School located in Colorado Springs, CO and adding it to the appropriate school.

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in an environment that is positive
Athletic Director Aide (Current Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COMay 30, 2014
• Planned and implemented diverse youth summer sport camps and athletic team’s schedules, including logistics.
• Created and transferred paper based volunteer system to a new online registration system.
• Generated and distributed volunteer hour reports to clients.
• Point of contact for client and staff questions regarding dates, times, and locations of events.
• Made recommendations to administrative staff regarding event management.
• Greeted, instructed & supervised volunteers at events.
• Communicated with Athletic Directors, athletic coaches and business office personnel weekly.
• Scheduled and coordinated academic events through oral and electronic communication.
• Acted as administrator for volunteer program, source of all information, procedures, and resources.
Pros
Flexible work schedule
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best school I ever worked at.
English Teacher (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLAugust 24, 2012
I was hired as an English teacher to replace another teacher who had decided to move on to greener pastures. I taught Grammer skills, spelling, vocabulary, reading comprehension and essay writing. These were the best students I ever taught. They were enthusiastic, bright, willing to work, and very friendly. Many were sorry to see me go when I was laid off due to budget cuts. I increased English skills in all student by 79 percent.
The hardest part of my job was designed some lesson plans for gifted students. The most enjoyable part was the students themselves. Whatever they do in life, they will make fine citizens.
Pros
students, managment, lunches
Cons
laid off due to budget cuts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from The Vanguard School
July 2, 2018

Please consider removing your review from this page for The Vanguard School located in Colorado Springs, CO and adding it to the appropriate school.

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
staff (Former Employee) –  lw flAugust 19, 2012
as a staff was a great experiences i meet great people
i had enjoy work with kids with special learning disabilities i learn a bunch my favorite part of it was traveling with them..as far as manager staff was poor
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from The Vanguard School
July 2, 2018

Please consider removing your review from this page for The Vanguard School located in Colorado Springs, CO and adding it to the appropriate school.

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Vanguard School. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 10 reviews
52
45
33
20
10

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.7Culture

The Vanguard School Reviews by Location