Tomball Independent School District Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Place to be a Teacher
PC Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Tomball, TXSeptember 7, 2018
Tomball ISD is a good place to work if you are a teacher. They have very competitive teacher salaries and great schools. However, if you are not a teacher, the pay is sub-par. Most of those jobs do not provide enough income to live within the district.
Pros
Time off
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be better
Production Specialist (Former Employee) –  Tomball, TXJuly 23, 2018
Awesome place to work. Got placed in a school with the most amazing group of women. I miss my girls. Great hours, fast paced so you have to be well organized and prepared for any obstacle.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working with kids
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Tomball, TXJuly 22, 2018
We worked well as a team 27 women feed 3500 students in a hour and a half... if we slowed down a student didn't get feed we strived for that never to happen.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Pay was low for the amount of work however, the rewarding part of working with my co workers and taking care of the kids outweighed the pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most of the time fun to work for.
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Tomball, TXMay 16, 2018
Most of the people were good to work with and I really enjoyed working with the kids. You can work with special needs or regular ed. There are field trips and if you have a short route you can sometimes help in the office.
Pros
Good benefits fun people
Cons
Only work half the year so not enough pay to support yourself all year.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with.
Special Needs Assistant (Current Employee) –  Tomball, TXMay 8, 2018
Over all a good place to work. Long hours but good environment. You need to have a desire to work with all types of students. Be able to deal with different situations constantly.
Pros
Friendly people and good bosses.
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
In Class Support Science Aide (Current Employee) –  Tomball, TXMay 8, 2018
I love this school and the way that it operates. When we come in report to classes to work with students. I work one on one explaining what is being taught everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job when children are going to school. Good hours
Assist techs (Former Employee) –  Tomball, TXFebruary 22, 2018
When Mgmt is out, employees raise their voices at each other but no one tells Mgmt. She doesn't really know what goes on. No consequences. No team work.
Pros
Free lunch, good hours for moms
Cons
Insurance is too high. Everyone wamts to be the boss
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at
Substitute teacher (Current Employee) –  Tomball, TXJanuary 24, 2018
nice place and very productive you can get a lot of experience and the staff is helpful. I go to different schools and learn something new everyday. the only problem is that it is not a stable job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy school district with dedicated teachers
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tomball, TXDecember 17, 2017
Administrators, teachers and staff are highly qualified and dedicated to teaching every student in the district. Campuses are very busy places to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Teacher- Fine Arts (Current Employee) –  Tomball, TXOctober 9, 2017
Great place to work for anyone. Each day is better than next. All teachers, para professionals, assistants, and sub teachers are treated fairly. There is a high expectation for all teachers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Department chair/teacher (Former Employee) –  Tomball, TXOctober 4, 2017
Teaching is a stressful and can be lonely job but when you see one child achieve what they thought they couldn't it makes your day worth everything. I wish money existed to send more teachers to quality training that is subject appropriate.
Pros
Summer off
Cons
Short lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse coaching job
Teacher/Coach (Current Employee) –  Tomball, TXAugust 23, 2017
Worse coaching job I have had in 9 years. Love what I do, but management change has made me want to make a career change. I am currently working on my Masters Degree in Occupational Health and Safety.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical campus experience
SPECIAL EDUCATION TEACHER (Former Employee) –  Tomball, TXMay 22, 2017
Very busy work day as you can imagine. As an educator, your work is never done. I was a special education teacher and the district does an excellent job providing an excellent program for students with disabilities.
Pros
family oriented work environment
Cons
frequent change in administration
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production Specialist
Produce Specialist/Cashier, (Current Employee) –  Tomball, TXMay 19, 2017
I started working as an Assistant Producer, helping prepare students' food, after a time of working there, I had the opportunity to be a Production Specialist, who is the one who is in charge of preparing all the food for the students.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun employment environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tomball, TXOctober 11, 2016
Working at Tomball ISD provided me with the skills I need in the Administrative Assistant employment area.
I coördinated with the Bilingual Director and the other Director's of the Curriculum and Insturnction department on a daily basis.
Meeting the needs of 12 campuses and being a liaison between teachers and the administration allowed me to improve listening and communication skills.
I learned to be flexible and adapt to many situations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Place
Assistant Orchestra Director (Former Employee) –  Willow Wood JHJuly 6, 2016
I learned a lot about teaching music, management, handling fundraisers, and keeping students engaged! The most enjoyable part was working with such a great, cheerful staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close to home.
Teacher in implementing (Former Employee) –  tompall, TexasSeptember 1, 2015
Traffic was manageable. Other employees were easy to work with. Hours were great for a working parent. Holidays were good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff that feels like a family.
MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Tomball, TXJanuary 30, 2014
A very fast paced day, with time constraints on all aspects of this position.
TISD is always providing training and classes to help the staff stay on top of the newest policies and laws.
Management is always very encouraging to me in helping me be successful.
Co-workers are also great supporters where everyone works as a team to get work done correctly.
The hardest part of the job is accepting that growth can be difficult to come by. Once management level is reached, it is hard to move up any further.
The most enjoyable part of the job is how closely I have gotten to work with the children and support staff, developing excellent relationships/friendships.
Pros
I was able to bring my child to work and see him daily.
Cons
Difficult to grow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and professional
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Tomball, Tx 77375June 28, 2013
I was a elementary substitute teacher whenever I was needed .
The absent teacher would have had her lesson plans and daily schedule printed out for the day and I would follow that schedule.
I enjoyed the children and the other teachers would help when ever needed.
Pros
Working with the children.
Cons
Almost no breaks from the classroom
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company!
service and installer technician (Former Employee) –  Tomball, TXMay 23, 2013
This was a good company to work for bc of the laid back enviroment, never was in a hurry to do anything,it was always safe and a cool place to work!
Pros
good enviroment, laid back, company truck
Cons
raises were low and then insurance would rise so you never really got a raise
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tomball Independent School District. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 22 reviews
59
49
32
22
10

See reviews about

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture

Tomball Independent School District Reviews by Location