Thomson Corporation Employee Reviews

Found 36 reviews matching the search See all 97 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a fan
Customer Service/People Greeter Wal-Mart (Former Employee) –  Thomson, GAAugust 13, 2018
This job is very strenous. you have long ahours where you stand on your feet. Breaks and lunches are limited. They do not care about your outside life and health concerns,. benefits are not the best
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Thomson Summary
Tax Manager (Former Employee) –  Stamford, CTOctober 22, 2018
Thomson is a combination of various companies that are broken out into reporting segments. Each segment was staffed by a spare tax group made up of a manager and a staff person. Information was combined to make up the total tax reporting which was overseen by senior managers and directors. While this structure allowed for the development of detailed knowledge of the assigned market group in did not provide much insight into the top level consolidation of the reporting.
Roles might be reassigned based on the needs of the company at the direction of the Tax Director.
During my time at Thomson, I was fortunate enough to be assigned to two separate marketing groups that allowed my to expand my knowledge and be exposed to different management teams. The most difficult part of the position was being able to see the entire product based on the lack of exposure.
Pros
Development of detail knowledge of the marketing segment assigned
Cons
Lack of exposure to the overall top level project
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Assembler/Production (Current Employee) –  Marengo, ILFebruary 3, 2018
Management is clueless, does not know up from down, plant manager is difficult at best to work with, confusing / conflicting responsibilities. Operations manager is rude and condescending.
Pros
Descent compensation
Cons
Everything else, ...stay away
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Inside Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  indianapolis, INJune 26, 2012
Answering hundreds of calls per day
I learned how to multitask
the management team was very helpful
I enjoyed working with my co-workers
the hardest part of my job was knowing that there was not very much opportunity for advancement
the most enjoyable part of my job was sharing my knowledge of consumer electronics
Pros
great benefits, great hours
Cons
not enough pay, not very much upward mobility
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Regional Sales Coordinator (Current Employee) –  valhalla, nyJanuary 14, 2015
I enjoy working with numbers, solving billing issues for clients,
I take pride in resolving billing issues for account managers and customers
most challenging part of my day is getting invoices in the system along with payments to apply correctly so client can be happy .
Pros
401K company match, tuition reimbursement, paid vacation & hoildays
Cons
no room for growth, more days to work from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovation
Director, Marketing & Business Development (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VANovember 10, 2012
nice solid co. w/ excellent benefits. depends on which publisher you work for ...your experience will vary
Pros
work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place
Results Team Manager (IT/Customer Service) (Former Employee) –  Baltimore MarylandMarch 10, 2018
I really loved it there. It was a great place to work. I was challenged but satisfied, there was always the unknown which I enjoyed. I had to deal with Irate customers and get the job done. That is what makes me happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Fine Company to Work For
Manger (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 8, 2012
A friendly environment. A diverse group of workers. Compensation package was good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and fun
Representative/Retention (Former Employee) –  Valhalla, NYOctober 5, 2017
Worked independently.
Learned a new business and products.
Management always supported you with customer related issues.
Friendly and supportive culture.
Convincing customers to renew their contracts.
Retaining a customer by creating a educational package that fit their needs.
Pros
Free breakfast, lunch and catered food for parties. Company games.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company but management could use some help
IP Consultant (Former Employee) –  IllinoisAugust 2, 2017
I really enjoyed the work and clients I encountered working for TR. My colleagues were great as well. Management was not always connected to the stated processes and purpose at hand which caused confusion in priorities. Otherwise, for the most part, TR is a great opportunity to learn and challenge yourself on tasks you enjoy.
Pros
Great company with great reputation and people
Cons
Managers can be disconnected confusing priorities and purpose
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
layoffs
Account Executive - Business Development (Former Employee) –  Farmington Hills, MINovember 16, 2017
layoffs, buyouts, more layoffs, more buyouts. The place is full of people making too much money for doing too little. They have a good culture for programmers, but not for sales development teams.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's good to belong to a business leader, in our industry
Field Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 10, 2015
I was a Field Service Manager for Thomson, RCA. We were top dog for many years. Quality of Service rating was around 90%, due in large to the FSMs. I had 9 states in my territory, a few hundred Authorized Service Centers, which we mentored on all phases of service. The FSMs were responsible for the the successful release of DirecTV. We sought out, authored, trained and coached 200 - 300 installers within our territories. I setup the CBS booth with DTV for Superbowl XXXVII in San Diego. Also I assisted with the DTV Press Release in LA and NY. Those were the days when we were on top of the world. Downside, foreign competition, relocation of the factory to MX from IN. That was the beginning of the end.
I got along very well with the techs in my territory. Still in touch with many.
Pros
Working from home, great management, major responsibilities and recognition
Cons
Thomson was owned by the French Government. Poor business decisions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Broad range of opportunity
Senior Editor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 25, 2017
Comfortable work environment. Large corporation with diverse opportunity and merit-based advancement. Very layered management. Enjoyed working with immediate superiors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thomson
Deputy Retail Manager (Current Employee) –  ThomsonOctober 14, 2016
Best travel company to work for, excellent team work. Good work life balance. Great management and team. Co workers made the job..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good project support, flexible schedule, rewarding results
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYJuly 9, 2012
• Development, organization and management of capital improvement projects.
• Budget development, scheduling, work order generation and construction site supervision.
• RFP development, review and award. Vendor / contractor / governmental interface during facility improvement projects.
Pros
good supervision with "work family" feel. necessary tools to complete provided
Cons
consultant status. position directly affected by 9/11 tradegy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the people
Forecaster/Demand Planning Analyst (Former Employee) –  Eagan, MNFebruary 17, 2013
• Teamed with S&OP leaders to collectively plan and improve methods of communication, performance and processes through IT-based network structure.
• Developed, executed and supervised product schedules, and specs for efficient input to make certain processes were published correctly and in a timely manner.
• Created schedules and forecasts to insure availability of materials needed. Determined shelf–life of materials; identified and terminated obsolete inventory.
• Assessed, interpret and evaluate sales history to determine material requirements needed to produce sufficient lot size for both general shipment and replenishment orders of finished goods.
Pros
free coffee
Cons
none come to mind
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work,You could work all the overtime you wanted & make good money.Great friends & co-workers.
Quality Inspector Packer (Former Employee) –  Circleville, OHJune 1, 2012
Good day most of the time,unless maybe you were sick.Management was better than any other place I've worked.Co-workers were good people.Hardest part of the job ,probably the HEAT.Hanging out with the friends after work.I miss the job and my co-workers.
Pros
good breaks, great pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Executive Liaison
Executive Liaison (Former Employee) –  Stamford, CTJune 23, 2012
Thomson is one of the most impressive corporations that I have had the fortunate experience to work for. I really enjoyed going to work every day and was always more than willing to put in extra hours to complete a project or meet a deadline. I wish I didn't have to move and leave this career.
Pros
everything!
Cons
there weren't any.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for and good people
Project Manager, PMO Office (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 28, 2016
Good company and good people to work. Leadership is adequate. Outsourced their internal IT department. Does have a long term strategy but not very good at getting there.
Pros
Good people and work/life balance
Cons
Continuous outsourcing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
HRIS, Time and Labor Management Analyst (Current Employee) –  Ontario, CAAugust 15, 2012
As an intermediate level functional support, the primary focus was to work with the IT department in the support and maintenance of the HRMS and other applicatins supported by the HRIS team. Served as the functional point of contact . Support, HRMS upgrades, patches, testing of system changes, analyze process improvement flows. The hardest thing is still trying to learn and understand the interfaces, would love to be taught how they communicate with HRIS systems and how to read them
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Thomson Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 97 reviews
542
435
315
23
12

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.1Culture