Toshiba Global Commerce Solutions, Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 32 reviews matching the search See all 37 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company- Good Benefits
Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCSeptember 18, 2018
I like working here very much. Good Interesting Work. strong benefits, nice offices. International business exposure. I like my boss. strong strategy will lead to further success. had onsite flu shot today.
Pros
the work, chance to make my mark, benefits, onsite chair massages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy Working Here!
Specialist (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCAugust 28, 2018
Many good changes taking place! Strong business strategy and investments in process simplification and improvement. Global Company. Very happy with the benefits program. Good 401k match.
Pros
Work Life Balance- Benefits
Cons
Making improvements on these
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not all that glitters is gold
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Research Triangle Park, NCAugust 2, 2018
The company and environment itself is laid back, however, they have lots of re-org / layoffs going on consistently. This is not good for business or employee retention.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No opportunity for advancement
Customer Fulfillment Order Management Specialist (Current Employee) –  Research Triangle Park, NCJuly 11, 2018
In general I like the team that I work with. We have a great time, however I have been here for almost two years and I work my butt off and have seen people that came in after me and people that I have trained get hired permanent before me.

I enjoy the flexibility offered of being able to work from home if something comes up ie, a sick child, car problems, etc. The down side I don't feel that the pay matches the work and there is no opportunity for advancement and the possibility of getting on permanent.
Pros
Great Team
Cons
Overworked, Overlooked
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but rewarding with helpful coworkers
Service Representative in Northern VA (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, VAMay 12, 2018
Work was challenging, but if I ran into a problem, there was always a coworker who could help. Management was very helpful, not condescending or overbearing. No one berated me for ignorance or mistakes in working.
Pros
Helpful coworkers
Cons
Raises were infrequent
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough environment with little to no management support
Project Manager - Lead Client Advocate (Former Employee) –  North CarolinaMay 8, 2018
Client engagement means no management support. Remote management means "you better guess corrrectly". Left to your own decisions means if you guessed wrong "YOUR FIRED!"
Pros
it's a job
Cons
you should be looking for a job
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Needs to Go
Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Raleigh-Durham, NCMay 4, 2018
Most of the senior management is also working for another Toshiba company and they are not focused on the retail side. Very little pay increases over the past few years and they mostly go to senior management.
Pros
work life balance
Cons
little pay, company doesnt hold anyone accountable for anything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Senior Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Research Triangle Park, NCApril 22, 2018
Toshiba is a great employer. For those that choose to work in retail software, it is an excellent choice. The biggest drawback is just that. There is no opportunity to expand careers to something that is not retail related.
Pros
Work life balance is paramount
Cons
Singular industry focus
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and faced pace work environment
Software Test Engineer (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCApril 21, 2018
I enjoyed working at Toshiba.I enjoyed the team I worked on. Everybody worked hard and we supported each other. The environment was fast paced and the job was a challenge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrarive
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCMarch 26, 2018
Wonderful place to work for and great people, mangers and executives were great people. Kept me busy did a lot of travel arrangements and hotel and rental
Pros
work from home
Cons
temp job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
doubt anyone would refer you here
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  RTPMarch 25, 2018
this place is not like your traditional work environment. the common joke is "this is tgcs". the intent behind this statement is that things you would expect from any other organization, you won't see here. if you've ever worked anywhere else, this is more than validated and you will ask yourself inside of three months, what have you done.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
pay, lack of advancement, lack of employee morale, no employee recoginition
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical IT company with poor executive leadership
Technical Support - Technical Lead (Current Employee) –  Research Triangle Park, NCMarch 6, 2018
This company was formed after Toshiba bought it from IBM. The executives do not know how to operate in this new environment. They are not independent thinkers or leaders.
Pros
Popcorn Wednesday
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management old guard from ibm HW days
Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCFebruary 21, 2018
Carry over from IBM (RSS).
2 distinct areas (HW) and (SW).
1st line mgt was terrible. All about who likes who.
Assumed my job performance was good enough to keep me there. I was wrong. Mgt plays games with office politics.

In 5 years working, only had 1 skip level (one on one with next level of mgt).
Pros
benefits
Cons
management was toxic
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not much opportunity for advance.
engineer (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCFebruary 3, 2018
mgt is terrible.
1st and 2nd line mgt are old school IBM mentality.
Mgt very protective of turf. no collaboration.

HW and Software are divided.
Many more people on software side.
Pros
benefits good
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad long term job
Service Technician 1 (Former Employee) –  OregonFebruary 3, 2018
A field tech position is probably good for a tech starting out in IT. However not something you want to make long term if you can even handle the management.

Possibility of raise 0%. Promotion maybe 3% if everyone above you retires and you are the only one left unless they hire from outside. You can meet some cool people but the higher ups really don't care about you. They will work you to the bone and only say something if you mess up.

If you love driving 6+ hours daily only to be yelled at for being late then this job is just right for you. Make a tiny mistake after being perfect for months, get yelled at. Perfect place.
Cons
stressful, poor management, understaffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is a mess!
Rollout Help Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Bentonville, ARJanuary 20, 2018
Pair poor practices and management with no idea what's going on, or basic industry practices and you have TGCS. They don't appreciate or reward knowledge, skills, or hardwork.
Pros
8 hr day
Cons
8 hr day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved everyone!!!
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Bentonville, ARJanuary 13, 2018
I'm 21, when I worked here nobody treated me different. I was an equal in every sense of the word. Pam G. Is almost magical. Apply here for a good year.
Pros
Best boss, open people, helpful, insightful, 1 hour lunch.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some solid solution offerings, but troubled corporate management
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMarch 20, 2017
There are many good people that work at Toshiba, but the company continues to suffer due to the mismanagement of the overall business portfolio, as evidenced by the recent departure of the CEO.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
IT Project Manager (Former Employee) –  RTP, NCDecember 3, 2015
Professional organization. Agile environment with highly skilled employees.
Project Management with focus on teams and high productivity.
Good management
Pros
Great culture
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine if you want to be a worker drone
Contractor (Former Employee) –  Research Triangle Park, NCNovember 23, 2015
I did not care for this job at all. Old technology, old compiler, old debugger -- wholly uninspiring. Management has an over-inflated view of themselves as an organization and the value this job is to employees, like you're privileged to be a part of their elite organization. In truth you are working on legacy code that's over engineered to be as far from the KISS principle as possible. Major over hall needed but that's out of the question.

New, exciting and challenging? Not on your life.
Cons
Layoffs Looming!!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Toshiba Global Commerce Solutions, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 37 reviews
56
410
310
29
12

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
2.4Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
2.9Culture

Ratings from women

4.0InHerSight Score

4.0Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

4.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Toshiba Global Commerce Solutions, Inc. Reviews by Location