Theranos Employee Reviews

3.5
Overall rating
Based on 32 reviews
Ratings breakdown
56
412
37
25
12
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 32 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free meals everyday
R&D Electronics Technician (Current Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAMarch 10, 2018
good place to work and good manager with team work .Have meeting every month and party at Halloween, big Party at new year.get review one a year good benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Theranos Labs INC
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZMarch 9, 2018
Working for Theranos I learned about the finger stick and how Theranos was going to try to stop using the needles for the blood draws. I would practice the finger stick with every patient I saw at our Walgreens location. But after a while the CEO was told that there was not enough blood for an accurate test results. The management had us working very long hours so that patients could come in from 7am till 9am Monday through Sunday. The hardest part about working for Theranos was the 1 day off. The enjoyable part of the job was the people I meet. Also the co-workers we became family
Pros
Being able to be paid what I was worth and getting the recognition on my knowledge of Phlebotomy
Cons
The days I had to work, The company closing their doors and I was with no job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not recommend
Senior Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAFebruary 3, 2018
poor management
stressful culture
no 401k plan match at all
basic dental health vision insurance
free lunch and dinner thru eat club
huge campus area
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolute great place to work for
Customer Experience Specialist (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZNovember 12, 2017
Theranos was a place to call home to many of us. Especially, with management they were there when you need them and people were awesome. They provided meals for lunch and dinner. Unlimited snacks. Great pay, Great benefits. I was able to gain much knowledge from this lab compare to anywhere else. If you need more training they provided. This is a place to work.
Pros
Pay, Benefits, people, atmosphere, no stress
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work!
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAOctober 16, 2017
Working At theranos was the worse experienced in my short research experience. Working there was frustrating, because of the lack of support the scientific group had from upper management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn alot
Materials Manager (Former Employee) –  Newark, CAAugust 25, 2017
One who works at Theranos, Inc. will have the ability to wear multiple hats and learn a great deal.

It is an exciting company with interesting technology.

It is a fast-paced work environment.

All team members collaborate to complete tasks.
Pros
Long commute to work
Cons
Free lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun place to work with
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Newark, CAAugust 24, 2017
great place to work, family oriented.management treat people equally,safe place to work,friendly people,benefits are really good and free food from breakefast,lunch,and dinner.
Pros
free lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sr. Quality Inspector (Current Employee) –  Newark, CAAugust 18, 2017
Very friendly type work environment. A lot of fun stuffs to do such as ping pong, basketball, GYM...
The best part is they provide snacks, breakfast and lunch.
Pros
Company paid lunch
Cons
Communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
weirdest place
Buyer / Shipping and Receiving/ Inventory (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAAugust 7, 2017
days working there were weird. someday there was lots of work, then... slow.. stop. culture was weird and divided. didn't not appreciate management style.

the few people that worked with others.. made it bearable..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They shut down
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 6, 2017
The pay was good, but worked 12 hour shifts. Was constantly told everything was going good and that they would be opeaning more location. Only to have them pull us in one day to lay everyone off!
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Elizabeth Holmes
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was able to work with very brilliant people
CNC Programmer/Prototype (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAJune 2, 2017
Was crazy in the beginning. But calmed down later on.
Great culture. Everyone work hard to do their best.
Meals were provided. This was a great bonus.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Met lots of talented people here
Research Associate Scientist (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAMarch 22, 2017
I've grown and learned so much from the number of years I've been with this company. The experience will be variable depending on the group/team you work with though.
Pros
Free lunch and snacks
Cons
very basic benefits offered
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun place to work
Associate Scientist (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAJanuary 6, 2017
I love the people there the most, my group was very tight knit and we trust and treat each other like family. We often meet and share extracurricular with each other outside of work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZDecember 20, 2016
Theranos was a great company. They catered to many patients needs. I truly enjoyed going to work everyday. I just wish Theranos considered family time a little more six day work week on 10 hour shifts was a little draining.
Pros
Lunch was always catered in the office
Cons
Long shift hours, and six day work week
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Medical carrier (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZNovember 30, 2016
enjoyed my time with this company, typical work week. Management was great, fun co-workers. great job over all now I am on to better opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Senior Scientist (Current Employee) –  Palo Alto, CANovember 15, 2016
Good work culture. Nice place to work. Start up culture, very talented people highly motivate and product driven company. 9:00AM-6:30PM official work hours
Pros
Free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Corp Security (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZNovember 7, 2016
Working with Theranos had a great environment and great co-workers. I would gladly work with them again if operation in Arizona took place. I appreciated what my supervisor did as for his job incorporated. He was a great supervisor.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a nice company to work for. Good atmosphere , good coworkers, good benefits
Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAOctober 26, 2016
I liked working for this company. I was involved in many projects and they had technology new to me. Unfortunately legal lssues made this company lay off many employees.
Pros
Good balance work life, nice people to work with and good benefits
Cons
Bad administration
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Workplace with great experiences
Phlebotomist Technician (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZOctober 6, 2016
By-far this has been the best company I have worked for. The employees here are amazing! A group of people who want to show up to work each day to provide the best experience for our guests and help in every way we can.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Oriented Environment
Phlebotomy Technician (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZOctober 5, 2016
The environment was positive and we worked together to help each other succeed. The typical day included performing venipuncture techniques to collect samples from guests, and preparing them for lab analysis. The position was very enjoyable and management was very supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Theranos. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Women's ratings

1.5Fairygodboss Score

0%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

0%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss