Tio Juan's Margaritas Employee Reviews

3.9
Overall rating
Based on 101 reviews
Ratings breakdown
538
429
324
24
16
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 99 reviews matching the search See all 101 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i hated working for this company
Dishwasher/Busboy (Former Employee) –  Augusta, MEJuly 25, 2018
i worked as a dishwasher for three years was never given a chance to advance was never given lunch breaks and was mistreated by managers until i was forced to leave this company is poorly managed and is misrepresenting the job. they understaff the position and overwork thier employees and as a result they have a very high turnover especially for this posiyion
Pros
they will give you a free meal if you cover a shift
Cons
no lunch breaks very hard work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place and fun
BAR MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Manchester, NHJuly 22, 2018
I loved working here. They really set me up for my future in the restaurant industry. I loved everyone i worked with...including the owners. They treated me very well
Pros
great people
Cons
not the greatest pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent food, unhealthy environment
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Lansdale, PAJuly 16, 2018
I worked as hostess for 4 months and in that time I had 5 sinus infections. I don't know if it's from cleaning salsa off the menus or just the general air I breathed but it was truly an unhealthy environment. Haven't had a sinus infection since I left in 2015
Pros
Food discount
Cons
Unhealthy environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Waitress/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Fredericksburg, VAJuly 11, 2018
days went by pretty fast, I learned a lot of customer service skills and management was fair the hardest part of the job was when it got busy trying to keep everything organized the most enjoyable part of the job were my co workers and our regular customers.
Pros
discount food
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and eat
Waitress/Bartender (Current Employee) –  Aiken, SCJune 21, 2018
We provide great service in a relaxed environment. We also have amazing margaritas and food. I highly recommend this restaurant before any other Mexican restaurants.
Pros
Discounted food
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management
Line cook/Prep cook (Former Employee) –  Dover, NH 03820June 17, 2018
No manager knows what's going on throughout the day. They would constantly look to us for guidance and that's not my definition of a good manager. They were also not open to new ideas....ever.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced kitchen with a positive atmosphere
Kitchen Staff- Prep Cook, Dish (Former Employee) –  Dover, NHJune 15, 2018
Fast paced kitchen with a positive atmosphere. The staff on all fronts works together and the company provides a lot of team building experiences as well as giving very flexible scheduling options which are ideal for parents with younger children.
Pros
Small free menu for staff
Cons
Being a restaurant thework pace can vary
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Server (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJune 14, 2018
Margaritas was a fun place to learn how to serve tables. It was very challenging everyday. It was one of the top restaurants in downtown Kansas City and has been around for years. You never stopped moving while at work. I liked that aspect of working at Margaritas. Overall it was a good experience in the service industry.
Pros
Free lunches if you worked a double
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Bar Manager (Current Employee) –  Langhorne, PAJune 14, 2018
work day was fine there are staff issues that you deal with because of the area otherwise not bad to work. They gave all of workers many chances that they would not recieve any were else
Pros
The gm is a plus
Cons
no room to grow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun environment to work in
Server/hostess (Former Employee) –  Framingham, MAJune 11, 2018
The management team was a work in progress and sometimes the work days didn't run as smoothly. Overall it was a fun place to work with a great group of employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall working there was okay
Hostess/Server/Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Bonaire, GAMay 23, 2018
Manager did not how to deal with his workers. $.50 raise in the first month. It was fun seeing all the personalities of each co-worker. overall i enjoyed talking to all the regulars that came in.
Pros
smiles on the customers faces when they leave
Cons
manager was bad at not giving people time off when they needed it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Nellysford, VAMay 16, 2018
5 Hour work days
Learned communication skills
Great management
Great workplace culture
Hardest part of the job for me was the crazy hours and no benefits
The most enjoyable part of the job was the people i worked with, all great people.
Pros
Free lunch and dinner
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad management
Cook/Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Medford, MAMay 15, 2018
they didn't have any class and were very unorganized. they messed up the schedule a lot. they didn't clean the restaurant properly. once again aa entry level job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work at but wasn't making a lot of money
Server (Former Employee) –  Methuen, MAMay 14, 2018
I mean I liked my co workers and they made work really fun. My GM was really cool and so were the managers but at the end of the day, I had to leave because work was constantly slow and I wasn't making a lot of tips.
Pros
Discounts on food, cool co workers
Cons
Where the money at tho?
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast-paced, family-owned restaurant
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Macon, GAMay 9, 2018
As a host my job was just to greet customers, seat them, and occasionally bring them chips or drinks. I also bus tables and wipe down the menus. All in all, it is a simple job with fairly flexible work hours. The only drawback is that the management of the restaurant is very disorganized, but it isn't as bad once you get used to it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
magaritas is a great place to work at
Busser/Server (Current Employee) –  Macon, GAFebruary 19, 2018
Very Busy and fun your always interacting with other people at times it could be very overwhelming you may have to stand for a long period of time but overall its pretty good job!
Pros
discounts on food
Cons
short break
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Margarita's
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOFebruary 16, 2018
Very fast faced. Management is awesome! Very accommodating to days off and your personal life outside of the restaurant. Team work atmosphere to make for a more smooth experience for customers and employees ALL THE TIME!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Moultrie, GAFebruary 13, 2018
Attending to customers needs. Cleaning and keeping restaurant and areas clean at all times. Stocking for the next day before closing and after hours clean up.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to eat but not to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Kathleen, GAFebruary 4, 2018
I thoroughly enjoyed the food at Margaritas but it came to a point where i worked too much or too little. I wasnt paid fairly for the work i did and the management was very biased.
Pros
Friendly coworkers
Cons
Short to no breaks, drama
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work
Server (Current Employee) –  Grass Valley, CAFebruary 2, 2018
Great place to work very supportive staff and management. The customers are wonderful and the food is great. The owners and management are excellent..
Pros
half priced food and meal coupons for christmas
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report