Torchy's Tacos Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is gangbusters!
Bartender/Server (Current Employee) –  Mueller, Austin, TexasMay 17, 2018
Co-workers make this job the most fun! I like being cross-trained to work various positions within the store. Training is amazing and trainers always take extra time making sure we are prepared. Time flies during volume shifts. Customers love us...what’s not to like!
Pros
50% off
Cons
Getting queso on your shirt ;)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Highland Village, TXMay 15, 2018
Fun place to work, great work environment. I learned a lot from this company. The hardest part of this job is the employees. The most enjoyable part is all the tacos .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Busy and low salary
Bus Person (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 12, 2018
When I worked at Torchy's In Austin at SoCo, it would be always busy and you'd think from all this money they're making they can increase the wage for the employees but i guess not.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced with high customer volume.
Cashier/Runner (Current Employee) –  Webster, TXMay 10, 2018
Always packed, but things are usually resolved fairly quickly although not always correctly. Training was a little substandard, but easy to pick up. If you are on a closing shift expect to stay at least thirty minutes beyond your scheduled time.
Pros
Fifty percent off on all meals
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very intense labor
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Allen, TXMay 10, 2018
You’ll meet a lot of new people there and it’s really easy to know everything that you need to do there it’s a save and respectful place of business and will work with you on anything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buen ambiente laboral.
Kitchen Staff (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 7, 2018
Una empresa que da oportunidades para todos y te impulsa para crecer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced but fun counter service taco joint
Cashier, Runner, Expo, Bartender (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 7, 2018
My experience working at Torchys Tacos was very fun! It was very fast paced and at times extremely stressful depending on the location, but the discounted chips n queso was definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place sucks.
Food Runner (Current Employee) –  Richardson, TXApril 30, 2018
The manager was great, and i met some cool people, but all around the people there are very negative and the work environment was very unprofessional.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place but busy
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 25, 2018
Torchys taught me to work hard. Most of the time management is good. The company culture was the coolest thing about the place. The most enjoyable part off the job was working with all type of people from all walks of life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good culture Bad management
Cashier/Runner (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 23, 2018
The atmosphere at Torchy's attracted a cool crowd of employees. Unfortunately, due to bad general management and under-staffing, there was a fast job turnaround and the job was very quick-paced and stressful.
Pros
Discounted food
Cons
Very busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful fast paced multitasking nightmare
Sales Associate, Cook, Dish (Current Employee) –  Round Rock, TXMarch 19, 2018
Great people poor managment. I loved working for the company in the beggining. Fun to be apart of the torchys culture I wasnt worried about job security its easy to get hours there. Poor managment and staffing can mke the job very sressful. Over all positive environment when its not busy and full of unique people. The Torchys family was the most enjoyable part of the job the people really made the workplace.
Pros
tips
Cons
short to no breaks most of the time, always busy strenuous work very hot during the summer
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management and disrespectful uneducated coworkers
Cashier (Former Employee) –  The Woodlands, TXMarch 5, 2018
If you’re educated, don’t even think about working there. It’s for the lifeless, disrespectful people. Management is the worst. NO ONE CARES ABOUT YOU
Pros
50% off meals
Cons
Short breaks (15 minutes), poor management, harassment from coworkers, lazy people
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
cook (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXMarch 2, 2018
it was a cool place to work cool place to work at tneed better manager and more cooks but other than that it’s was a cool place that’s all i have to say
Pros
discount
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management
Store Trainer (Former Employee) –  2411 s shepherd drFebruary 28, 2018
The management are unprofessional. They lack loyalty to their employees and to their patron. The work environment is so unbearable at times. Most times 9 -10 you will not get a break and will be over worked.
Pros
50% discount
Cons
15 minute breaks no 30 min breaks and sometimes none at all
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy money
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Tyler, TXFebruary 28, 2018
Perfect job for a college student looking to make some extra money. Managers are still children with adult jobs. The reason I'm currently job hunting is due to the lack of good management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needed Work
Cashier, Runner, Expo (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXFebruary 27, 2018
Management was awful, everyone constantly had problems with the GM at the time. Constantly had corporate there only for things to never be resolved. Took almost 6 months after I left for them to fire the GM and start to change things.
Pros
Free Merchandise/food if you pick up shifts
Cons
Always short-handed, short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was ok
Manager (Former Employee) –  Tyler, TXFebruary 26, 2018
The days were very long sometimes opening and closing on many days. Didn't recieve any overtime pay. I liked the people that worked for me. I like the product but felt that I was taken advantage of when it came to the hours that I was required to work.
Pros
likeable people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Food Prep (Former Employee) –  Amarillo, TXFebruary 25, 2018
Was a fun place to work but management was terrible they played favoritism and yelled at employees in front of fellow employees and customers. If you got a break it wasn't very long due to the volume of work to be done.
Cons
Short to no breaks poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXFebruary 16, 2018
It was a good place to work at. I loved the environment and the customers their food was addicting to me maybe some time in the future i would return.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For a new store it had a ton of room to get better
Busser/Server (Former Employee) –  Norman, OKFebruary 12, 2018
Management was terrible at their job, they wanted to stay in the office all day and not help even when it was needed. Wanted to gossip and blame other for their mistakes,
Pros
Good food, great location
Cons
Managers, Low pay, terrible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Torchy's Tacos. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 133 reviews
538
439
332
211
113

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.7Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.3

2.2Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

1.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight