TOTAL TRANSPORTATION Employee Reviews

3.9
Overall rating
Based on 58 reviews
Ratings breakdown
524
417
37
26
14
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 58 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I actually love working with Children
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  United StatesJuly 9, 2018
Great/Friendly work place,the staff are Wonderful, I absolutely love to experience being on the road exploring nature while safely transporting my Children.
if it’s any issues with my bus
it’s handle immediately!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Total as a company is good but management at this location is bad
Driver/Operator (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJuly 7, 2018
Management at this location is bad , cut hours for no reason , no respect for veteran drivers . Said there would be no decrease in available work that was a lie
Pros
Good health insurance
Cons
New management is the worst
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
OTR Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Richland, MSApril 25, 2018
Great fleet managers
Friendly environment
Compromising
Meet your needs
Helpful
Training was a great experience
I learned alot about driving tractor trailers
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company but it could use some work
OTR Tractor Trailer Driver (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSMarch 25, 2018
Great people,good pay,and care about family. They will do what ever they can to get you ready to drive a truck safely over the road. They pay for all the training and you have nothing out of pocket.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a good job
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Wappingers Falls, NYNovember 19, 2017
It was a good job however I left to make more money working at camp ramah I was getting atleast an extra $100 a week or more and had lots of extra hours at camp ramah.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
Deisel Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYOctober 23, 2017
this place is ok to work for depending on your foreman. the union is not very good. they're very busy and depends on who hired you, the pay is not that great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
OTR Driver (Former Employee) –  MississippiOctober 10, 2017
Great Company to work for, really enjoyed the staff. Everyone took care of each other. The company willing to assist you the best way they could. Great Company to work for.
Pros
Na
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome team
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Oceanside, CASeptember 30, 2017
A great and work friendly environment with the right amount of work the right amount of customers and a work load that is manageable and teachable to awesome job skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Driver (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSSeptember 13, 2017
this was my first truck driving gig. all around great place to work. they actually care about their drivers. the only reason i left was because being away from home for 21 days then coming home for 3 is kind of silly. but if you dont mind that this total is great. only reason i didnt give 5 stars is because their is no such thing as a perfect trucking company.
Pros
people, atmosphere, travel
Cons
never home
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
truck driver
{Truck Driver} I travel state to state delivering (Former Employee) –  Richland, MSAugust 3, 2017
I didn't like the job I worked there for 2 years 1 year otr 1 year local never enough miles they show a lot of favoritism towards seniority with all the wrecks on their record
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 7Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSJune 26, 2017
starter co for students that are just coming out school and does not have to much experience due to the fact of the runs at the rate they pay you cant make any money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Human Resources Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NY 11207June 23, 2017
Have to have tough skin to work at Total Transportation. Very fast paced. However work environment gets very tense and all the work falls on the assistant. Have to be able to multitask. Unprofessional, and need to be a little cleaner.
Pros
close to home.
Cons
You have to ask for permission to go out for lunch. Manager is very rude.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and resourceful
Dispatch Customer service rep (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMay 22, 2017
Building a great customer service team striving for amazing excellence in what the company stood for not only there employees but also servicing the public. Everything about this company recognize your ability to grow and they help you with growing beside the long hours it was a very great place of employment.
Pros
Safe, Productive, Growth
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
Former Truck driver (OTR) (Former Employee) –  Hammond, LAApril 28, 2017
This company is honstly a good company. Its all about what you make out of it though. My checks use to be 800 to 1200 after taxes and insurance almost every week. And on a bad week 500 to 700 paycheck. But if u look at it this way if you get two good weeks in a row and one bad one after that you still could wind up with 3400 in three weeks.. P.S. Daniel CORKERN best dispatcher there in my opinion. There some local/dedicated runs you just have to tell your dispatch. ALL TRUCKS ARE AUTOMATIC
Pros
Paycheck, friendly management, you control your schedule once you prove your self in about 6 months
Cons
Only a few peterbilts
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 6Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Company
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  MississippiApril 15, 2017
They will let you sit for days on end.They show alot of favortism and the pay is very low.They are losing accounts everywhere.Not good at planning and no use of going over your dispatcher head then they will turn on you
Pros
Equipment ok
Cons
Favortism, low pay, no paid vacation
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No pay for miles driven
Company Driver (Current Employee) –  Richland, MSMarch 27, 2017
They continuously forget to pay you for miles driven and can sometime take up 4 or more week b4 they finally put it in the system, yet they give you an attitude when u call to remind them about it
Cons
The company sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Professional Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Olive Branch, MSMarch 22, 2017
I enjoy working for this company. I love the fact that they know who we are. When I call I'm actually talking to a real person. It's a good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 8Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Bus Attendant (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJanuary 19, 2017
Excellent place to work. And safe travels to. Get kids to school.new buses.good team to work with everyday. Kids are nice to work with. Everyone gets along very well
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being a truck driver comes with a variety of responsabilities
Truck driver (Former Employee) –  Loudon, TNJanuary 1, 2017
The most enjoyable part of this job was the people and the other employees for this company. The hardest part of this job was the nights driving and then trying to sleep during the day.I learned how to operate an automatice truck transmission and didn't really like it compared with the standard transmission.
Pros
Events that the company held for the drivers
Cons
Had to take a manditory 30 minute break fro DOT.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 15Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Runs on time
Bus Attendant (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PADecember 14, 2016
Could do better in management.Must have patience working with special needs children. Good drivers and brand new buses.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport