Thermo Fisher Scientific Employee Reviews

Found 1,600 reviews matching the search See all 1,968 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sales Representative 2 (Former Employee) –  Storrs Mansfield, CTSeptember 17, 2018
It was a good place to work. Pay was good and workload was neverending. Hours were long in order to be successful. Expect to work a lot on weekends and vacations in sales.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy pace with friendly people
Techwriter Writer (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CASeptember 17, 2018
I liked the friendly, hard working people. The company has experienced mgmt.and well focused organization. A shuttle bus beween BART and the facility would improve commuter options.
Pros
cafeteria
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large turnover in management which causes constant changes
Business/Management Consultant (Current Employee) –  North and South CarolinaSeptember 17, 2018
I have had 6 different managers in 8 years at Thermo. This causes constant changes in the way we report and operate. I believe most of the sales team see the force as being unstable because of this. Job security is something employees should not have to worry about especially if they are making or exceeding their goals. A typical work day entails working with channel partners, instrument, life science and chemical partners seeing customers and meetings to discuss strategies and follow up. I also see customers for direct business.
The compensations benefits are very good but its the unstable culture of the company at the regional and national level that is worrisome.
The hard part of the job is trying to keep up with different resources and getting sales numbers on time to review. The easy part is being in front of customers closing business.
Pros
Company car and monthly commissions.
Cons
Not knowing from one day to the other if and when nthere will be new changes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning a lot!
SCIENTIST I (Current Employee) –  Greenville, NCSeptember 15, 2018
Great place to learn. Days are the same mostly. There's a lot of work to do, but can be done. Not much micro managing. Very flexible with schedules, given you finish your tasks.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement
Desktop Support Technician (Current Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MISeptember 15, 2018
If you want to do the same job for several years, this is the place. If you want to have the opportunity to advance, look elsewhere. This is a do as I say not as I do environment.
Pros
Decent pay.
Cons
Career development.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Penfield, NYSeptember 14, 2018
its an good place to work for single people. i found it to be ok with what we were doing but i had to move on to better things. I was not happy with management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work
Production Technician 3 (Former Employee) –  Logan, UTSeptember 14, 2018
I worked on the night shift and liked that I was able to do full time work and finish up my schooling at the same time. This was a fun place to work. They care about the employees and do things for them like summer parties at a park with games and activities for your family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful and chaotic
QUALITY CONTROL TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Millersburg PASeptember 13, 2018
This would be a great company to work for but the management is the worst I've ever seen, the supervisors are never around and ignore all the problems the people have. They blame production for not getting work out instead of trying to fix the problems on the floor. Most of the people are nasty especially to new people. Nobody really knows standard work procedures so it is chaos all day everyday. You work mandatory overtime every week and rarely get a weekend off.
Pros
vacation time
Cons
overtime, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs better management in HR
Talent Acquisition Partner (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCSeptember 13, 2018
managed multiple projects at the same time. Obtained experience in running onsite hiring events.Being able to work from home was the most enjoyable part of the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits and great test
Health Systems Specialist (Current Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VASeptember 12, 2018
Big company with good benefits. Our division is experiencing some bumps and management is overly micromanaging. but the mission is worthwhile and it is fulfilling work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
one of the best companies i worked with
Senior Sourcing Associate (Current Employee) –  Allentown, PASeptember 12, 2018
i have learned how to work with a team, learned on GPM system and Coda System, follow with vendors to get the products on time,
the hardest part is having over than 100 emails daily.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Inspector and machine operator (Former Employee) –  New York StateSeptember 11, 2018
Great place to work. Fast pace but really easy to learn the job. At first things may seem to be over whelming but they start you off with something easy then work your way up. In no time you will understand the work environment and when you need help, help is always around.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay, lots of learning opportunities
Regional Site Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHSeptember 11, 2018
Great place to work with lots of learning opportunities. Advancement is possible with hard work and innovative ideas.

Management is there to help and not hinder or micro-manage. I miss working there.
Pros
Pay, Collaboration
Cons
Hard to get time off at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of planning
SENIOR FIELD SERVICE ENGINEER (Current Employee) –  Fremont, CASeptember 11, 2018
Its okay as far as working but not enough to live in the area due cost of living. Management structure is redundant. Too many supervisor and manager but lacking of people taking actions.
Pros
Good training ground
Cons
management is not as good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NO balance between home and the workplace.
STERIS PRODUCTION TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Greenville, NCSeptember 10, 2018
This place will lie and tell you anything to get you in the door. Work you so much unless you upper management or work in office/ lab your find. Production over head is the problem. This place will have you working crazy hours. Warning, worst career move your every make. Also the work culture is horrible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They make us work long hours
Assembler (Current Employee) –  Millersburg, OHSeptember 10, 2018
I would say it’s a good job at first but it’s long hours on your feet and they don’t pay you well unless your on the weekend shift which is two twelve hour days and then 2 , 8 hour days.
Pros
Benifits
Cons
People, overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High turnover
Senior Engineering Technician (Former Employee) –  Asheville, NCSeptember 8, 2018
People don't quit jobs the quit their boss. There was new part time employees on a weekly basis, 80% of them left because of a boss that chose to bark vs show what he wanted
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You did great, now I want more
Senior Manufacturing Engineer (Former Employee) –  Marietta, OHSeptember 8, 2018
That was a statement given by the CEO at a general assembly of all the workers at the Marietta, OH site. This is the attitude the management team took when it came to the culture of the work environment as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible to work at!
Manager (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaSeptember 6, 2018
This place will expect you to work excessive hours, will try to deny you bonuses (it's in the culture), and focuses primarily on the bad; rarely good.
Pros
Diverse Company
Cons
Management and corporate will ride you even if you're hitting your goals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Sr. Mechanical Designer (Former Employee) –  Santa Clara, CASeptember 6, 2018
I had the opportunity to work with great people on exciting projects. If you have a desire to learn and improve your skill set, then Thermo Fisher Scientific is for you. Great experience overall.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Thermo Fisher Scientific. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,968 reviews
5475
4680
3471
2195
1147

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

2.9Personal Development

2.7Career Opportunities

3.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight