Toast Employee Reviews

Found 26 reviews matching the search See all 39 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only good for extra money
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEJuly 11, 2018
It was only a good place to work if you wanted to earn a few extra bucks on the side. Great relaxed environment to work at with excellent regulars. Also had majority of major holidays off.
Pros
got half off on food
Cons
no healthcare, poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Kitchen Manager/Cook (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCJune 25, 2018
Working at Toast way a good experience. I was able to put my Culinary Degree to use. I enjoy and love cooking. Even though I went there with experience, each job teaches me something different.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced enviorment
Server (Current Employee) –  Charleston, SCJune 7, 2018
Working at toast has been an experience to say the least. This establishment is constantly full of people. Beginning at 7 am going on into 8 or 9 at night.
Pros
profitable
Cons
kitchen staff gets behind easily causing long wait times for food.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
District Manager (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 24, 2018
Extremely faced-paced, customer centric
Management give tremendous autonomy
Demanding client base
It is a work hard, play hard environment that gives little time for a work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place with good people
Server (Former Employee) –  Asbury Park, NJMay 14, 2018
Management was respectful and fair. The rest of the staff was always willing to chip in and help when the time came. High stress environment when busy like any restaurant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive.
Food Server (Former Employee) –  Pacifica, CAMarch 17, 2018
It was a a really fun experience overall. lots of diversity. Time flies by since you are dealing with a much bigger crowd. Great team to work with I enjoyed it while I was there.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place and culture
Field Implementation Engineer, FL (Current Employee) –  RemoteFebruary 28, 2018
Great place to work and grow. Could be very fast pace and demanding. Hours are not set on stone as restaurant owners determine when they want installstion, training etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Sous Chef (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, MIFebruary 2, 2018
No advancement, 5 Chefs in one year, Great for Creativity and for fine tuning cooking pace, I postponed my pre-scheduled vacation 3 times with no compensation
Pros
creativity and speed of cooking
Cons
poor management no compesation aside from hourly rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy place to work
waitress and barista (Former Employee) –  ColoradoJanuary 8, 2018
I opened and closed on the weekend
most of the waitresses just do what they need to do and leave
its a busy place to work on weekends.
they only give you 4 tables at a time.
great food and atmosphere
friendly staff and managers
family resturant
Pros
good money
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced popular brunch place
Server (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LADecember 16, 2017
Honestly one of the top serving positions in New Orleans. The restaurant is almost always busy. However, it is New Orleans and the brunch crowd can be tough. People come in hungover and grumpy or else hungry and grumpy. Lots of Tulane and Loyola students come in. The pay is pretty good. It is awful if you are not a morning person. Some mornings you have to be there at 6 AM to open. The management is generally pretty fair, other than the fact they fire a lot of people often. During my time the turn-over rate was really high. The restaurant is understaffed often times which is a disappointment. I think the service lacks because of it. The manager wouldn't always get the most amount of sleep and could be really grumpy and short tempered. To be fair it is a difficult job being Toast's manager. Empathy must be imparted in this case. I would never want to work there again though.
Pros
Free lunches, free coffee
Cons
High turn-over rate, really early mornings
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work balance
Hardware Technician (Current Employee) –  Waltham, MANovember 28, 2017
Culture is amazing and the workplace is peaceful. Always work todo but it can be very mundane. Workflow is very steady and similar all week. Overall great company to be a part of.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day in the Life of BDR at Toast
Business Development Representative (Current Employee) –  Boston, MANovember 15, 2017
Great company. Growing rapidly, great management, free food and beer, good benefits, great culture. Only complaint is about the BDR role. Making 150 cold calls a day is tiresome and often doesnt create tangible results.
Pros
benefits, culture, tons of free food
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Come here for brunch
Busser/Hostess/Server (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAOctober 6, 2017
people, its worth the wait. the staff may be a little overwhelmed but do not let it fool you. the food is phenomenal and the abelskeivers are even better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very nice establishment.
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 29, 2017
It was a very friendly and calm place, there was always a good vibe and they always made sure you weren't too stressed out. I learned that you always have to have patience in any and every situation Patience is key; I was a hostess so my job was pretty clear and easy. I loved my co workers and would definitely consider working there again!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work in a fun environment
Cook (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORJune 7, 2017
The employees are great and the hours are manageable. The job is hard and fast paced, but it teaches you a lot of speed and presentation fundamentals.
Pros
Good hours, fun staff, useful skills, cash tips
Cons
Early shifts, a lot of prep, small staff
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best people ever worked with, worst people ever worked for.
HOSTESS/SERVER/BARTENDER (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VA 23229April 19, 2017
My co-workers were the best I've ever worked with and we even had relationships outside of work with each other. The bosses however were an absolute nightmare unless you were one of their chosen few who they supported through anything, otherwise you were constantly berated, talked down to, punished unnecessarily, or have your hours cut to a point that you couldn't survive off just that job anymore. I miss my co-workers and the work atmosphere, but I'll never miss working for the Buffords.
Pros
50% off entire menu, including drinks.
Cons
No workers handbook, no benefits, horrible owners, not actually a great menu, no security.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMarch 7, 2017
I had not worked here long but management was great.Pay was good and had a very at home feeling with the staff. Over all a good place to work everyone was very respectable.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Challenging
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging product and little management support
Territory Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 28, 2016
Very complex product to sell with high expectations from sales management that are not achievable. They play with the commission structure which is your money they are playing with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 30NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Family Feel Among Staff
Hostess/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCOctober 16, 2016
A very fun place to work. Management was very easy to be open with. Lots of great bonds made working at this estabilshment. People are very friendly and enjoy making work as entertaining as possible.
Pros
Discounted food.
Cons
High turnover of staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, bad communication
Accountant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 13, 2016
Great people to work with. Communication and systems are lacking. Need to invest more in systems and in people. Work/life balance is not good
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Toast. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 39 reviews
518
410
36
24
11

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.8Culture