Tilly's Retail Clothing Store Employee Reviews

Showing all 14 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy part-time job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLFebruary 4, 2019
easy retail job with a good atmosphere and generally fun environment

hours you get varies on management

upper management is strict and unrealistics towards store managers and associates
Pros
fun environment, good entry-level retail experience
Cons
low-wages, unrealistic sales goals, terrible upper management, no hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal Sales Associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Walnut Creek, CASeptember 10, 2018
I was a seasonal sales associate. I worked at the company a very short time, but enjoyed the customer service. The store was well organized and the people were friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good First Job
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Thousand Oaks, CASeptember 10, 2018
I thoroughly enjoyed my time at Tilly's. I learned a lot in customer service and the technology and software used at a retail store. Tilly's was my first job in high school. With the flexible hours, scheduling, and understanding for requests for time off it made for a wonderful work environment as a young adult.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly working environment
In Store Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAAugust 28, 2018
The hours for in-store merchandisers are the best, no weekends.
Learner a lot from involved upper management
hardest part of the job was doing my job with little training.
Pros
friendly and helpful working environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tillys is a great place to work especially if you’re just starting out!
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJuly 3, 2018
With the patient yet stern direction of the management at tillys you’ll come find your confidence growing with your skills! Tillys is a great place to learn the ins and outs of retail, the culture is exciting and various leading you to meet many different types of people who all appreciate the brand!
Pros
You get sun glasses when you’re hired
Cons
It’s usually a part time gig
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They hire in Mass amounts and provide little to no hours to the majority
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  River Forest, ILJune 26, 2018
I applied to the sales representative job along with nearly fifteen other friends when we heard the local store was opening soon. We were all hired, but it was tough to get enough hours, by the end of the year only two of us remained
Pros
Cool atmosphere
Cons
Don't care much about their employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teen friendly
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJanuary 26, 2018
Tilly’s is a great start up job for teens looking to jump right into the field of customer service. The associate position teaches you the basics of maintaining cleanliness, currency transactions and tending to consumer needs.
Pros
Relaxed and fun environment
Cons
Hourly pay and hours received
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Atmosphere is Nice
Sales Associate/Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Merced, CANovember 1, 2017
All of the coworkers at Tillys are really nice. They seem to be a little 'clique-y' at times but it didn't bother me. I went in there to work and help customers. I have good relationships with my fellow workers and managers, they are all kind people. A typical day it work is pretty much folding, talking to customers and working the register. Not very much room for growth.
Pros
Theres fun themed days, there is in store sweepstakes for customers, nice shoes and clothing options
Cons
Short breaks, they dont give you too much hours becasue the company doesnt want to pay for healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and relaxing workplace
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Gurnee, ILSeptember 12, 2017
Easy workplace to interact with customers. Flexible scheduling and great employees. Management was kind and understanding. Learned how to interact with guests well and suggest items.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Low Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An AMAZING store to work for!
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Castleton, INJuly 28, 2017
At tillys I was given the opportunity to step out and bring in sales. I was never one to do so, but tillys offers amazing management and coworkers to keep you on your toes. It is a quick paced job and definitely fun for those who have a love for fashion and retail!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fan of retail.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Coral Springs, FLJuly 24, 2017
Didn't have a bad experience & I only worked for one ever retail store, but it seems that you work more after closing than during the day. Customers can be majorly rude and some employees were uptight. If you like fashion you might like retail, but many tell me they dislike it.
Pros
breaks, discounts
Cons
employees, organizing clothing, store is always a mess
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough hours
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Glendora, CADecember 17, 2016
This company would give as low as 4 hours on a weekly basis. Commission was only 1%, even though I managed to meet sales requirements, the hours they bumped were still not enough.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun relaxed environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAMay 25, 2016
I didn't learn much past interaction with customers socially. The environmet was fun, but it seems like the drama created in the workplace ruined any enjoyment. The managers were so bent on numbers they alienated the sales associates. We didn't feel like we were presented with adequate compensation for our efforts.
Pros
Carefree Environment
Cons
No breaks and drama riddled
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tilly's Retail Clothing Store. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 14 reviews
51
45
36
22
10

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.4Compensation/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.7Culture

Tilly's Retail Clothing Store Reviews by Location