Tom Thumb Food Stores Inc. Employee Reviews

Showing all 102 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun nd unfair
Package Clerk (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 15, 2019
I had a good time working at ton thumb I just don't like the fact that they allowed certain people to come back to work that wasn't suppose to because if i tried to come back I don't think that I would get hired back.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Cant be late even tho you call in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace to work for it’s pretty chill, poor manager
Produce Associate (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXJanuary 7, 2019
It’s a cool job to have while you in high school but there’s no type of advancements and if there is that advancement is .20 cents more with double the work. Manager at the place I worked for was pretty rude. I once asked why were my hours cut (25 hours for a full time) and he rudely told me “well y’all arent doing good on sales that why” and just turned around and left
Pros
Co-workers, work environment, breaks
Cons
Some managers, Pay, low hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my opinion of working for Tom Thumb Pharmacy
Registered Pharmacy Tech (Current Employee) –  Plano, TXJanuary 6, 2019
I enjoyed working for Tom Thumb for so many years. The pharmacists turned to me to help take care of any issues. The other technicians came to me with help on something. The customers all loved me and appreciated my help.
I was happy to got to work every day.
I felt like they were my second family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honest review
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Crestview, FLDecember 21, 2018
Good place to work. There are a lot of hours to go around. In Crestview FL they pay around $10 starting. Not enough for rent. Great for student /teen.
Pros
Long shifts and hours, smoke breaks allowed.
Cons
No break room, biased towards women in employee disputes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Such a fun place to work :)
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Navarre, FLOctober 13, 2018
Amazing teamwork there ! Always kept everyone on the same page. Very relaxed but strong and consistent work place.my manager always was attentive and kept us focused and on oue toes. Always had a good laugh though.
Pros
Breaks, teamwork, understanding, friendly
Cons
Long period of time to work, rude customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick-pace
Meat Department Associate (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXAugust 30, 2018
Meat wrapper ,stock merchandise wait on customers, food preparation, counter preparation
great place to work sometimes stressful but overall enjoyable.
Pros
Quick-pace
Cons
stessful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy helping customers
Clerk/cashier (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJuly 15, 2018
very busy assisting customer with purchases and get them out quickly. Be friendly and helpful. Stay busy with customers or cleaning your work area. Restock candy racks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh
Recieving Manager (Current Employee) –  Arlington, TXJune 21, 2018
Bad management and they throw everything onto you. I enjoyed my job thouroughly until the new manager took over and had no passion for his staff. My hours are 4am-1pm with no breaks. Salary isn/t bad for my age but the stress and mental strain from the job is too much.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and fun people to work with
File Maintenance Clerk (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXJune 15, 2018
I enjoyed working at Tom Thumb because my boss was the best. I worked from about 6 am to 2 pm. My job entailed creating signs for displays, reprinting missing tags, and hanging new price tags for the main part of the store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Hurst, TXJune 11, 2018
My manager was very supportive and empathic to my personal needs as well as my endeavors with the company. The team I worked with was very consistent and viewed all as team members.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an interesting one
Cashier/ stocker (Former Employee) –  Crestview, FLApril 9, 2018
It was my first job. so it was an experience. I knew what not to do and what to do but that being said i made mistakes and in the end i payed the price for it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente divertido
Night manager (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 19, 2018
Me gusta el trabajo lo unico que ya no quiero trabajar de noche
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management low hours
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJanuary 22, 2018
Not enough hrs management is no where around but always has nothing but negativity. Also they don't want you to get tips if you do they want them or you can get fired.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It depends on the store and the managers
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 19, 2018
Again it depends on the store and the managers. It is what you make it. If you go into a good store than you will more than likely be able to advance within the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They do not care
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Fort Walton Beach, FLNovember 3, 2017
they do not seem to care about you. they would work me 45-50 hours per week and not even blink an eye. no build up there. no good job or thanks for the effort.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at work
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Navarre, FLOctober 27, 2017
A typical day at work, is stocking shelves, and waiting on customers. Doing all the side work such as emptying trash, making fresh coffee, adding fresh food items to the grills.
Cons
A lot of waste of grilled food items
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice atmosphere
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXSeptember 25, 2017
It's an ok experience but will not give any hours. the management was very nice people but have their picks on who they give there hours too. But in all and all its an ok place to work
Pros
Nice enviorment
Cons
no health care and not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & great work environment
Assistant Manager in Training (Former Employee) –  Pace, FLSeptember 7, 2017
I absolutely loved working for tom thumb. I had a set schedule, got promoted & truly enjoyed my customers. The tasks are simple and can be done in between customers.
Pros
Team work & leadership.
Cons
Reliable employees
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Overnight Stocker (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXSeptember 6, 2017
Its a friendly environment with fast paced ability to grow in company on other levels. Friendly staff and excellence in customer service and inventory.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unfair treatment
Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Pensacola, FLAugust 26, 2017
though individual managers are great people the moving of people and micromanaging from higher corporate forces good people to leave for better jobs ..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tom Thumb Food Stores Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 102 reviews
535
422
324
28
113

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture