The Walt Disney Studios Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the Brand but...
Marketing Manager (Current Employee) –  Burbank, CAMay 25, 2018
Love what we produce but the pay hasn't been what I had hoped for. You can apply for jobs once in the company but if you're in marketing there is a lot of competition from within as well as from the outside. No guarantees you will advance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Animated work environment
A&R Administrator (Former Employee) –  Burbank, CAMay 21, 2018
Disney a blessing to work.
Learned a great deal of music industry.
Hardest part was to see abuse of management
Producing family entertainment working with wonderful
coworkers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful place to work
Manager, Production (Former Employee) –  Burbank, CAMay 9, 2018
If you ever have an opportunity to work with Disney or their affiliate companies, do it!

You will make friends for a lifetime.

A typical day may include some creative meetings, a financial review, a movie screening.

They make it very easy to get all of your life chores done - employee center, dry cleaning, commissary,
Pros
Benefits, People and
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A diverse company to work for with multiple opportunities for growth.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAApril 9, 2018
I was a long-term temp, and was hired during the recession, so they would not hire me full time. I found the company had a lot of great talent working for them, but it also had people working for them who were extremely under-qualified. However, the company does need many workers who do simple tasks such as data-entry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Walt Disney Company is Fantastic If...
2nd Assistant (Former Employee) –  Burbank, CAFebruary 15, 2018
....you can find the right group to work for at it. As a company of roughly 120,000 employees, this is more challenging than it may seem. In some cases, you work for a group that is a profit center and run by subject matter experts who have gotten to where they are as a result of merit. But not all lines of business at Disney are as respectable. Regardless, if you look at the company from a holistic standpoint, I would say it is the single greatest company to work for in the world.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
MICROSTRATEGY/TABLEAU BI DEVELOPER (Current Employee) –  Burbank, CAFebruary 8, 2018
I have been working at Walt Disney Company as a contractor (More than a year)

Pros

Great team, fun environment, flexible hours.


Great co workers, fun environment, great benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Initially a great place but it was an illusion.
Senior Digital Operator (Former Employee) –  Burbank, CAJanuary 19, 2018
I initially was excited to work here but it was all a facade. The management acts like the employees are family and one mistake and you are crucified.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
and who did minnie?
Audio/Recording Engineer (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles County, CAJanuary 4, 2018
great company to work for,, benefits excellent...people there, not so much..i love the environment and the facility overall is up to date and maintenance on gear is phenomenal
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Production Assistant (Former Employee) –  Burbank, CANovember 7, 2017
This is a film crew that takes it's job serious. There are times they can be fun to hang, but they'll make sure that the job is done and to be filmed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We work hard and play hard!
Technical Support Engineer (Former Employee) –  Glendale, CAOctober 15, 2017
This is a high-paced environment that is on the cutting edge of animation and technology. Mostly a LINUX shop, they are building their Windows infrastructure for their growing business partner community. The people are hard working and produce top-notch quality products (film, animation, documentation, etc) so when they are kicking it, they do just that. Known for how hard they relax when the job is done, this place is full of fun people that are committed to producing quality entertainment for the viewing public. I would recommend this place to any one of my friends, as a place to work hard and enjoy the culture, environment and pace of the people.
Pros
Play hard, lots of fun, movies on Fridays, free snacks
Cons
Work hard... no weekend work but still...
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright for entry level candidates
Trainer, Consultant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 27, 2017
Interesting place. If you're competitive and don't mind being in a challenging environment, this is a place for you. If you're a starter looking for entry-level experience it can work for you.
Pros
interesting environment
Cons
stressful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outdoor Food & Beverage Vendor
Outdoor Food & Beverage Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLSeptember 7, 2017
• Outdoor food vendor
• Serving and interacting with guests at all times
• Enforced good customer relations
• Taught to accommodate guests from all over the world
• Responsible for collecting and keeping track of transactions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A small studio with a family feel.
OPEIU-General Accountant-Studio Ops (Former Employee) –  Burbank, CAApril 24, 2017
I would have stayed at that position until they buried me, however, my department was closed and my time there concluded. There was much configuring going on at the time and sadly my whole area was eliminated.
Pros
The thrill of working for a legendary studio.
Cons
That the company no longer wanted to be a rental studio.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only the highest regard for this company.
Senior Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Burbank, CAMarch 1, 2017
This company allows growth for employees and promotion. I was recognized and promoted several times throughout. I respect this company to the fullest. I was able to work with an environment that had highly confidential celebrities.
Pros
I experienced many positive experiences with this company.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Brand to work for
Creative Services Manager - Consultant (Former Employee) –  Burbank, CAFebruary 26, 2017
Was a Creative Manager in the Home Entertainment division.

Loved the people! We worked under a fairly high stress environment.

Great perks with Disney Silver pass!
Pros
Perks
Cons
Job security for some
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Resort Custodial (Former Employee) –  Lake Buena Vista, FLApril 14, 2016
By far the best experience ive had at a job. it was way more fun than stress. we got a chance everyday to please our guest. not one day past where i felt like i was wirking
Pros
fun. free family access
Cons
the Florida sum
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Merchandising Intern (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLMarch 23, 2016
Very friendly and positive work environment everyday is something new. You're able to help families create magical memories that will last a lifetime.
Pros
Park Perks
Cons
Pay scale
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Web developer / Art directing
Graphic / Art Director / Print (Former Employee) –  Studio City, CASeptember 17, 2015
I was in charge of developing box collectibles for Walt Disney. Casablanca, Gone with the wind, Matrix and many more box collectibles.

Currently studying in school I learned Flash and Dreamweaver to produce shopping carts, web design and flash animation. It was really a great start.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern review
Management Science & Integration Intern (Former Employee) –  Burbank,CAJune 4, 2015
Great company to work for. Multiple opportunities within the firm and great perks to enjoy. Downside is less focus on fun at work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Projection Engineer (Former Employee) –  Burbank, CAApril 24, 2015
I learned a lot about positive reinforcement, and its effect on employees. I also learned how to get along with those coworkers from different cultures.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 6Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Walt Disney Studios. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 46 reviews
525
410
310
20
11

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
4.3Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture