Thomson Corporation Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Assembler/Production (Current Employee) –  Marengo, ILFebruary 3, 2018
Management is clueless, does not know up from down, plant manager is difficult at best to work with, confusing / conflicting responsibilities. Operations manager is rude and condescending.
Pros
Descent compensation
Cons
Everything else, ...stay away
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
layoffs
Account Executive - Business Development (Former Employee) –  Farmington Hills, MINovember 16, 2017
layoffs, buyouts, more layoffs, more buyouts. The place is full of people making too much money for doing too little. They have a good culture for programmers, but not for sales development teams.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and fun
Representative/Retention (Former Employee) –  Valhalla, NYOctober 5, 2017
Worked independently.
Learned a new business and products.
Management always supported you with customer related issues.
Friendly and supportive culture.
Convincing customers to renew their contracts.
Retaining a customer by creating a educational package that fit their needs.
Pros
Free breakfast, lunch and catered food for parties. Company games.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company but management could use some help
IP Consultant (Former Employee) –  IllinoisAugust 2, 2017
I really enjoyed the work and clients I encountered working for TR. My colleagues were great as well. Management was not always connected to the stated processes and purpose at hand which caused confusion in priorities. Otherwise, for the most part, TR is a great opportunity to learn and challenge yourself on tasks you enjoy.
Pros
Great company with great reputation and people
Cons
Managers can be disconnected confusing priorities and purpose
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No more consumer electronics
Vice President Customer Operations (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INApril 26, 2017
I worked for Thomson when it was a major player in consumer electronics with the RCA brand. Those businesses are now gone and the company focuses on other content mgmt. businesses.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture
Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYApril 6, 2017
At Thomson, there's a culture of working conveniently. It allowed us to bring in more ideas and deal with programming issues better. There are great people here!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Broad range of opportunity
Senior Editor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 25, 2017
Comfortable work environment. Large corporation with diverse opportunity and merit-based advancement. Very layered management. Enjoyed working with immediate superiors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thomson
Deputy Retail Manager (Current Employee) –  ThomsonOctober 14, 2016
Best travel company to work for, excellent team work. Good work life balance. Great management and team. Co workers made the job..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive/ Important
LHS Monitor (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LAAugust 23, 2016
This was my favorite job out of all working experiences. Great environment, working along side people who will help you to have a productive day everyday. Overall a great experience I'd do it twice if I could.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for and good people
Project Manager, PMO Office (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 28, 2016
Good company and good people to work. Leadership is adequate. Outsourced their internal IT department. Does have a long term strategy but not very good at getting there.
Pros
Good people and work/life balance
Cons
Continuous outsourcing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small and very productive company
Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Santa Clara, CAMay 2, 2016
porting Thomson drivers to satisfy customers applications.

ST Microelectronics SoC and debugging tools.
OpenTV SDK.

My team management was good for the most time.

My co-workers were nice and skillful.

Working with OpenTV SDK support.

Integration with BSKYB application.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most creative and energetic employees.
Front Desk (Former Employee) –  Burbank, CAAugust 20, 2015
A very open and honest post production company. Promoted creativity and team work. Numerous options to grow within the large company.
Pros
The people and managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's good to belong to a business leader, in our industry
Field Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 10, 2015
I was a Field Service Manager for Thomson, RCA. We were top dog for many years. Quality of Service rating was around 90%, due in large to the FSMs. I had 9 states in my territory, a few hundred Authorized Service Centers, which we mentored on all phases of service. The FSMs were responsible for the the successful release of DirecTV. We sought out, authored, trained and coached 200 - 300 installers within our territories. I setup the CBS booth with DTV for Superbowl XXXVII in San Diego. Also I assisted with the DTV Press Release in LA and NY. Those were the days when we were on top of the world. Downside, foreign competition, relocation of the factory to MX from IN. That was the beginning of the end.
I got along very well with the techs in my territory. Still in touch with many.
Pros
Working from home, great management, major responsibilities and recognition
Cons
Thomson was owned by the French Government. Poor business decisions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Regional Sales Coordinator (Current Employee) –  valhalla, nyJanuary 14, 2015
I enjoy working with numbers, solving billing issues for clients,
I take pride in resolving billing issues for account managers and customers
most challenging part of my day is getting invoices in the system along with payments to apply correctly so client can be happy .
Pros
401K company match, tuition reimbursement, paid vacation & hoildays
Cons
no room for growth, more days to work from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excitement in working in area
Computer Operator (Former Employee) –  Eagan, MNDecember 29, 2014
All tasks related to the largest data center in the cities, always something to learn and do. Great place to learn
Pros
people
Cons
hours - shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting environment, lots of things to learn
Machine Operator #3 (Former Employee) –  Eagan, MNMarch 4, 2013
I learned a lot about the book making process. Orders declined, limiting advancement opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thomson Reuters
Senior Designer (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 1, 2013
Great company and products, great managers. Excellent projects
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the people
Forecaster/Demand Planning Analyst (Former Employee) –  Eagan, MNFebruary 17, 2013
• Teamed with S&OP leaders to collectively plan and improve methods of communication, performance and processes through IT-based network structure.
• Developed, executed and supervised product schedules, and specs for efficient input to make certain processes were published correctly and in a timely manner.
• Created schedules and forecasts to insure availability of materials needed. Determined shelf–life of materials; identified and terminated obsolete inventory.
• Assessed, interpret and evaluate sales history to determine material requirements needed to produce sufficient lot size for both general shipment and replenishment orders of finished goods.
Pros
free coffee
Cons
none come to mind
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thomson - one of the best places I worked
ASIC Layout Engineer & Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INFebruary 12, 2013
Outstanding teams of engineers, friends. Manufactures under the GE, RCA, ProScan and Scenium name brands
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovation
Director, Marketing & Business Development (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VANovember 10, 2012
nice solid co. w/ excellent benefits. depends on which publisher you work for ...your experience will vary
Pros
work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Thomson Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 94 reviews
541
435
313
23
12

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture