Tops Friendly Markets Employee Reviews

Found 1,048 reviews matching the search See all 1,054 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job while it lasted
DELI MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Montrose, OHSeptember 24, 2018
I enjoyed my job at Tops Market. It had its good days and bad. If the company wouldn't have closed, I would still be working there. It was a union job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tops markets
Cashier in Pharmacy (Former Employee) –  Orchard Park, NYSeptember 24, 2018
Nice job if you are looking for part time hours they vary 16-28 you never know what your going to get weekly major downfall. If you are willing to learn they move you around departments and cross train you which is really nice. Most likely you will work weekends!!
Pros
easy job not stressful will move up fast if willing
Cons
short breaks low hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dead end retail work
Employee (Current Employee) –  USSeptember 23, 2018
I have been with this company for 10 years. I make minimum wage. At tops "friendly" markets expect to be treated like you are replaceable and compensated as though you were to. This is a company that would discourage workers from seeking medical treatment after on the job injuries so managers could get safe work environment bonuses. This is a company where workers have threatened to go on strike to remove abusive mangers who just get shuffled to another store. This a company that is bankrupt both morally and financially. This is a company that expects you to sacrifice everything for the people above you and get nothing in return for it. Don't make my mistake, I don't care how desperate you are, seek work elsewhere.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Retail
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comment
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYSeptember 23, 2018
I’ve been working here for 4 years this was my first job and I’m some what satisfied with the job but I think management could be a lot better and also the way staff is treated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  buffalo, nySeptember 21, 2018
great place to work if you are looking for something part time. they worked with your schedule. there is opportunity to advance within the company. pay was ok.
Pros
breaks
Cons
a lot of teenagers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start of
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  North Tonawanda, NYSeptember 21, 2018
Great place of employment, wonderful people awesome boss... The training is impeccable. If mistakes are done or any bulling management would take care of it quickly.
Pros
Sometimes free lunch
Cons
Somedays you dont get a break. And no raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Horriable Management
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Cortland, NYSeptember 19, 2018
Tops in Cortland is an okay place to work. there are some good things and bad things. the good things are you get to talk to customers that are really nice, bad things are there is very bad management and the co-workers are very rude.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Cheektowaga, NYSeptember 15, 2018
It was exciting fast past always learned new things you met different people seen new food products it was a very good experience to work in this establishment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYSeptember 13, 2018
Great place to work good experience not many hours to offer good environment nice pleasant employees customers a little rude but not nothing can’t handle
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They need to change a few things
Deli Clerk (Current Employee) –  Sandy creek nySeptember 12, 2018
They need to be more.organized and train there employees better customer service is great management is good clean store and very friendly people I enjoy it there overall
Pros
Clean place nice people
Cons
No
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Tops Friendly Markets?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
Customer Service supervisor/ Cashier (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 12, 2018
not nough pay for the work. hours never consistant. mamangemt blamed employees for everything. your job was very replaceable. they gav no respect for employes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They need an overhaul
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Depew, NYSeptember 11, 2018
Managers are not receptive to workers.
No time and a half ever.
Chance for advancement is very little
The front end is run by a wall of women, who need to be relocated.
Pros
Co- workers are great people to work with.
Cons
No overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Store Clerk (Former Employee) –  Alden, NYSeptember 5, 2018
Tops is great place to get your foot in the door. although it can be crazy at times eg.(holidays, superbowl ect.) the people that work there made my experience more enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and relaxed
Stock Clerk (Part-time) (Current Employee) –  Batavia, NYSeptember 1, 2018
Overall Tops is a good place to work, working hours are flexible and aren’t set, but amount of hours are inconsistent, some weeks you might be getting 32 hours next week it drops down to 20 hours. Managers and employees are friendly, pretty relaxing job, not too much competition, and kind of slow-paced.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
CUSTOMER SERVICE ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYAugust 30, 2018
Working in the Customer Service and Bookkeeping Office was great, I had a lot of flexibility in my hours and I actually felt like I was important to my employer. Pay was good and benefits were available early on.
Pros
Good Pay, supportive flexible workplace.
Cons
Working in Customer Service can be stressful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high stressful work place.
Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Batavia, NYAugust 29, 2018
i didnt enjoy working with company . it was very stressful and the physical part of the job was very hard work.however the management department was lacking leadership roles and the scheduling of shifts were not properly done .
Pros
not much room for growth.
Cons
the salary was poor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty hectic work environment at times
Tops Market (Current Employee) –  800 Harlem Rd.August 29, 2018
It could get crazy working at Tops sometimes but I do my best to keep calm and complete my task as best and as fast as possible and make sure customers get what they need and are satisfied shipping with us.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unaccommodating Workplace
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  West Seneca, NYAugust 27, 2018
Was able to meet alot of people during my time there.

Fun work environment .

The manager of store was very rude, ignorant and inconsiderate .

Not accommodating during time of my pregnancy.

Alot of favoritism took place as far as becoming any part of management such as customer service lead.
Pros
health care
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked with many good people
Graphic Artist (Current Employee) –  Niagara Falls, NYAugust 25, 2018
some days work was heavy and not enough help
sometimes stressful
too much management change
some micro management
alot of good people to work with
pay not above average
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place
Price Control Associate (Current Employee) –  Rochester, NYAugust 25, 2018
Poor management. Mall cop mentality. They yell at everyone and blame everyone for things not getting done. Not enough hours or personnel. A lot of upper management are alcoholics, perverts, very unprofessional. All very dumb, hence why the company is tanking and has been for years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tops Friendly Markets. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 1,054 reviews
5222
4338
3312
2103
179

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture

Women's ratings

1.0Fairygodboss Score

0%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

100%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss