Toshiba Global Commerce Solutions, Inc. Employee Reviews

3.1
Overall rating
Based on 34 reviews
Ratings breakdown
54
410
39
29
12
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 29 reviews matching the search See all 34 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not all that glitters is gold
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Research Triangle Park, NCAugust 2, 2018
The company and environment itself is laid back, however, they have lots of re-org / layoffs going on consistently. This is not good for business or employee retention.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but rewarding with helpful coworkers
Service Representative in Northern VA (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, VAMay 12, 2018
Work was challenging, but if I ran into a problem, there was always a coworker who could help. Management was very helpful, not condescending or overbearing. No one berated me for ignorance or mistakes in working.
Pros
Helpful coworkers
Cons
Raises were infrequent
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough environment with little to no management support
Project Manager - Lead Client Advocate (Former Employee) –  North CarolinaMay 8, 2018
Client engagement means no management support. Remote management means "you better guess corrrectly". Left to your own decisions means if you guessed wrong "YOUR FIRED!"
Pros
it's a job
Cons
you should be looking for a job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Needs to Go
Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Raleigh-Durham, NCMay 4, 2018
Most of the senior management is also working for another Toshiba company and they are not focused on the retail side. Very little pay increases over the past few years and they mostly go to senior management.
Pros
work life balance
Cons
little pay, company doesnt hold anyone accountable for anything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Senior Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Research Triangle Park, NCApril 22, 2018
Toshiba is a great employer. For those that choose to work in retail software, it is an excellent choice. The biggest drawback is just that. There is no opportunity to expand careers to something that is not retail related.
Pros
Work life balance is paramount
Cons
Singular industry focus
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and faced pace work environment
Software Test Engineer (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCApril 21, 2018
I enjoyed working at Toshiba.I enjoyed the team I worked on. Everybody worked hard and we supported each other. The environment was fast paced and the job was a challenge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrarive
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCMarch 26, 2018
Wonderful place to work for and great people, mangers and executives were great people. Kept me busy did a lot of travel arrangements and hotel and rental
Pros
work from home
Cons
temp job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
doubt anyone would refer you here
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  RTPMarch 25, 2018
this place is not like your traditional work environment. the common joke is "this is tgcs". the intent behind this statement is that things you would expect from any other organization, you won't see here. if you've ever worked anywhere else, this is more than validated and you will ask yourself inside of three months, what have you done.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
pay, lack of advancement, lack of employee morale, no employee recoginition
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical IT company with poor executive leadership
Technical Support - Technical Lead (Current Employee) –  Research Triangle Park, NCMarch 6, 2018
This company was formed after Toshiba bought it from IBM. The executives do not know how to operate in this new environment. They are not independent thinkers or leaders.
Pros
Popcorn Wednesday
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management old guard from ibm HW days
Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCFebruary 21, 2018
Carry over from IBM (RSS).
2 distinct areas (HW) and (SW).
1st line mgt was terrible. All about who likes who.
Assumed my job performance was good enough to keep me there. I was wrong. Mgt plays games with office politics.

In 5 years working, only had 1 skip level (one on one with next level of mgt).
Pros
benefits
Cons
management was toxic
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not much opportunity for advance.
engineer (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCFebruary 3, 2018
mgt is terrible.
1st and 2nd line mgt are old school IBM mentality.
Mgt very protective of turf. no collaboration.

HW and Software are divided.
Many more people on software side.
Pros
benefits good
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad long term job
Service Technician 1 (Former Employee) –  OregonFebruary 3, 2018
A field tech position is probably good for a tech starting out in IT. However not something you want to make long term if you can even handle the management.

Possibility of raise 0%. Promotion maybe 3% if everyone above you retires and you are the only one left unless they hire from outside. You can meet some cool people but the higher ups really don't care about you. They will work you to the bone and only say something if you mess up.

If you love driving 6+ hours daily only to be yelled at for being late then this job is just right for you. Make a tiny mistake after being perfect for months, get yelled at. Perfect place.
Cons
stressful, poor management, understaffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is a mess!
Rollout Help Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Bentonville, ARJanuary 20, 2018
Pair poor practices and management with no idea what's going on, or basic industry practices and you have TGCS. They don't appreciate or reward knowledge, skills, or hardwork.
Pros
8 hr day
Cons
8 hr day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved everyone!!!
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Bentonville, ARJanuary 13, 2018
I'm 21, when I worked here nobody treated me different. I was an equal in every sense of the word. Pam G. Is almost magical. Apply here for a good year.
Pros
Best boss, open people, helpful, insightful, 1 hour lunch.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some solid solution offerings, but troubled corporate management
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMarch 20, 2017
There are many good people that work at Toshiba, but the company continues to suffer due to the mismanagement of the overall business portfolio, as evidenced by the recent departure of the CEO.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
IT Project Manager (Former Employee) –  RTP, NCDecember 3, 2015
Professional organization. Agile environment with highly skilled employees.
Project Management with focus on teams and high productivity.
Good management
Pros
Great culture
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine if you want to be a worker drone
Contractor (Former Employee) –  Research Triangle Park, NCNovember 23, 2015
I did not care for this job at all. Old technology, old compiler, old debugger -- wholly uninspiring. Management has an over-inflated view of themselves as an organization and the value this job is to employees, like you're privileged to be a part of their elite organization. In truth you are working on legacy code that's over engineered to be as far from the KISS principle as possible. Major over hall needed but that's out of the question.

New, exciting and challenging? Not on your life.
Cons
Layoffs Looming!!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work. Lots of OT.
Service Rep II (Former Employee) –  IndianaNovember 3, 2015
The workload is heavy and there is plenty of potential for overtime. The company is aggressively seeking new business in order to expand.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent People, Diverse Culture, Great place to work
BIOS Engineer (Former Employee) –  Research Triangle Park, NCSeptember 21, 2015
Excellent group of people to work with. In my particular position I got to interact with several different groups (Support, Test, Development) and was very impressed by the level of professionalism . The hardest part of my job was leaving when my contract was up. I wish them well.
Pros
Good People
Cons
Company is currently going through some lay-offs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Project Administrator/ Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  RTP, NCSeptember 16, 2015
I currently support the Human Resources and Global Operations Departments. My typical day is usually setting up meetings, managing calendars, corresponding to emails, processing Purchase Orders through Oracle, and assisting with coordinating Human Resources projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Toshiba Global Commerce Solutions, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

4.0InHerSight Score

4.0Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

4.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Toshiba Global Commerce Solutions, Inc. Reviews by Location